Review Point 1

Joe Rukin made this Freedom of Information request to High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

The request was refused by High Speed Two (HS2) Limited.

Dear Sir or Madam,

I note the National Audit Office report on HS2 of 28th June 2016. Point 9 of the summary states:

“The Department and HS2 Ltd delayed the first of three formal review points – which tested HS2 Ltd’s readiness to deliver – by ten months. By May 2016, HS2 Ltd had the capability it had originally planned to reach by July 2015, but did not pass the first review point due to concerns about cost and schedule.”

With paragraph 1.12 of the report defining review point one, as follows:

“Review Point 1, to delegate authority to commence procurement of the main infrastructure works, up to contract award stage. In June 2015, the completion date for this review point was extended to April 2016, following an intermediate review of HS2 Ltd capability in September 2015.”

Paragraph 1.13 states:

“In May 2016, 10 months later than the original target date for completion of the review point, the Secretary of State decided not to grant HS2 Ltd the formal delegated authority to issue tender documents for main civil engineering contracts itself. The review showed that HS2 Ltd had demonstrated the required capabilities to pass the review point, but that further work was required to finalise the baseline cost estimate and programme schedule.”

Again, the final sentence of paragraph 3.8 of the NAO report clearly states:

“By May 2016, HS2 Ltd had met the capability requirements, but did not pass review point 1 due to ongoing concerns about cost and schedule.”

However, I also note the Public Accounts Committee session of 11th July 2016, in which Philip Rutnam, Permanent Secretary of the Department for Transport claimed that the assessment about cost and schedules as part of Review Point 1 was a ‘positive assessment’.

He went on to emphatically claim that:

“The message coming out of Review Point 1 was that the company was fit and ready to proceed with the tenders; there was no doubt about that.”

I am concerned that this statement from the Permanent Secretary is in direct contradiction with the statements contained within the National Audit Office report.

Given that the the HS2 Bill is approaching its final stages, it is essential that information falling within the scope of this request is provided as soon as possible in accordance with Regulation 5 of the Environmental Information Regulations 2004.

Important decisions are already being made in relation to HS2’s contracts. Access to the information sought necessary to enable: (a) informed public scrutiny of the current HS2 proposals and situation; and (b) members of the public to participate in the on-going decision- making process.

As such, I urgently request the information you hold in relation to the assessment of Review Point 1. Such information would include, but not be limited to:

(a) Copies of any reports and correspondence regarding the costs and programme schedules elements of Review Point 1 of HS2; and

(b) Any as yet unpublished PAR and MPA reports in respect of HS2.

In the light of the above, I anticipate a response from you, providing the information sought, by (at the latest) c.o.b. on 25th July 2016.

Yours,
Joe Rukin.

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

2 Attachments

Dear Mr Rukin,

 

Thank you for your email to HS2 Ltd. We are considering your request for
information and aim to reply no later than 15 August 2016.

 

Your reference number for the request is FOI16-1539.

 

Kind regards,

 

Piri Norris (Mr.) | Freedom of Information Adviser | HS2 Ltd 

Tel: 020 7944 4908 | [1][email address] | [2]Facebook | [3]Twitter
| [4]LinkedIn
High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, 19th Floor, One Canada Square, Canary Wharf,
London E14 5AB | [5]www.gov.uk/hs2

 

 

show quoted sections

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

2 Attachments

Dear Mr Rukin,

 

Please find attached our response to your request for information – our
ref. FOI16-1539.

 

Kind regards,

 

Piri Norris (Mr.) |  Freedom of Information Adviser  |  HS2 Ltd 

Tel  |  0207 944 5978  |  Email  |  [1][email address] |
[2]Facebook | [3]Twitter | [4]LinkedIn

 

High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, 18^th Floor, One Canada Square, London, E14
5AB | [5]www.gov.uk/hs2

 

[6]cid:image001.png@01CF6AAA.6EFB6EF0

 

show quoted sections

Dear HS2 Ltd,

Further to your response to my request FOI16-1539 where you suggest for me to refine my request, I now ask for:

(a) any reports or assessment giving rise to Point 9 of the summary of the the National Audit Office Report’s on HS2 of 28 June 2016 and paragraphs 1.12-1.13 and 3.8 of that Report; and
(b) the information upon which Philip Rutnam relied in making the statement quoted in the previous letter about the costs and schedules as part of Review Point 1 having a positive assessment and his claim that:

“The message coming out of Review Point 1 was that the company was fit and ready to proceed with the tenders; there was no doubt about that.”

As with the original request, I am concerned that this statement from the Permanent Secretary is in direct contradiction with the statements contained within the National Audit Office report.

Given that the the HS2 Bill is approaching its final stages, it is essential that information falling within the scope of this request is provided as soon as possible in accordance with Regulation 5 of the Environmental Information Regulations 2004.

Important decisions are already being made in relation to HS2’s contracts. Access to the information sought necessary to enable: (a) informed public scrutiny of the current HS2 proposals and situation; and (b) members of the public to participate in the on-going decision- making process.

In the light of the above, I anticipate a response from you, providing the information sought, by (at the latest) c.o.b. on 11th August 2016.

Yours sincerely,

Joe Rukin

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

Dear Mr Rukin

Thank you for your email to HS2 Ltd. We are considering your request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 and aim to reply no later than 2 September 2016.

Your reference number for the request is FOI16-1552.

Kind regards

Piri Norris (Mr.) | Freedom of Information Adviser | HS2 Ltd 
Tel: 020 7944 4908 | [email address] | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn
High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, 19th Floor, One Canada Square, Canary Wharf, London E14 5AB | www.gov.uk/hs2

show quoted sections

Dear HS2Enquiries,

Further to my email sent last week, I have received a response, which may be automated, advising of an intention to respond by the 2nd September.

