Dear Sport England,

Please provide me Patrick Carter's review of the Picketts Lock project (Athletics centre for World Athletics Championship) commissioned by Sport England that was published possibly in 1987 or just prior, as referenced in Hansard at the following link:

https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/20...

Yours faithfully,

Philip Ridley

Dear Sport England,

The report was published 31 August 2001.

Yours faithfully,

Philip Ridley

FOI, Sport England

Please accept this email as confirmation that your message has been
received by Sport England’s FOI mailbox.

 

You will receive a full acknowledgement of your message within five
working days.

 

Thank you,

 

FOI Team

[1]Sport England

[2]This girl can
 

1st Floor, 21 Bloomsbury Street, London, WC1B 3HF

[3]Sport [4]Sport [5]Sport [6]Sport [7]Sport England Youtube
England Linked England England England Channel
In Twitter Facebook Instagram

 

 
We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [8]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [9]Erin Stephens

 

The information contained in this e-mail may be subject to public
disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Additionally, this
email and any attachment are confidential and intended solely for the use
of the individual to whom they are addressed. If you are not the intended
recipient, be advised that you have received this email and any attachment
in error, and that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or
copying, is strictly prohibited. If you voluntarily provide personal data
by email, Sport England will handle the data in accordance with its
Privacy Statement. Sport England’s Privacy Statement may be found here
https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta... If you have any queries
about Sport England’s handling of personal data you can contact Louise
Hartley, Sport England’s Data Protection Officer directly by emailing
[email address]

References

Visible links
1. http://www.sportengland.org/
2. http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk/
3. https://linkedin.com/company/sport-england
4. https://twitter.com/sport_england
5. https://facebook.com/sportengland
6. https://instagram.com/officialsportengla...
7. https://youtube.com/user/sportenglandfilm
8. https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta...
9. mailto:[email address]%3e

FOI, Sport England

Please accept this email as confirmation that your message has been
received by Sport England’s FOI mailbox.

 

You will receive a full acknowledgement of your message within five
working days.

 

Thank you,

 

FOI Team

[1]Sport England

[2]This girl can
 

1st Floor, 21 Bloomsbury Street, London, WC1B 3HF

[3]Sport [4]Sport [5]Sport [6]Sport [7]Sport England Youtube
England Linked England England England Channel
In Twitter Facebook Instagram

 

 
We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [8]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [9]Erin Stephens

 

The information contained in this e-mail may be subject to public
disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Additionally, this
email and any attachment are confidential and intended solely for the use
of the individual to whom they are addressed. If you are not the intended
recipient, be advised that you have received this email and any attachment
in error, and that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or
copying, is strictly prohibited. If you voluntarily provide personal data
by email, Sport England will handle the data in accordance with its
Privacy Statement. Sport England’s Privacy Statement may be found here
https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta... If you have any queries
about Sport England’s handling of personal data you can contact Louise
Hartley, Sport England’s Data Protection Officer directly by emailing
[email address]

References

Visible links
1. http://www.sportengland.org/
2. http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk/
3. https://linkedin.com/company/sport-england
4. https://twitter.com/sport_england
5. https://facebook.com/sportengland
6. https://instagram.com/officialsportengla...
7. https://youtube.com/user/sportenglandfilm
8. https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta...
9. mailto:[email address]%3e

FOI, Sport England

Dear Philip

 

Thank you for your email below in which you request a copy of Patrick
Carter’s review of the Picketts Lock Project. Your email was received on
18 November 2019 and has been passed to me as I am responsible for
responding to requests for information held by Sport England.

 

As a public body, Sport England is subject to the terms of the Freedom of
Information Act 2000 and we will handle your request in accordance with
the terms set out. We will provide you with our full response promptly and
usually within twenty working days. In some circumstances we may extend
this to allow us to consider the public interest; if this is necessary in
your case I will write to you again and explain why.

 

I will be in touch again in due course and in any event not later than 16
December 2019. In the meantime, please feel free to contact me if I can be
of any further assistance.

 

Kind regards

 

FOI Team

 

We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [1]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [2]Louise Hartley

 

From: Philip Ridley <[FOI #620950 email]>
Sent: Monday, November 18, 2019 12:20 PM
To: FOI <[Sport England request email]>
Subject: Freedom of Information request - Patrick Carter's review of the
Picketts Lock project

 

Dear Sport England,

Please provide me Patrick Carter's review of the Picketts Lock project
(Athletics centre for World Athletics Championship) commissioned by Sport
England that was published possibly in 1987 or just prior, as referenced
in Hansard at the following link:

[3]https://hansard.parliament.uk/Commons/20...

