Serious complaints made about Danum Doctors Services Limited

The request was successful.

Dear General Medical Council,

Under FOI please tell us how many complaints were made about Danum Doctors Services Limited who were commissioned by Doncaster PCT from 1st April 2004 and closed on 30th June 2004?

Why were they only commissioned for 3 months?

Why, when one of the doctor who was actually employed by DDSL and the NHS was not reprimanded by the GMC after prescribing end of life drugs to a patient he never met and had no access to medical records, after provable lies were told to him over the phone on 18th April 2004.

The pathology report proves the patient did not have the cancer end of life drugs were prescribed for.

The GP accepted a telephone call from this same woman on 15th March 2004 informing him the patient did have oesophageal cancer, again a provable lie, which this GP did not check, I have a letter two years after the patient was killed, which proves the Consultant reported the endoscopy results on the very same day, 15th March 2004- "There was no evidence of malignancy ie cancer and no dysplasia which are pre cancerous cells".

The Doctor who did eventually turn out to see the patient just before he was rendered unconscious actually requested the endoscopy results the day befcre the patient's life ended, she was sent a fax from the Hospital proving no cancer of the oesophagus and iniialled this fax RSS-file in notes", Proving she knew the day before the death the patient had no oesophageal cancer, yet she and her colleague requested as a second opinion, told my family the patient did have oesophageal cancer just two hours before his death.

Why has nothing been done?

Why had this not been properly investigated?

Patients are still at risk.

Yours faithfully,

Linda Kirby

FOI, General Medical Council

Dear Ms Kirby

Your information request F13/5316/LG

Thank you for your email of 05 March asking for information under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA).

We will consider your request and give you the information as soon as we can, normally within the 20 working-day limit set by the FOIA.

Please note that there may be some information which we cannot release to you under the FOIA. If this is the case, we will let you know why and state the relevant exemptions given in the FOIA. We will also give you information about how to appeal our decision.

I have allocated your request to Louise Gormley. If you have any questions, please contact her on 0161 923 6311 or email [email address].

Yours sincerely

Sadie Jones
Information Assistant
[email address]
0161 250 6889

General Medical Council
3 Hardman Street
Manchester
M3 3AW

show quoted sections

Linda Kirby left an annotation ()

Are the same doctors involved in Danum Medical Services Limited as was involved in the 3 months commissioned Danum Doctors Services Limited commissioned by Doncaster NHS?

Do they have the same Organisational Medical Director?

Louise Gormley (0161 923 6311), General Medical Council

Our reference: F13/5316/LG

 

Dear Ms Kirby

 

Thank you for your email dated 6 March 2013, in which you request
information about Danum Doctors Services Limitied. Please find below
responses to each of your requests:

 

How many complaints were made about Danum Doctors Services Limited who
were commissioned by Doncaster PCT from 1st April 2004 and closed on 30th
June 2004?

 

We investigate concerns about registered doctors, not organisations,
therefore as per section 1(1)(a) of FOIA we do not hold the information
you have requested.

 

Why were they only commissioned for 3 months?

 

As per section 1(1)(a) of FOIA we do not hold the information you have
requested.

 

You have also asked us to comment on a number of incidents, the FOIA
provides a right of access to recorded information held, I therefore
confirm as per section 1(1)(a) of FOIA we do not hold the information you
have requested.

 

If you have any queries or concerns about the processing of your request
please contact Julian Graves, Information Access Manager at
[1][email address]

 

Kind regards

 

Louise Gormley

Information Access Officer
Registration Directorate
 
Direct Line: 0161 923 6311
Email:        [2][email address]
Website:    [3]www.gmc-uk.org
Address:    Information Access Team
                 General Medical Council
                 3 Hardman Street

                 Manchester

                 M3 3AW

 

 

 

 

 

 

    

 

Unless otherwise expressly agreed by the sender of this email, this
communication may contain privileged or confidential information which is
exempt from disclosure under UK law. This email and its attachments may
not be used or disclosed except for the purpose for which it has been
sent.