For the avoidance of doubt, please note that contrary to your response of the 28th July, I persist in the view that the Environmental Information Regulations do apply in respect of this request such that a response "as soon as possible" is required and the timetable I have suggested is wholly appropriate.

Yours faithfully,

Joe Rukin

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

3 Attachments

Dear Mr Rukin,

 

Please see the attached correspondence.

 

Kind regards,

Jane Ivey

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jane Ivey | Freedom of Information Manager | HS2 Ltd 

Tel: 020 7944 4908 | [1][email address] | [2]Facebook | [3]Twitter
| [4]LinkedIn

High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, One Canada Square, London E14 5AB  |
[5]www.gov.uk/hs2

 

 

 

Dear HS2 Ltd,

 

Further to your response to my request FOI16-1539 where you suggest for me
to refine my request,  I now ask for:

 

(a) any reports or assessment giving rise to Point 9 of the summary of the
the National Audit Office Report’s on HS2 of 28 June 2016 and paragraphs
1.12-1.13 and 3.8 of that Report; and

(b) the information upon which Philip Rutnam relied in making the
statement quoted in the previous letter about the costs and schedules as
part of Review Point 1 having a positive assessment  and his claim that:

 

“The message coming out of Review Point 1 was that the company was fit and
ready to proceed with the tenders; there was no doubt about that.”

 

As with the original request, I am concerned that this statement from the
Permanent Secretary is in direct contradiction with the statements
contained within the National Audit Office report.

 

Given that the the HS2 Bill is approaching its final stages, it is
essential that information falling within the scope of this request is
provided as soon as possible in accordance with Regulation 5 of the
Environmental Information Regulations 2004.

 

Important decisions are already being made in relation to HS2’s contracts.
Access to the information sought necessary to enable: (a) informed public
scrutiny of the current HS2 proposals and situation; and (b) members of
the public to participate in the on-going decision- making process.

 

In the light of the above, I anticipate a response from you, providing the
information sought, by (at the latest) c.o.b. on 11th August 2016.

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Joe Rukin

 

show quoted sections

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

4 Attachments

Dear Mr Rukin,

 

Please find attached our response to your request ref FOI16-1552.

 

Kind regards,

Jane Ivey

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jane Ivey | Freedom of Information Manager | HS2 Ltd 

Tel: 020 7944 4908 | [1][email address] | [2]Facebook | [3]Twitter
| [4]LinkedIn

High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, One Canada Square, London E14 5AB  |
[5]www.gov.uk/hs2

 

Dear HS2 Ltd,

 

Further to your response to my request FOI16-1539 where you suggest for me
to refine my request,  I now ask for:

 

(a) any reports or assessment giving rise to Point 9 of the summary of the
the National Audit Office Report’s on HS2 of 28 June 2016 and paragraphs
1.12-1.13 and 3.8 of that Report; and

(b) the information upon which Philip Rutnam relied in making the
statement quoted in the previous letter about the costs and schedules as
part of Review Point 1 having a positive assessment  and his claim that:

 

“The message coming out of Review Point 1 was that the company was fit and
ready to proceed with the tenders; there was no doubt about that.”

 

As with the original request, I am concerned that this statement from the
Permanent Secretary is in direct contradiction with the statements
contained within the National Audit Office report.

 

Given that the the HS2 Bill is approaching its final stages, it is
essential that information falling within the scope of this request is
provided as soon as possible in accordance with Regulation 5 of the
Environmental Information Regulations 2004.

 

Important decisions are already being made in relation to HS2’s contracts.
Access to the information sought necessary to enable: (a) informed public
scrutiny of the current HS2 proposals and situation; and (b) members of
the public to participate in the on-going decision- making process.

 

In the light of the above, I anticipate a response from you, providing the
information sought, by (at the latest) c.o.b. on 11th August 2016.

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Joe Rukin

 

show quoted sections

Dear High Speed Two (HS2) Limited,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of High Speed Two (HS2) Limited's handling of my FOI request 'Review Point 1'.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/r...

Yours faithfully,

Joe Rukin

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

Joe Rukin,

Thank you for your enquiry to HS2.

I have forwarded your email to our FOI Team.

Respectfully,

Charles F McMahon LLB Hons | HS2 Helpdesk | HS2 Ltd 
Tel: 020 7944 4908 | [email address] | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn
High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, One Canada Square, London E14 5AB  | www.gov.uk/hs2

show quoted sections

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

2 Attachments

Dear Mr Rukin,

 

Thank you for your email to HS2 Ltd regarding our response to your request
for information. We will treat your request for an internal review under
the terms of the Freedom of Information Act (2000). We aim to respond as
quickly as possible and within 20 working days (by 25 November).

 

Please note your reference number for the internal review is FOI16-1552R.

 

Kind regards,

Jane Ivey

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jane Ivey | Freedom of Information Manager | HS2 Ltd 

Tel: 020 7944 4908 | [1][email address] | [2]Facebook | [3]Twitter
| [4]LinkedIn

High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, One Canada Square, London E14 5AB  |
[5]www.gov.uk/hs2

 

show quoted sections

HS2Enquiries, High Speed Two (HS2) Limited

4 Attachments

Dear Mr Rukin,

 

Thank you for your email to HS2 Ltd. Your request for an internal review
was treated under the terms of the Freedom of Information Act (2000) and
attached is our response.

 

Kind regards

Jane Ivey

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jane Ivey | Freedom of Information Manager | HS2 Ltd 

Tel: 020 7944 4908 | [1][email address] | [2]Facebook | [3]Twitter
| [4]LinkedIn

High Speed Two (HS2) Limited, One Canada Square, London E14 5AB  |
[5]www.gov.uk/hs2

 

 

show quoted sections