Yours faithfully,

Philip Ridley

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Please use this email address for all replies to this request:
[4][FOI #620950 email]

Is [5][Sport England request email] the wrong address for Freedom of Information
requests to Sport England? If so, please contact us using this form:
[6]https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/change_re...

Disclaimer: This message and any reply that you make will be published on
the internet. Our privacy and copyright policies:
[7]https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/offi...

For more detailed guidance on safely disclosing information, read the
latest advice from the ICO:
[8]https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/ico-...

Please note that in some cases publication of requests and responses will
be delayed.

If you find this service useful as an FOI officer, please ask your web
manager to link to us from your organisation's FOI page.

show quoted sections

Dear FOI,

Many thanks. My main interest is the work that was done around transportation, particularly but not only about the railway station that was proposed. The cherry on the cake would be the feasibility study for a railway station at Picketts Lock that was produced for Enfield Council by Peter Davidson Consultancy. I received an email from the consultancy confirming the report was produced and I would have thought that Patrick Carter will have had a copy of it. Below is a copy of the email from Peter Davidson Consultancy that I obtained.

The aim is to eventually lobby Crossrail 2 for a railway station at Picketts Lock, which would allow the athletic centre to thrive once the new rail line is installed.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Ridley

--------------------------------------------------

Dear Sirs,

On behalf of Peter Davidson Consultancy Ltd, I would like to make our position clear.

We were commissioned by the Council to undertake a study relating to the economic justification of Picketts Lock Station. We undertook this work, produced a report and delivered it to the Council in 1995. We are not responsible for holding the report on the Council's behalf.

Mr Ridley has approached us and asked for a copy of this report. We said we might be able to find it in our archives. To date, we have not been able to do so.

Yours faithfully,

Director

FOI, Sport England

Please accept this email as confirmation that your message has been
received by Sport England’s FOI mailbox.

 

You will receive a full acknowledgement of your message within five
working days.

 

Thank you,

 

FOI Team

[1]Sport England

[2]This girl can
 

1st Floor, 21 Bloomsbury Street, London, WC1B 3HF

[3]Sport [4]Sport [5]Sport [6]Sport [7]Sport England Youtube
England Linked England England England Channel
In Twitter Facebook Instagram

 

 
We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [8]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [9]Erin Stephens

 

The information contained in this e-mail may be subject to public
disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Additionally, this
email and any attachment are confidential and intended solely for the use
of the individual to whom they are addressed. If you are not the intended
recipient, be advised that you have received this email and any attachment
in error, and that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or
copying, is strictly prohibited. If you voluntarily provide personal data
by email, Sport England will handle the data in accordance with its
Privacy Statement. Sport England’s Privacy Statement may be found here
https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta... If you have any queries
about Sport England’s handling of personal data you can contact Louise
Hartley, Sport England’s Data Protection Officer directly by emailing
[email address]

References

Visible links
1. http://www.sportengland.org/
2. http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk/
3. https://linkedin.com/company/sport-england
4. https://twitter.com/sport_england
5. https://facebook.com/sportengland
6. https://instagram.com/officialsportengla...
7. https://youtube.com/user/sportenglandfilm
8. https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta...
9. mailto:[email address]%3e

FOI, Sport England

Dear Philip

 

I write further to our emails below about your request for information
about the Picket Lock’s project. We are handling your request under the
terms of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (The Act).

 

I am writing to let you know that we have applied a public interest
extension to your request for a copy of Patrick Carter’s review of the
Picketts Lock Project and some of the work that was done around
transportation at the time. We have taken this decision under section
10(3) of the Act which allows additional time to be added for
consideration of the public interest test in relation to one of the
qualified exemptions in the Act.

 

Sport England holds some information falling within the scope of your
request, but we consider it to be exempt from disclosure under section 41
of the Act as it was provided to Sport England in confidence. We will now
consider whether the balance of the public interest lies in maintaining
this exemption or disclosing the information. In determining the balance
of the public interest, we will be guided by the good practice
recommendations issued by the Information Commissioner’s Office.