If you are not the addressee or have received this email in error, please
do not read, print, re-transmit, store or act in reliance on it or any
attachments. Instead, please email the sender and then immediately delete
it.

General Medical Council

3 Hardman Street, Manchester, M3 3AW

Regents Place, 350 Euston Road, London, NW1 3JN

The Tun, 4 Jacksons Entry, Holyrood Road, Edinburgh, EH8 8AE

Regus House, Falcon Drive, Cardiff Bay, CF10 4RU

9th Floor, Bedford House, 16-22 Bedford Street, Belfast, BT2 7FD

The GMC is a charity registered in England and Wales (1089278) and
Scotland (SC037750)

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[email address]
2. mailto:[email address]
3. http://www.gmc-uk.org/

Dear Louise Gormley (0161 923 6311),

Since you inform me that answers cannot be provided about Danum Doctors Services limited but can be provided for medical "professionals", I am requesting the same information for the doctors mentioned below, who were all employed by Danum Doctors Services limited

Doctors associated with Danum Doctors Services Limited Doncaster

1. GMC General Medical Council number 2341220 Dr. Paul Wilson BSc(Hons) 1976, MBChB 1979, MRCGP 1984, DRCOG 1984 (Edinburgh)
Formerly Director of Danum Doctors Services Limited, also Field Road Surgery, Stainforth, Doncaster and Barnby Dunn Surgery, Barnby Dunn, Doncaster.

2. GMC General Medical Council number 3540312 Dr. Jonathan C Bundy. MBChB 1991, MRCGP 1997, T(GP) 1997 (Sheffield)
Danum Doctors Services Limited, also Field Road Surgery, Stainforth, Doncaster and Barnby Dunn Surgery, Barnby Dunn, Doncaster.

3. GMC General Medical Council number 3355851 Dr. Kevin Michael Stewart Lee, MRCGP Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery MRCGP
Danum Doctors Services Limited, also The Scott Practice, Greenfield Lane, Balby, and Ther Scott Practice, Village Surgery Main Street, Sprotbrough, Doncaster.

4. GMC General Medical Council number 2305154 Dr. David J Brown NMBBS 1976 MRCGP 1980, DA 1980 (Newcastle).
Danum Doctors Services Limited, also Field Road Surgery, Stainforth, Doncaster and Barnby Dunn Surgery, Barnby Dunn, Doncaster.

5. GMC General Medical Council number 3201017 Dr. Rachel Sarah Sykes MBChB 1987, DRCOG 1991, MRCGP 1992 (Liverpool).
Danum Doctors Services Limited, also Field Road Surgery, Stainforth, Doncaster and Barnby Dunn Surgery, Barnby Dunn, Doncaster.

6. GMC General Medical Council number 3071412 Dr. Gillian Mary Harding MB BS 1985 Unversity of London,
Danum Doctors Services Limited, Formerly Medical Director St. John’s Hospice, Balby, Doncaster, currently Church View Surgery, Denaby, Doncaster.

Many thanks

Yours sincerely,

Linda Kirby

FOI, General Medical Council

Our ref: F13/5377/LG

Dear Ms Kirby

Thank you for your email of 6 April 2013 asking for information under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA).

We will consider your request and give you the information as soon as we can, normally within the 20 working-day limit set by the FOIA.

Please note that there may be some information which we cannot release to you under the FOIA. If this is the case, we will let you know why and state the relevant exemptions given in the FOIA. We will also give you information about how to appeal our decision.

I have allocated your request to Louise Gormley. If you have any questions, please contact Ms Gormley on 0161 923 6311 or email [email address]

Yours sincerely

Janet Mauldridge
Information Access Officer
0161 923 6324
[email address]

General Medical Council
3 Hardman Street
Manchester
M3 3AW

show quoted sections

Louise Gormley (0161 923 6311), General Medical Council

Our reference: F13/5377/LG  

 

Dear Ms Kirby

 

Thank you for your email dated 6 April 2013, in which you request
information about Dr Paul Wilson (GMC Number: 2341220), Dr Jonathan Bundy
(GMC Number: 3540312), Dr Kevin Lee (GMC Number: 3355851), Dr David Brown
(GMC Number: 2305154), Dr Rachel Sykes (GMC Number: 3201017), and Dr
Gillian Harding (GMC Number: 3071412).  Your request has been considered
in accordance with the access provisions of the Freedom of Information Act
2000 (FOIA).

