Outstanding internal reviews

J Taylor made this Freedom of Information request to Transport for London

This request has been closed to new correspondence. Contact us if you think it should be reopened.

The request was successful.

Dear Transport for London,

Please provide details of internal reviews which have not yet been completed, following a request for an internal review under the Freedom of Information Act or the Environmental Information Regulations.

I would like the following details:

- the date on which the request for internal review was received
- the subject matter of the request
- the date on which the internal review was due to be completed
- the date on which the internal review is expected to be completed

Yours faithfully,

J Taylor

FOI, Transport for London

Dear Mr Taylor

 

Our Ref:         FOI-1181-1617

 

Thank you for your e-mail received on 19 September 2016 asking for
information about internal reviews.

 

Your request will be processed in accordance with the requirements of the
Freedom of Information Act and TfL’s information access policy. 

 

A response will be provided to you by 17 October 2016. We publish a
substantial range of information on our website on subjects including
operational performance, contracts, expenditure, journey data, governance
and our financial performance. This includes data which is frequently
asked for in FOI requests or other public queries. Please check
[1]http://www.tfl.gov.uk/corporate/transpar... to see if this helps you.

 

In the meantime, if you would like to discuss this matter further, please
feel free to contact me.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Gemma Jacob

FOI Case Officer

FOI Case Management Team

General Counsel

Transport for London

 

[2][TfL request email]

 

 

show quoted sections

Dear FOI,

I believe that the response to my request is now overdue. Please can you respond as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

J Taylor

FOI, Transport for London

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Taylor

 

Our Ref:         FOI-1181-1617

 

Thank you for your e-mail received on 19 September 2016 asking for 
information about internal reviews.

 

Your request has been considered in accordance with the requirements of
the Freedom of Information Act and our information access policy.

 

As we are currently reviewing your response we have not been able to
resolve your request within the statutory 20 working day.

 

I hope to be able to provide a response in the near future. Please accept
my apologies for this delay.

 

In the meantime, if you have any queries relating to your request, please
do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Please see the attached information sheet for details of your right to
appeal.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Gemma Jacob

FOI Case Officer

FOI Case Management Team

General Counsel

Transport for London

 

[1][TfL request email]

 

 

show quoted sections

Dear Transport for London,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Transport for London's handling of my FOI request 'Outstanding internal reviews'.

My request was submitted on 17 September and I have not received a response within the statutory period as set out in the FOI Act. I would like an internal review of the reasons for the delay and for the lack of a substantive response.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/o...

Yours faithfully,

J Taylor

FOI, Transport for London

Dear Mr Taylor

 

TfL Ref:          IRV-083-1617

 

Thank you for your request for an internal review which was received on 10
November 2016.

 

You have stated that you are dissatisfied with the handling of your
request for information under the Freedom of Information Act.

 

The review will be conducted by an internal review panel in accordance
with TfL’s Internal Review Procedure, which is available via the following
URL:

 

[1]http://content.tfl.gov.uk/internal-revie...

 

Every effort will be made to provide you with a response by 9 December
2016. However, if the review will not be completed by this date, we will
contact you and notify you of the revised response date as soon as
possible.

 

In the meantime, if you would like to discuss this matter further, please
feel free to contact me.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Gemma Jacob

FOI Case Officer

FOI Case Management Team

General Counsel

Transport for London

 

[2][TfL request email]

 

 

 

 

show quoted sections

M Clary left an annotation ()

We're getting into "you couldn't make it up territory" here. Now they'll take several weeks trying to decide whether your request for an internal review into internal reviews should be listed amongst the internal reviews.

Dear FOI,

It is now more than 1 month since 9 December, which you indicated would be the date of your response.

I would be grateful for a response by 20 January 2017, after which date I will be contacting the Information Commissioner to complain about a breach of s10 of the FOIA.

Yours sincerely,

J Taylor

FOI, Transport for London

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Taylor

       

Our Ref:         FOI-1181-1617

 

Thank you for your e-mail received on 19 September 2016 asking for
information about internal reviews.

 

Your request has been considered in accordance with the requirements of
the Freedom of Information Act and our information access policy. I can
confirm we hold some of the information you require.

 

There were 21 open internal review requests as of the date of your
request, sixteen of these reviews have now been closed. Please find the
requested details in the  table below.

