Dear NHS England,

Please supply details of all complaints that have been raised with NHS England about its employees under the whistleblowing policy.

Please supply details of what these complaints were about, what action was taken in response to them and whether the complaint led to any further action being taken against the NHS England employee (i.e. whether the compliant was seen as valid and provable). Please supply copies of any final reports created in response to concerns raised under the whistleblowing policy.

Please note that I do not need any identifiable data to be included in the reports.

Yours faithfully,

Barry Harper

FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Thank you for your communication dated 8 August 2017.

 

NHS England has assessed your communication as a request under the Freedom
of Information (FOI) Act 2000. As such, please be assured that your
request is being dealt with under the terms of the FOI Act and will be
answered within twenty working days.

 

For further information regarding the FOI Act, please refer to the
[1]Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) website. For further
information regarding NHS England and the information it publishes please
visit our website [2]here.

 

If you have any queries about this request or wish to contact us again,
please email [3][NHS England request email] and the message will be
forwarded appropriately. Please remember to quote the above reference
number in any future communications.

 

Please do not reply to this email. This message has been sent from a
central mailbox. To communicate with NHS England regarding Freedom of
Information (FOI) requests, enquiries or complaints we ask these are sent
directly to NHS England’s customer contact centre. This is to ensure all
communications are progressed correctly. Their postal address, telephone
number and email details are as follows:- PO Box 16738, Redditch, B97 9PT;
0300 3 11 22 33, [4][NHS England request email]  .

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Transformation and Corporate Operations Directorate

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Tel: 0300 311 22 33

Email: [5][NHS England request email]

 

‘High quality care for all, now and for future generations’

DOHERTY, Peter (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Re: Freedom of Information request (Our Ref: FOI-054142)

 

I am writing further to my email of 8 August 2017 regarding your Freedom
of Information (FOI) request.  

 

Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay incurred with responding
to your request.

 

We are continuing to review the request and any information held in order
to provide you with a response. We hope to provide you with this as soon
as possible. However, we will update you regarding this if a response is
not ready, on or before 14 September 2015.

 

If you have any queries about this request or wish to contact us again,
please email [1][NHS England request email] and the message will be
forwarded appropriately. Please quote the reference number FOI-054142 in
any future communications.

 

This message has been sent from a central mailbox. To communicate with NHS
England regarding Freedom of Information (FOI) requests, enquiries or
complaints we ask these are sent directly to NHS England’s customer
contact centre. This is to ensure all communications are progressed
correctly. Their postal address, telephone number and email details are as
follows:- PO Box 16738, Redditch, B97 9PT; 0300 3 11 22 33,
[2][NHS England request email].

   

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Patients and Information Directorate

 

 

Dear NHS England,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of NHS England's handling of my FOI request 'Whistleblowing complaints' as the query should have been answered by now.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/w...

Yours faithfully,

Barry Harper

FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Re: Freedom of Information Request (Our reference FOI-054142)

 

We are writing with regard to your Freedom of Information (FOI) request
dated 08 August 2017.

 

Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to your request.
NHS England is not in a position to respond to your request at this time.
We are still in the process of assessing your request and will provide you
with a full response as soon as possible. We will write to provide a
further update on or before 13 October 2017, if your response is not
complete by this time.

 

We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Please be aware that
you have the right to apply directly to the Information Commissioner for a
decision. The Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) can be contacted
at:-

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 5AF

 

Telephone: 0303 123 1113

Email: [1][email address]  

Website: [2]www.ico.gov.uk

 

Please do not reply to this email. This message has been sent from a
central mailbox. To communicate with NHS England regarding Freedom of
Information (FOI) requests, enquiries or complaints we ask these are sent
directly to NHS England’s customer contact centre. This is to ensure all
communications are progressed correctly. Their postal address, telephone
number and email details are as follows:- PO Box 16738, Redditch, B97 9PT;
0300 3 11 22 33, [3][NHS England request email].

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Transformation and Corporate Operations Directorate

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Tel: 0300 311 22 33

Email: [4][NHS England request email]

 

‘High quality care for all, now and for future generations’

 

FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Thank you for your communication dated 26 September 2017.