 

I should take this opportunity to explain briefly how we handle complaints
against doctors. When we receive a complaint about a doctor a decision is
made by our Fitness to Practise Directorate on whether an investigation
should be conducted. At the end of an investigation, a case will be
considered by two senior GMC staff known as Case Examiners (one medical
and one non-medical). They can conclude the case with no further action,
issue a warning, agree undertakings or refer the case to a Fitness to
Practise (FTP) Panel. FTP Panel hearings are usually held in public,
although sections may be held in private if discussing a doctor’s health
or any other confidential matter. Recent outcomes of FTP Panel hearings
are published on our website.

 

In response to your request I confirm that all of the above doctors are
currently registered with a licence to practise and there are no current
sanctions on their registration.

 

Dr Harding has previously been given undertakings and had conditions on
her registration, the undertakings have now expired and the conditions no
longer apply. Further details of the undertakings and conditions can be
found on the doctors entry on our List of Registered Medical Practitioners
on our website: [1]http://www.gmc-uk.org/doctors/register/L...

 

I also confirm that there have been no complaints about any of the doctors
that have either been heard by a FTP Panel or are listed to be heard in
the future.

 

In relation to any other complaints about the doctors, I write to inform
you that we are under no obligation to confirm or deny if we hold any
other information regarding the existence or non-existence of complaints
made against these doctors.

 

To explain, Section 40(5)(b)(i) of the FOIA states that the duty to
confirm or deny whether information is held does not arise if the act of
confirmation or denial would breach any of the principles of the Data
Protection Act 1998 (DPA).

 

We believe that it is reasonable for doctors to expect that, if complaints
are made against them which have not progressed to a public hearing, does
not result in any action on their registration or where a warning was
given more than five years ago, the fact such complaints had been made
would be kept confidential and would not be released into the public
domain. Therefore, we believe that to confirm or deny whether or not any
information is held beyond that already in the public domain would breach
the first principle of the DPA, which requires that the processing of
personal data is fair and lawful.

 

You have the right of appeal against this decision. If you wish to appeal
please set out your grounds in writing and send to Julian Graves,
Information Access Manager, at [2][email address]

 

You also have the right of appeal to the Information Commissioner, the
independent regulator of the FOIA. If appropriate, Mr Graves will provide
the relevant contact details.

 

Kind regards

Louise Gormley

Information Access Officer
Registration Directorate
 
Direct Line: 0161 923 6311
Email:        [3][email address]
Website:    [4]www.gmc-uk.org
Address:    Information Access Team
                 General Medical Council
                 3 Hardman Street

                 Manchester

                 M3 3AW

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unless otherwise expressly agreed by the sender of this email, this
communication may contain privileged or confidential information which is
exempt from disclosure under UK law. This email and its attachments may
not be used or disclosed except for the purpose for which it has been
sent.

If you are not the addressee or have received this email in error, please
do not read, print, re-transmit, store or act in reliance on it or any
attachments. Instead, please email the sender and then immediately delete
it.

General Medical Council

3 Hardman Street, Manchester, M3 3AW

Regents Place, 350 Euston Road, London, NW1 3JN

The Tun, 4 Jacksons Entry, Holyrood Road, Edinburgh, EH8 8AE

Regus House, Falcon Drive, Cardiff Bay, CF10 4RU

9th Floor, Bedford House, 16-22 Bedford Street, Belfast, BT2 7FD

The GMC is a charity registered in England and Wales (1089278) and
Scotland (SC037750)

References

Visible links
1. http://www.gmc-uk.org/doctors/register/L...
2. mailto:[email address]
3. mailto:[email address]
4. http://www.gmc-uk.org/

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org