Worker complaints

David Sharman made this Freedom of Information request to Blackpool Transport Services Limited

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

The request was successful.

Dear Blackpool Transport Services Limited,

I am writing to obtain information about complaints mate against Blackpool Transport workers.
Specifically I would like to know how many complaints have been made against bus and tram drivers and conductors in the past year (September 2011-September 2012)? What was the content of the complaints and what, if any, disciplinary action was taken against them?

Yours faithfully,

David Sharman

Bryan Lindop, Blackpool Transport Services Limited

Dear Mr Sharman,

Thank you for your freedom of information request received today. We will provide a full response in due course once we have extracted the relevant data.

I must state at the outset however that we cannot comply with the final part of your request, namely the element relating to the disclosure of disciplinary action taken against members of staff, due to the fact that this information is protected under the Data Protection Act. This information must therefore remain private and confidential.

We can however comply with the other elements of your request.

Thank you for your enquiry.

Yours faithfully,

Bryan Lindop
on behalf of Blackpool Transport Services Ltd.

show quoted sections

Original Message-----
From: David Sharman [mailto:[FOI #133905 email]]
Sent: 18 October 2012 10:24
To: Bryan Lindop
Subject: Freedom of Information request - Worker complaints

Dear Blackpool Transport Services Limited,

I am writing to obtain information about complaints mate against
Blackpool Transport workers.
Specifically I would like to know how many complaints have been
made against bus and tram drivers and conductors in the past year
(September 2011-September 2012)? What was the content of the
complaints and what, if any, disciplinary action was taken against
them?

Yours faithfully,

David Sharman

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Please use this email address for all replies to this request:
[FOI #133905 email]

Is [Blackpool Transport request email] the wrong address for
Freedom of Information requests to Blackpool Transport Services
Limited? If so, please contact us using this form:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/contact

Disclaimer: This message and any reply that you make will be
published on the internet. Our privacy and copyright policies:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/offic...

If you find this service useful as an FOI officer, please ask your
web manager to link to us from your organisation's FOI page.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Bryan Lindop, Blackpool Transport Services Limited

13 Attachments

Dear Mr Sharman,

Further to our recent exchange of emails, I am now writing to inform you that we have extracted the attached data from our complaints records from September 2011 to September 2012 inclusive. As to the specific content of the complaints, that information is not recorded in the data base, but is broken down into categories which should be self-explanatory. These are all the complaints made against driving and conducting staff on both buses and trams for the period requested. It is important to bear in mind that only a proportion of complaints made against staff are proven. We currently employ on average 424 drivers/conductors per week.

As previously stated all other complaints documentation, particularly in relation to disciplinary action taken cannot be disclosed due to constraints imposed upon us by the Data Protection Act.

I trust that this information is helpful to you, however, should you require any further clarification, please feel free to contact me again.

Yours sincerely,

Bryan Lindop
On behalf of Blackpool Transport Services Ltd.

show quoted sections

Original Message-----
From: David Sharman [mailto:[FOI #133905 email]]
Sent: 18 October 2012 10:24
To: Bryan Lindop
Subject: Freedom of Information request - Worker complaints

Dear Blackpool Transport Services Limited,

I am writing to obtain information about complaints made against
Blackpool Transport workers.
Specifically I would like to know how many complaints have been
made against bus and tram drivers and conductors in the past year
(September 2011-September 2012)? What was the content of the
complaints and what, if any, disciplinary action was taken against
them?

Yours faithfully,

David Sharman

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Please use this email address for all replies to this request:
[FOI #133905 email]

Is [Blackpool Transport request email] the wrong address for
Freedom of Information requests to Blackpool Transport Services
Limited? If so, please contact us using this form:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/contact

Disclaimer: This message and any reply that you make will be
published on the internet. Our privacy and copyright policies:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/offic...

If you find this service useful as an FOI officer, please ask your
web manager to link to us from your organisation's FOI page.

-------------------------------------------------------------------