 

Please accept our apologies for the continued delay in responding to your
request. We are still processing your request, which has unfortunately
taken longer than expected on this occasion. Please be assured, however,
that we are working to provide you with a response as soon as possible.

 

We note that you have requested an Internal Review in respect of the
handling of your request. Unfortunately, NHS England is unable to carry
put an Internal Review at this time as a response has not yet been
provided. Should you be unsatisfied with your response when it is
received, however, you will of course have the right to ask for a review
at that time.

 

We hope that this is helpful in explaining the current position and once
again wish to apologise for any inconvenience caused by the delay in
providing you with a response. We will, however, continue to update you as
to our progress.

 

 

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Transformation and Corporate Operations Directorate

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Tel: 0300 311 22 33

Email: [1][NHS England request email]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dear FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND),

This request is overdue - please respond to it. By law, under all circumstances, you should have responded by now.

The request for an internal review was to establish the reasoning behind the delay and to expedite the delivery of the requested information - rather than review any provided information.

In the meantime I will raise the matter with the ICO and ask them to intervene.

Yours sincerely,

Barry Harper

FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Re: Freedom of Information Request (Our reference FOI-054142)

 

We are writing with regard to your Freedom of Information (FOI) request
dated 08 August 2017.

 

Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to your request.
NHS England is not in a position to respond to your request at this time.
We are still in the process of assessing your request and will provide you
with a full response as soon as possible. We will write to provide a
further update on or before 30 October 2017, if your response is not
complete by this time.

 

We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Please be aware that
you have the right to apply directly to the Information Commissioner for a
decision. The Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) can be contacted
at:-

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 5AF

 

Telephone: 0303 123 1113

Email: [1][email address]  

Website: [2]www.ico.gov.uk

 

Please do not reply to this email. This message has been sent from a
central mailbox. To communicate with NHS England regarding Freedom of
Information (FOI) requests, enquiries or complaints we ask these are sent
directly to NHS England’s customer contact centre. This is to ensure all
communications are progressed correctly. Their postal address, telephone
number and email details are as follows:- PO Box 16738, Redditch, B97 9PT;
0300 3 11 22 33, [3][NHS England request email].

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Transformation and Corporate Operations Directorate

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Tel: 0300 311 22 33

Email: [4][NHS England request email]

 

‘High quality care for all, now and for future generations’

 

FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Re:      Freedom of Information request (Our Ref: FOI-054142)

 

Thank you for your Freedom of Information (FOI) request dated 8 August
2017. Please accept our apologies for the delay in providing you with a
response.

 

Your exact request was:

 

“Please supply details of all complaints that have been raised with NHS
England about its employees under the whistleblowing policy. 

 

Please supply details of what these complaints were about, what action was
taken in response to them and whether the complaint led to any further
action being taken against the NHS England employee (i.e. whether the
compliant was seen as valid and provable).    Please supply copies of any
final reports created in response to concerns raised under the
whistleblowing policy.”

 

NHS England holds this information.

 

NHS England has had 5 issues raised about our employees under the Voicing
Your Concerns Whistleblowing for Staff Policy. The information requested
is summarised in the attached table.

 

Regarding your request for copies of the final reports, given the
confidential nature of the outcome reports, and the potential for key
stakeholders related to the investigation and allegations to be
identified, NHS England believe that the release of such reports would be
unfair to the individuals concerned and cause us to be in breach of
Section 40 (2) of the Freedom of Information Act.

 

Please note that this information has been withheld under section 40(2)
(personal information) of the FOI Act, as the information constitutes
third party data. The information has been withheld rather than redacted
as the amount of redaction required would render the documents
meaningless. Section 40(2) provides that personal data about third parties
is exempt information if one of the conditions set out in section 40(3) is
satisfied.

 

Under the FOI Act disclosure of this information would breach the fair
processing principle contained in the Data Protection Act (DPA), where it
would be unfair to that person/is confidential. Releasing this information
would breach the data protection protocol as it would be unfair to release
individuals’ details when they did not intend them to be used in such a
way.

 

Section 40(2) is an absolute exemption and therefore not subject to the
public interest test when considering disclosure of information.

