Wrap-up reasons: complaints and cut-off calls

The request was successful.

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

You recently provided me with a document that included a screenshot of 'wrap-up reasons' used by telephone call handlers:

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/2... (page 12)

One of the 'tick box' reasons is:

"Review Team - Call complaining about our service that is"

1. Please provide the words that complete the statement above and the figures showing how many times this box was ticked in each of the past 12 months.

Another reason is:

"Cut off call – When a call is terminated by the system"

2. Please provide the figures showing how many times this box was ticked in each of the past 12 months.

Yours faithfully,

J Roberts

foiofficer@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

show quoted sections

All email communications with PHSO pass through the Government Secure Intranet, and may be automatically logged, monitored and/or recorded for legal purposes.
The MessageLabs Anti Virus Service is the first managed service to achieve the CSIA Claims Tested Mark (CCTM Certificate Number 2006/04/0007), the UK Government quality mark initiative for information security products and services. For more information about this please visit www.cctmark.gov.uk

foiofficer, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

Dear J Roberts

 

Your information request – our reference: FDN-223261

 

I am writing in response to your information request dated 19 May 2015, I
have responded to your questions below.

 

“You recently provided me with a document that included a screenshot of
'wrap-up reasons' used by telephone call handlers:

[1]https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/2...
(page 12)

One of the 'tick box' reasons is:

"Review Team  - Call complaining about our service that is"

1.  Please provide the words that complete the statement above and the
figures showing how many times this box was ticked in each of the past 12
months.

Another reason is:

"Cut off call When a call is terminated by the system"

2.  Please provide the figures showing how many times this box was ticked
in each of the past 12 months.”

In relation to question one, please find below the wrap up code in full:

 

“Review - call complaining about us that is transferred to the Review
Team”

 

In relation to question 2, please find below figures for the number of
times the wrap-up code “cut off call - when a call is terminated by the
system” and “review - call complaining about us that is referred to the
review team” have been used between May 2014 and April 2015:

 

Month Wrap-up code Count
May-14 Cut Off Call 61
May-14 Review 23
Jun-14 Cut Off Call 62
Jun-14 Review 23
Jul-14 Cut Off Call 65
Jul-14 Review 17
Aug-14 Cut Off Call 57
Aug-14 Review 14
Sep-14 Cut Off Call 52
Sep-14 Review 24
Oct-14 Cut Off Call 61
Oct-14 Review 8
Nov-14 Cut Off Call 69
Nov-14 Review 7
Dec-14 Cut Off Call 73
Dec-14 Review 22
Jan-15 Cut Off Call 83
Jan-15 Review 39
Feb-15 Cut Off Call 66
Feb-15 Review 96
Mar-15 Cut Off Call 105
Mar-15 Review 106
Apr-15 Cut Off Call 51
Apr-15 Review 109

 

Total:

 

Period Wrap-up code Total Count
May 2014 – April 2015 Cut Off Call (by the system) 805
May 2014 – April 2015 Review (referred to review team) 488

 

I hope the information is helpful.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Sohifa Kadir

show quoted sections

All email communications with PHSO pass through the Government Secure
Intranet, and may be automatically logged, monitored and/or recorded for
legal purposes.
The MessageLabs Anti Virus Service is the first managed service to achieve
the CSIA Claims Tested Mark (CCTM Certificate Number 2006/04/0007), the UK
Government quality mark initiative for information security products and
services. For more information about this please visit www.cctmark.gov.uk

References

Visible links
1. https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/2...

J Roberts left an annotation ()

“review - call complaining about us that is referred to the review team”

In May 2014 this box was ticked only 23 times.
In April 2015 this box was ticked 109 times (an almost 500% increase).

Of course, these figures do not take account of complainants who phone the review team direct.

phsothefacts Pressure Group left an annotation ()

In the PHSO annual report 2013/14 it was stated that phso received 108 complaints about their service that year and upheld 48 of these.

This FOI shows that many complaints referred to the review team in a single month. Either things have deteriorated significantly or the previous figures were inaccurate. Given the data here, which is only one complaint portal, it will be interesting to see how many complaints are claimed by phso in 2014/15 annual report.

I am also interested to know how the 'system' can cut off a call. Does it have artificial intelligence?