 

Our final response will be sent to you not later than 20 January 2020.

 

Thank you for your patience.

 

Kind regards

 

Information Governance Team

We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [1]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [2]Louise Hartley

From: Philip Ridley <[FOI #620950 email]>
Sent: Wednesday, November 20, 2019 11:47 AM
To: FOI <[Sport England request email]>
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information request - Patrick Carter's review of
the Picketts Lock project

 

Dear FOI,

Many thanks. My main interest is the work that was done around
transportation, particularly but not only about the railway station that
was proposed. The cherry on the cake would be the feasibility study for a
railway station at Picketts Lock that was produced for Enfield Council by
Peter Davidson Consultancy. I received an email from the consultancy
confirming the report was produced and I would have thought that Patrick
Carter will have had a copy of it. Below is a copy of the email from Peter
Davidson Consultancy that I obtained.

The aim is to eventually lobby Crossrail 2 for a railway station at
Picketts Lock, which would allow the athletic centre to thrive once the
new rail line is installed.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Ridley

--------------------------------------------------

Dear Sirs,

On behalf of Peter Davidson Consultancy Ltd, I would like to make our
position clear.

We were commissioned by the Council to undertake a study relating to the
economic justification of Picketts Lock Station. We undertook this work,
produced a report and delivered it to the Council in 1995. We are not
responsible for holding the report on the Council's behalf.

Mr Ridley has approached us and asked for a copy of this report. We said
we might be able to find it in our archives. To date, we have not been
able to do so.

Yours faithfully,

Director

show quoted sections

Dear FOI,

Please note, regarding the public interest test, that the ICO has already determined, via Decision Notice [Ref. FS50755490] that Enfield Council should release the Peter Davidson report on the viability of a new train station at Picketts Lock. Reading this report should assist in your assessment of the public interest test. The reason the document was not released was because Enfield and the Consultancy claimed that they did not hold the document anymore due to the passing of time. I have included the text of the decision notice below, but you could also request the decision notice from the ICO.

What I will say is, that it is within Sport England's interest to release this information. It will be used by local groups in Edmonton to lobby for a railway station at Picketts Lock, which would serve the Picketts Lock Athletic Centre, which could subsequently be used more intensively and sustainably. This would create a direct rail link from the site to Hertfordshire and also to central London via Tottenham Hale and Stratford. The link to Stratford would, in particular, provide a fast connection between Picketts Lock Athletic Centre and the vast array of sporting facilities near Stratford at the Olympic Village.

Further, the train station would connect with a new Olympic capable surfing lake that is planned to be constructed at Picketts Lock by 2023 by The Wave: https://www.leevalleypark.org.uk/en/cont...

The site is also capable of even further sports facilities. For example, Enfield Council's Masterplan for the area proposed a ski-drome, hotel, gym and spa and the site was previously proposed for an ice scating centre. Prior to its demolition, Picketts Lock had Europes's largest leisure centre: https://new.enfield.gov.uk/services/plan...

Sports England may also as a result find it viable to use the site in the future for a major sporting event, such as a future World Athletic bid. From my research that bid was primarily dropped at the time due to a lack of sustainable transport options.

I would therefore urge Sports England to release as much information as possible, which will all be used by local groups to campaign for enhanced access to this great sporting facility and surrounding residential areas.

Please find the test of the related ICO decision below.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Ridley

----------------

Reference: FS50755490

Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA)
Environmental Information Regulations 2004 (EIR)

Decision Notice: Date: 14 May 2019

Public Authority: London Borough of Enfield

Complainant: Mr Philip Ridley

Decision (including any steps ordered)
1. The complainant has requested a report that he believes was provided to the London Borough of Enfield in or around 1995. The Council says it does not hold the requested information.
2. The Commissioner’s decision is that the public authority does not hold the requested information. The Commissioner also finds that the request fell to be considered under the EIR, therefore the Council ought to have cited the exception at regulation 12(4)(a). She does not require any steps to be taken.

Request and response

3. On 13 June 2018 the complainant requested the following information from the Council:
“Please provide a copy of the document that contains the feasibility study for a potential Picketts Lock Railway Station, produced by Peter Davidson Consultancy for Enfield Council circa 1995 and any associated documents and correspondence you still hold on the matter.”