 

Copyright: NHS England operates under the terms of the open government
licence. Please see the NHS England Terms and conditions on the following
link:

 

o [1]http://www.england.nhs.uk/terms-and-cond....

 

We hope this information is helpful. However, if you are dissatisfied, you
have the right to ask for an internal review by writing to us, within two
months of the date of this letter, to:

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Email: [2][NHS England request email]

 

Please quote the reference number FOI-054142 in any future communications.

 

If you are not content with the outcome of the internal review, you have
the right to apply directly to the Information Commissioner for a
decision. The Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) can be contacted at:

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 5AF

 

Telephone: 0303 123 1113

Email: [3][email address]  

Website: [4]www.ico.gov.uk

 

Please note there is no charge for making an appeal.

 

Please be aware that in line with the Information Commissioner’s directive
on the disclosure of information under the FOI Act, your request will be
anonymised and published on our website as part of our disclosure log.

 

Please do not reply to this email. This message has been sent from a
central mailbox. To communicate with NHS England regarding Freedom of
Information (FOI) requests, enquiries or complaints we ask these are sent
directly to NHS England’s customer contact centre. This is to ensure all
communications are progressed correctly. Their postal address, telephone
number and email details are as follows:- PO Box 16738, Redditch, B97 9PT;
0300 3 11 22 33, [5][NHS England request email].

   

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Transformation and Corporate Operations Directorate

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Tel: 0300 311 22 33

Email: [6][NHS England request email]

Dear NHS England,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of NHS England's handling of my FOI request 'Whistleblowing complaints'. It would be useful if the final reports created in response to the complaints were made available in redacted form; otherwise I will have to raise follow on FOI requests to understand the detail of each.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/w...

Yours faithfully,

Barry Harper

CONTACTUS, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

 

 

Dear Customer,

 Thank you for contacting NHS Customer Contact Centre.  We have received
your email and a member of our Customer Service team will be respond to
you in due course.

In the meantime, the following information may be able to help you access
information immediately.

NHS England commissions or buys primary care services; for example, GPs,
dentists, opticians, and pharmacy services. We also commission health and
justice, military health services plus some specialised services. We can
advise you how to access, give feedback or make a complaint about the
services we commission.

NHS England does not commission secondary care (with the exception of
Specialised Services). This includes hospital care, NHS 111 services,
mental health services, out-of-hours services and community services such
as district nursing. These services are commissioned by Clinical
Commissioning Groups (CCGs). If you need advice about accessing secondary
care, you should contact your local CCG. You can find their contact
details using the [1]service finder on the NHS Choices website .

You may also refer to the following links for further information about
NHS England

 [2]https://www.england.nhs.uk/about/

[3]https://www.england.nhs.uk/ourwork/

[4]https://www.england.nhs.uk/resources/

[5]https://www.england.nhs.uk/commissioning/

 

and [6]https://www.england.nhs.uk/contact-us for details about the
Customer Contact Centre, which also provides a number of FAQ’s.

If you require medical attention, please contact your GP, call 111 or if
you require urgent medical attention, please dial 999 or attend your local
Accident and Emergency Department.

If, after receiving this automated response, you no longer think we can
assist with your email, please reply to this email address stating ‘NO
FURTHER ACTION REQUIRED’ and we will not respond to your email.

Kind Regards

NHS England Customer Contact Centre team

* Please note our normal working hours are 08:00 to 18:00 from Monday to
Friday and we regret the delay in reply over the non-working hours.

 

 

FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Thank you for email of 31 October 2017. Please see this email as
acknowledgement of your Internal Review request.

 

We endeavour to respond to Internal Reviews within 20 working days.
However, please be aware that on some occasions this has been extended to
40 working days. An officer will be allocated to handle your Internal
Review and will update you accordingly where necessary.

 

If you have any queries about this request or wish to contact us again,
please email [1][NHS England request email] and the message will be
forwarded appropriately. Please remember to quote the above reference
number in any future communications.

 

To communicate with NHS England regarding Freedom of Information (FOI)
requests, enquiries or complaints we ask these are sent directly to NHS
England’s customer contact centre. This is to ensure all communications
are progressed correctly. Their postal address, telephone number and email
details are as follows:- PO Box 16738, Redditch, B97 9PT; 0300 3 11 22 33,
[2][NHS England request email].

