We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Daniel Bailey please sign in and let everyone know.

Total number of complaints upheld and not upheld in 2018 and 2019

Daniel Bailey made this Freedom of Information request to Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

We're waiting for Daniel Bailey to read a recent response and update the status.

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

I would like to make a request under the Freedom of Information Act (FOI).

1. How many complaints were upheld in 2018 and 2019
2. How many complaints were not upheld in 2018 and 2019

Yours faithfully,

Daniel Bailey

J Roberts left an annotation ()

You may find some useful information here, especially the table half-way down:

https://phsothetruestory.com/home/

InformationRights, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

 

Dear Mr Bailey,

 

RE: Your information request: R0001071

 

I write in response to your email to the Parliamentary and Health Service
Ombudsman (PHSO) dated 23 January 2020 requesting information under the
Freedom of Information (FOI) Act 2000.

 

Request:

I would like to make a request under the Freedom of Information Act (FOI).

 

How many complaints were upheld in 2018 and 2019

How many complaints were not upheld in 2018 and 2019

 

Response:

We apologise for the delay in getting this information for you.  As
requested, please see below:

 

In 2018/19 PHSO upheld 117 cases and partly upheld 629 cases at
investigation.

In 2018/19 PHSO concluded 871 investigations with an outcome of not
upheld.

 

If you believe we have made an error in the way I have processed your
information request, it is open to you to request an internal review. You
can do this by writing to us by post or by email to
[1][PHSO request email] . You will need to specify that the
nature of the issue is and we can consider the matter further. Beyond
that, it is open to you to complain to the Information Commissioner’s
Office ([2]www.ico.org.uk ) or seek a judicial remedy.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Team

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

W: [3]www.ombudsman.org.uk

 

 

 

 

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[PHSO request email]
2. http://www.ico.org.uk/
3. http://www.ombudsman.org.uk/
http://www.ombudsman.org.uk/

J Roberts left an annotation ()

Here are the figures for parliamentary complaints for 2018/19 (e.g. government departments):

' Here are the relevant figures for each of the items you’ve requested:

1. There were 5,744 Parliamentary complaints received in 2018/19

2. There were 38 Parliamentary cases upheld or partly upheld at
investigation in 2018/19 (3 upheld, 35 partly upheld)'

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/c...

J Roberts left an annotation ()

Dr Bruce Newsome writes:

'According to heart-breaking testimonials, most complainants are treated by PHSO staff as time-wasters, liars, idiots, fantasists, egotists, and objects of ridicule. The victims have nowhere else to go. Parliament’s Select Committee on Public Administration has complained since 2015 that the PHSO is unaccountable to Parliament except through annual reports. The PHSO’s only practical accountability is to the executive, which controls its funding and appoints its person, but every executive has said that the PHSO is “independent.” Its own solution to criticism is to demand more powers.'

https://thecritic.co.uk/democracys-accou...

christina evans left an annotation ()

I made a complaint to phso and was passed to different caseworkers. I provided extensive evidence to support my complaint and it was completely ignored. The public body who I made a complaint about were not new to me. In 2004 I made a complaint to the chief executive and had assurances it wouldnt happen again and to make sure it would be put on records. Also that we would not have to be under them again. However 13 years later after relative stayed well under different trust they were discharged back to this trust. They were sent to cygnet hospital Coventry dunsmore. I constantly made complaints they are now under special measures. I have provided proof to phso and was ignored. The system is broken. I am waiting to see if request for review has been accepted

J Roberts left an annotation ()

Figures for 2019/20:

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/c...

Table:

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/6...

Parliamentary complaints for 2018/19:

3 upheld and 35 partly upheld

Parliamentary complaints for 2019/20:

11 upheld and 35 partly upheld

J Roberts left an annotation ()

'Phso the Facts' have produced a graph which vividly illustrates how the number of complaints upheld by the PHSO has more than halved between 2016/17 and 2019/20 - from 1,531 to 650:

https://twitter.com/phsothefacts/status/...

J Roberts left an annotation ()

PHSOtheFACTS have crunched the numbers in PHSO data tables:

https://phsothetruestory.com/phso-data-t...

'The number of upheld complaints falls from 3.1% to 2.1% in the red figures, which are a percentage of total complaints made. The number of investigations reported on falls from 8.2% of all complaints to just 3.6%. Because fewer investigations were carried out (2,676 down to 1,122) the percentage of upheld investigations rises from 37.5% to 58%. (green figures). If you get past the 7-day purge and receive an assessment of your complaint, you have approximately 20% chance of some form of positive outcome.'

J Roberts left an annotation ()

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman Scrutiny 2019–20

HC 843 Published on 25 January 2021

'21. There is also confusion about how many new complaints the PHSO has received in the financial year. The PHSO’s annual report and accounts asserts that in total the PHSO “handled 30,895 complaints compared with 29,841 last year”. This included cases recorded in the previous year and new complaints recorded in 2020 (28,103).24 However, this information explains only how many complaints were handled; it provides no information on how many complaints have actually been received in total in the financial year. Indeed, in his letter of 12 October 2020, Rob Behrens said the PHSO had in fact received 31,365 new complaints in that financial year. Amanda Amroliwala confirmed this was another area that the PHSO was looking at when examining the data provided in the annual report and accounts.

22.The PHSO should report in its annual report and accounts the number of new enquiries and complaints that have been received in that financial year. This number is separate from the number of enquiries and complaints that the PHSO has “handled” in that same financial year.'

https://committees.parliament.uk/publica...

We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Daniel Bailey please sign in and let everyone know.