4. The Council responded to the request on 2 July 2018, stating that it did not hold the requested information. The complainant requested an internal review, and, following the Commissioner’s intervention, the Council provided him with the outcome of that review on 3 October 20198. The Council maintained that it did not hold the requested information, and further stated that it was under no duty to contact third parties in search of the requested information. Scope of the case

5. The complainant remained dissatisfied following the outcome of the internal review. He maintained that the information was held and ought to be disclosed to him.

Reasons for decision. Access regime

6. The Council’s position is that it does not hold the requested information. Therefore, the question of access regime may be academic rather than practical. However, the procedural requirements of the FOIA and the EIR do contain some differences, so the Commissioner considers it important that the public authority identify the correct regime at the outset.

7. In this case the Council responded to the request under the FOIA. Having regard to the wording of the request, the Commissioner notes that the requested information relates to a proposed or potential railway station, which is likely to constitute environmental information within the meaning of regulation 2(1)(c) of the EIR. This is because such a project would be an activity or measure affecting or likely to affect the elements and factors of the environment. Consequently, the Commissioner finds that the request fell to be considered under the EIR rather than the FOIA.

Regulation 12(4)(a): information not held

8. Regulation 12(4)(a) of the EIR provides an exception to the duty to make environmental information available to the extent that the public authority does not hold the requested information.

9. In cases where there is a dispute as to the information held by a public authority, the Commissioner will use the civil standard of proof, ie the balance of probabilities. Accordingly her investigation will consider the
public authority’s reasons for stating that it does not hold the information in question, as well as the extent and reasonableness of any search conducted. The Commissioner will also consider any arguments put forward by the complainant as to why the information is held (as opposed to why it ought to be held). Finally, the Commissioner will consider whether there are any further steps she could require the public authority to take if the complaint were upheld.

10. In this case the complainant asserted that the requested information must be held by the third party, Peter Davidson Consultancy, who produced it for the Council.

11. The Council claimed in its internal review letter that it was not obliged to contact a third party in respect of requested information. However the Commissioner drew the Council’s attention to regulation 3(2) of the EIR, which provides that environmental information is held by a public authority if it is in the authority’s possession and was produced or received by the authority, or if it is held by another person on behalf of
the authority. Accordingly, if Peter Davidson Consultancy did hold the information then it would be held on behalf of the Council and would therefore fall within the scope of the EIR. The Commissioner considered that it would be extremely difficult for the Council to maintain that it did not hold the requested information without contacting Peter Davidson Consultancy.

12. Following the Commissioner’s intervention the Council sought and obtained written confirmation from Peter Davidson Consultancy that it had searched its records but had not located the requested information.
Peter Davidson Consultancy concluded that it did not hold the requested information at the time of the request.

13. The Commissioner also asked the Council to explain how it was satisfied that it did not physically hold the requested information. The Council confirmed that it had conducted searches of departmental records but had been unable to find the requested information.

14. The Commissioner asked the Council to clarify its retention policy for records such as the requested information. The Council advised that it was currently updating its retention policy, but that under its previous retention policy project documentation such as this would only be retained for 2 years after the end of the project. Therefore the Council estimated that, if the requested information was created around 1995, it would have been destroyed around 1997 and would be unlikely to be held in 2018.

15. The Commissioner has considered the Council’s explanation of its position, and the information provided by the complainant. The Commissioner is of the opinion that it is reasonably likely that the requested information was produced by Peter Davidson Consultancy and provided to the Council in or around 1995. However, the Commissioner can only investigate whether or not information is held by a public authority at the time of the request. In this case the Council has searched its own records and has contacted Peter Davidson Consultancy, who have also searched their records. The Commissioner is
satisfied that these searches would have identified the requested information, if it were held by either party at the time of the request.

16. In addition, the Commissioner is unable to identify any further action that the Council could reasonably be expected to take in order to comply with the request. As has been set out above, if information is not held then it cannot be disclosed in response to a request. In conclusion, the Commissioner finds, on the balance of probabilities, that the Council does not hold the requested information.

17. Either party has the right to appeal against this decision notice to the First-tier Tribunal (Information Rights).

18. If you wish to appeal against a decision notice, you can obtain information on how to appeal along with the relevant forms from the Information Tribunal website.

19. Any Notice of Appeal should be served on the Tribunal within 28 (calendar) days of the date on which this decision notice is sent.