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Transformation and Corporate Operations Directorate

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Tel: 0300 311 22 33

Email: [3][NHS England request email]

 

‘High quality care for all, now and for future generations’

 

 

 

FOI, England (NHS ENGLAND), NHS England

Dear Mr Harper,

 

Re:     Freedom of Information Internal Review outcome

(Our Ref: FOI-054142 IR)

 

Thank you for your Freedom of Information (FOI) Internal Review request
dated 31 October 2017.

 

Your original FOI request was received by NHS England on 8 August 2017,
and read:-

 

“Please supply details of all complaints that have been raised with NHS
England about its employees under the whistleblowing policy. 

 

Please supply details of what these complaints were about, what action was
taken in response to them and whether the complaint led to any further
action being taken against the NHS England employee (i.e. whether the
compliant was seen as valid and provable).    Please supply copies of any
final reports created in response to concerns raised under the
whistleblowing policy.”

 

Your Internal Review request was received by NHS England on 31 October
2017, and read:-

 

“I am writing to request an internal review of NHS England's handling of
my FOI request 'Whistleblowing complaints'.  It would be useful if the
final reports created in response to the complaints were made available in
redacted form; otherwise I will have to raise follow on FOI requests to
understand the detail of each.”

 

The FOI Management team have reviewed your request and this letter
provides the outcome of this review.

 

It was noted that your original response was issued over the statutory
guidelines of 20 working days. We would like to apologise for the length
of time took to provide you with a response to your FOI request. This fell
short of our standards and we would like to offer our sincere apologies
for the delay incurred.

 

We have also assessed whether you received an appropriate response to your
request and considered the comments you have raised in your Internal
Review request.

 

It is the conclusion of this review that NHS England’s response was
accurate and appropriate.

 

Your original request sought “details of all complaints that have been
raised with NHS England about its employees under the whistleblowing
policy”. In response to this, NHS England provided you with a table
outlining the nature of each complaint, and its outcome (where settled).
We therefore conclude that this element of your request was fully
responded to.

 

Your original request also sought “copies of any final reports created in
response to concerns raised under the whistleblowing policy”. In response,
NHS England advised that while the information is held, it was exempt
under Section 40(2) of the FOI Act. It is the conclusion of this review
that NHS England’s response to this element of your request was
appropriate.

 

Given the nature of the complaints which fall within the scope of your
request, we conclude that it would not be possible to provide redacted
copies of the individual reports without infringing on the data protection
rights of the individuals associated with the complaint. For example,
while redacting the names of individuals would be likely to go some way to
protecting the identities of individuals, it would also be necessary to
redact any other information which could result in individuals being
identified. For example, references to locations, teams, roles or meetings
could result in individuals being made identifiable. We therefore conclude
that, as per our original response, “the amount of redaction required
would render the documents meaningless”.

 

In line with the above, our original response is upheld in full.

 

We hope that this addresses your concerns. However, if you are not content
with the outcome of the internal review, you have the right to apply
directly to the Information Commissioner for a decision. The Information
Commissioner’s Office (ICO) can be contacted at:

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 5AF

 

Telephone: 0303 123 1113

Email: [1][email address]  

Website: [2]www.ico.org.uk

 

Please note there is no charge for making an appeal.

 

Please quote the reference number FOI-054142 IR in any future
communications.

 

Please do not reply to this email. This message has been sent from a
central mailbox. To communicate with NHS England regarding Freedom of
Information (FOI) requests, enquiries or complaints we ask these are sent
directly to NHS England’s customer contact centre. This is to ensure all
communications are progressed correctly. Their postal address, telephone
number and email details are as follows:- PO Box 16738, Redditch, B97 9PT;
0300 3 11 22 33, [3][NHS England request email] .

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Freedom of Information

Corporate Communications Team

Transformation and Corporate Operations Directorate

 

NHS England

PO Box 16738

REDDITCH

B97 9PT

 

Tel: 0300 311 22 33

Email: [4][NHS England request email]

 

‘High quality care for all, now and for future generations’

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org