J Roberts left an annotation ()

“review - call complaining about us that is referred to the review team”

Worryingly, in the last month of the year (April 2015) the number of complaints recorded (109) equalled the number for the first six months of the year (May '14 - Oct. '14).

A.E. left an annotation ()

I am also interested to know how the 'system' can cut off a call. Does it have artificial intelligence?

Clearly it's been programmed by PHSO! Why would their telephone system keep cutting people off that way?! I suspect they have a red button and blaming it on the system is their stock phrase.

A.E. left an annotation ()

"Worryingly, in the last month of the year (April 2015) the number of complaints recorded (109) equalled the number for the first six months of the year (May '14 - Oct. '14). "

...and that's despite their new customer service and transparency drive.

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

It would be interesting to know if the whole system cut off calls at the very same moment.

Or if these cut-offs only happen when customers have phoned in and are on the line.

And which group of employees are responsible for these cut-offs.

And if any particular person cuts off phone calls on a regular basis.

They won't tell you a name .. But the job designation of the person concerned might be given.

Dear foiofficer,

You have provided me with information on 'cut-off calls'.

I note a spike in their number in March '15 (105).

Please provide me with a breakdown of this figure. Specify the departments, sections etc which were connected at the time the 105 calls were cut off. Also provide the job titles of those involved in the cut-off calls and the relevant PHSO phone numbers.

Yours sincerely,

J Roberts

foiofficer@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

show quoted sections

All email communications with PHSO pass through the Government Secure Intranet, and may be automatically logged, monitored and/or recorded for legal purposes.
The MessageLabs Anti Virus Service is the first managed service to achieve the CSIA Claims Tested Mark (CCTM Certificate Number 2006/04/0007), the UK Government quality mark initiative for information security products and services. For more information about this please visit www.cctmark.gov.uk

A.E. left an annotation ()

As they are claiming "the system" cut people off, I would also question whether they have had telecommunications/technical experts in to check their (no doubt very expensive) telephone system as to why this is happening.

Maybe it's also one of those things that you actually need to ask a plain question such as "please clarify what it means when you say system cut off, is it equipment malfunction or has someone at PHSO physically hung up the phone on complainants?"

If it is the equipment at fault, I would ask for details of how they have remedied this e.g. specifically dates they called in technicians to fix it and if the problem is ongoing despite technical attendance to it, why this is and what they intend to do about it.

I would also be asking if they are monitoring staff for them putting the phone down on complainants and if they have a policy about this (and ask for that policy) and if they take disciplinary action against offending staff.

foiofficer, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

1 Attachment

  • Attachment

    Your information request our reference FDN 223261.html

    29K Download

Dear J Roberts

 

Your information request – our reference: FDN 227870

 

I am writing in response to your Freedom of Information request dated 2
July 2015 in which you asked for the following information:

 

“You have provided me with information on 'cut-off calls'. I note a spike
in their number in March '15 (105). 

Please provide me with a breakdown of this figure. Specify the
departments, sections etc. which were connected at the time the 105 calls
were cut off. Also provide the job titles of those involved in the cut-off
calls and the relevant PHSO phone numbers”.

 

In context to the figures we released to you, we use the wrap-up reason
‘cut off call’ in a number of scenarios, for example where the call cuts
out by our telephone system, where the caller loses network signal or cuts
off the call (and we did not have enough information to generate a case),
or we lose the call during transfer.

Whilst the figures for this wrap-up reason may appear high, where there is
an issue with our telephone system or we lose the call during transfer and
we have a telephone number, we call the customer back. As such we do not
receive complaints about this.

I can confirm the calls were received on the PHSO helpline 0345 015 4033
and were answered by customer service officers who are part of the Intake
department within the Customer Care team.

I hope the information is helpful.

Yours sincerely

 

 

 

Sohifa Kadir

FOI/DP Officer

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

 

show quoted sections

All email communications with PHSO pass through the Government Secure
Intranet, and may be automatically logged, monitored and/or recorded for
legal purposes.
The MessageLabs Anti Virus Service is the first managed service to achieve
the CSIA Claims Tested Mark (CCTM Certificate Number 2006/04/0007), the UK
Government quality mark initiative for information security products and
services. For more information about this please visit www.cctmark.gov.uk

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org