Signed
Sarah O’Cathain
Senior Case Officer
Information Commissioner’s Office
Wycliffe House
Water Lane
Wilmslow
Cheshire
SK9 5AF

FOI, Sport England

Please accept this email as confirmation that your message has been
received by Sport England’s FOI mailbox.

 

You will receive a full acknowledgement of your message within five
working days.

 

Thank you,

 

FOI Team

[1]Sport England

[2]This girl can
 

1st Floor, 21 Bloomsbury Street, London, WC1B 3HF

[3]Sport [4]Sport [5]Sport [6]Sport [7]Sport England Youtube
England Linked England England England Channel
In Twitter Facebook Instagram

 

 
We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [8]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [9]Erin Stephens

 

The information contained in this e-mail may be subject to public
disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Additionally, this
email and any attachment are confidential and intended solely for the use
of the individual to whom they are addressed. If you are not the intended
recipient, be advised that you have received this email and any attachment
in error, and that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or
copying, is strictly prohibited. If you voluntarily provide personal data
by email, Sport England will handle the data in accordance with its
Privacy Statement. Sport England’s Privacy Statement may be found here
https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta... If you have any queries
about Sport England’s handling of personal data you can contact Louise
Hartley, Sport England’s Data Protection Officer directly by emailing
[email address]

References

Visible links
1. http://www.sportengland.org/
2. http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk/
3. https://linkedin.com/company/sport-england
4. https://twitter.com/sport_england
5. https://facebook.com/sportengland
6. https://instagram.com/officialsportengla...
7. https://youtube.com/user/sportenglandfilm
8. https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta...
9. mailto:[email address]%3e

Dear Sport England,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Sport England's handling of my FOI request 'Patrick Carter's review of the Picketts Lock project'. due to the delays in responding if no response can be made the next week.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/p...

Yours faithfully,

Philip Ridley

FOI, Sport England

Please accept this email as confirmation that your message has been
received by Sport England’s FOI mailbox.

 

You will receive a full acknowledgement of your message within five
working days.

 

Thank you,

 

FOI Team

[1]Sport England

[2]This girl can
 

1st Floor, 21 Bloomsbury Street, London, WC1B 3HF

[3]Sport [4]Sport [5]Sport [6]Sport [7]Sport England Youtube
England Linked England England England Channel
In Twitter Facebook Instagram

 

 
We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [8]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [9]Erin Stephens

 

The information contained in this e-mail may be subject to public
disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Additionally, this
email and any attachment are confidential and intended solely for the use
of the individual to whom they are addressed. If you are not the intended
recipient, be advised that you have received this email and any attachment
in error, and that any use, dissemination, forwarding, printing, or
copying, is strictly prohibited. If you voluntarily provide personal data
by email, Sport England will handle the data in accordance with its
Privacy Statement. Sport England’s Privacy Statement may be found here
https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta... If you have any queries
about Sport England’s handling of personal data you can contact Louise
Hartley, Sport England’s Data Protection Officer directly by emailing
[email address]

References

Visible links
1. http://www.sportengland.org/
2. http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk/
3. https://linkedin.com/company/sport-england
4. https://twitter.com/sport_england
5. https://facebook.com/sportengland
6. https://instagram.com/officialsportengla...
7. https://youtube.com/user/sportenglandfilm
8. https://www.sportengland.org/privacy-sta...
9. mailto:[email address]%3e

FOI, Sport England

2 Attachments

Dear Phillip

 

I write further to your recent request and our emails since then. As your
request is about information relating to the potential development of
land, we have considered it under the terms of the Environmental
Information Regulations 2004 (the EI Regulations) and our response is set
out below.

 

We have given further consideration to your request and are satisfied that
the public interest in releasing the information outweighs the public
interest in not disclosing this information.

 

I am therefore pleased to provide you with a copy of Patrick Carter's
review of the Pickett’s Lock project. We do not hold a copy of the
feasibility study for a railway station at Picketts Lock that was produced
for Enfield Council by Peter Davidson Consultancy or any transport
assessment. However we have located some documents relating to work that
was done around transportation and have attached them for your
information. We hope that this is helpful to you. 

 

As you can see, we have redacted names, job titles, email addresses and
telephone numbers and all personal information from the documents released
because we consider this information to be exempt from disclosure under
regulation 12(3) and regulation 13 of the EI Regulations. The names and
direct email addresses of our external partners and our non-senior,
non-public facing staff constitutes personal data as defined by the
General Data Protection Regulation. Our external partners and staff have a
reasonable expectation of privacy and would not expect us to make
information about their working lives public. As such, disclosure of this
information would not be fair and in direct contravention of the first
data protection principle.

 

This completes our response to your information request.

 

In reaching our decision we have consulted the relevant guidance issued by
the Information Commissioner’s Office and available on its website at
[1]www.ico.org.uk

 

As a public body, Sport England is subject to the terms of the EI
Regulations 2004 and this means you are entitled to complain if you are
unhappy with the way we have handled your information request and/or ask
us to review our decision.

 

If you would like to complain about the way we have handled your request
or ask for our decision to be reviewed please contact:
[2][Sport England request email] 

 

Please describe your original request, explain your grounds for
dissatisfaction and include an address for correspondence. All internal
reviews are carried out by a colleague who has not previously been
involved in the handling of your information request. We aim to complete
internal reviews within twenty working days.

 

If you are not content with the outcome of our Internal Review you have
the right to appeal to the Information Commissioner. Generally speaking
the Information Commissioner will not be able to consider an appeal unless
you have first exhausted the Internal Review procedure provided by Sport
England.

 

The Information Commissioner can be contacted at:

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 5AF

[3]www.ico.org.uk

 

 

Kind regards,

 

FOI Team

 

We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [4]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [5]Louise Hartley

 

From: FOI <[Sport England request email]>
Sent: Monday, December 16, 2019 11:07 AM
To: Philip Ridley <[FOI #620950 email]>; FOI
<[Sport England request email]>
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information request - Patrick Carter's review of
the Picketts Lock project

 

Dear Philip

 

I write further to our emails below about your request for information
about the Picket Lock’s project. We are handling your request under the
terms of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (The Act).

 

I am writing to let you know that we have applied a public interest
extension to your request for a copy of Patrick Carter’s review of the
Picketts Lock Project and some of the work that was done around
transportation at the time. We have taken this decision under section
10(3) of the Act which allows additional time to be added for
consideration of the public interest test in relation to one of the
qualified exemptions in the Act.

 

Sport England holds some information falling within the scope of your
request, but we consider it to be exempt from disclosure under section 41
of the Act as it was provided to Sport England in confidence. We will now
consider whether the balance of the public interest lies in maintaining
this exemption or disclosing the information. In determining the balance
of the public interest, we will be guided by the good practice
recommendations issued by the Information Commissioner’s Office.

 

Our final response will be sent to you not later than 20 January 2020.

 

Thank you for your patience.

 

Kind regards

 

Information Governance Team

We have updated our Privacy Statement to reflect the recent changes to
data protection law but rest assured, we will continue looking after your
personal data just as carefully as we always have. Our Privacy Statement
is published on our [6]website, and our Data Protection Officer can be
contacted by emailing [7]Louise Hartley

From: Philip Ridley <[8][FOI #620950 email]>
Sent: Wednesday, November 20, 2019 11:47 AM
To: FOI <[9][Sport England request email]>
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information request - Patrick Carter's review of
the Picketts Lock project

 

Dear FOI,

Many thanks. My main interest is the work that was done around
transportation, particularly but not only about the railway station that
was proposed. The cherry on the cake would be the feasibility study for a
railway station at Picketts Lock that was produced for Enfield Council by
Peter Davidson Consultancy. I received an email from the consultancy
confirming the report was produced and I would have thought that Patrick
Carter will have had a copy of it. Below is a copy of the email from Peter
Davidson Consultancy that I obtained.

The aim is to eventually lobby Crossrail 2 for a railway station at
Picketts Lock, which would allow the athletic centre to thrive once the
new rail line is installed.

Yours sincerely,

Philip Ridley

--------------------------------------------------

Dear Sirs,

On behalf of Peter Davidson Consultancy Ltd, I would like to make our
position clear.

We were commissioned by the Council to undertake a study relating to the
economic justification of Picketts Lock Station. We undertook this work,
produced a report and delivered it to the Council in 1995. We are not
responsible for holding the report on the Council's behalf.

Mr Ridley has approached us and asked for a copy of this report. We said
we might be able to find it in our archives. To date, we have not been
able to do so.

Yours faithfully,

Director

show quoted sections