 

Subject matter of request Date review received TfL target date Status
Employment related matter 09/11/2015 04/01/2016 Open 
raised by employee
Issue relating to the
operation of the LoHAC 17/12/2015 16/02/2016 Closed
contract
Issue relating to the
operation of the LoHAC 03/02/2016 04/03/2016 Closed
contract
Issue relating to the
operation of the LoHAC 01/03/2016 29/03/2016 Open 
contract
Request for correspondence
held in connection with a FOI 08/03/2016 09/05/2016 Closed
request
Information held in connection
with a Taxi and Private Hire 14/06/2016 13/07/2016 Closed
compliance investigation
Taxi licence-holder data for
the years ending in 2015 and 18/07/2016 16/08/2016 Closed
2016 with sector and ethnicity
breakdowns.
Information about the filming 25/07/2016 23/08/2016 Closed
of Rogue One
Former bus schedules for
routes:  20 29 34 377 382 397
444 w13 w14 w15 w16 n29 657 27/07/2016 25/08/2016 Closed
123 629  from 2015 right back
to 2006/2007
Copy of any email
correspondence between Senior 25/07/2016 23/08/2016  Open
Management and any Uber
representative
All complaints against the
minicab operator Uber, along
with any action taken and any 25/07/2016 23/08/2016  Open
correspondence between
yourselves and the operator.
Illegal positive
discrimination or positive 01/08/2016 30/08/2016 Closed
action in the Taxi trade
Advertisment and recruitment
to posts in the Information 02/08/2016 31/08/2016 Closed
Management department
Information about bus stops
used by all rail replacement
services representing the 10/08/2016 08/09/2016  Open
London Overground,  London
Underground and Docklands
Light Railway networks
The source data in a
geographic format (e.g. ESRI 05/09/2016 03/10/2016 Closed
shapefile) used to create the
'London Connections map'.
The number of bus drivers who
hold a TfL issued 'Bus
Operator' Oyster Pass (ie
employed as a bus driver on a 05/09/2016 03/10/2016 Closed
TfL route) who also hold a TfL
issued Private Hire Driver
Licence
Hourly entrance and exit
figures made by
oyster/contactless payment for
Surbiton station on a
representative weekday on 08/09/2016 06/10/2016 Closed
which you have data or can
easily calculate results
without breaching the cost
limit.
Employment related matter 08/09/2016 06/10/2016 Closed
Legal advice relating to 09/09/2016 07/10/2016 Closed
Northern Line Extension
Full itemised accounts of all
expenditure on the Garden 13/09/2016 11/10/2016 Closed
Bridge by TfL and the Garden
Bridge Trust
Information held relating to a
consultation about changes to 15/09/2016 13/10/2016 Closed
bus route 200.

 

We are currently investigating all outstanding internal reviews and will
provide a response to these as soon as possible. We do not hold
information on when the internal review is expected to be completed,
although it is expected all will closed within the next 15 working days.

 

If this is not the information you are looking for, or if you are unable
to access it for some reason, please feel free to contact me.

 

Please see the attached information sheet for details of your right to
appeal as well as information on copyright and what to do if you would
like to re-use any of the information we have disclosed.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Simon Guild

FOI Case Management Team

General Counsel

Transport for London

 

[1][TfL request email]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

 

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[TfL request email]
2. http://www.tfl.gov.uk/corporate/about-tfl/

Deniz O left an annotation ()

Wow, at least TfL replied to you. It's been 3 months since my FOI request and I have yet still not got an answer, they don't even reply to my internal reviews. So now I have actually gone to the ICO to complain.

FOI, Transport for London

Dear Mr Taylor

 

TfL Ref:          IRV-083-1617

 

I am contacting you regarding the internal review of your request for
information about incomplete internal reviews.

 

This review has been carried out by an independent panel following your
e-mail of 10 November 2016 regarding the delay in providing a response to
your Freedom of Information request. The panel apologise for the delay in
answering your request for internal review.

 

The panel has looked into the handling of your request and it is clear
that in failing to provide you with a response within 20 working days, TfL
has breached the requirements of section 10 of the FOI Act, and on behalf
of TfL, please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings in the
handling of your request.

 

Due to the large volume of requests we have received as well as staffing
issues - which have now been resolved, there has been a backlog in the
processing of internal reviews. In addition, we were not able to extract
the data requested as easily as first thought.

 

The matter was escalated to the Information Access Manager and a response
was provided to you on 20 January 2017. However we do not consider that
this necessarily represents the end of the internal review process. We
consider that it would be appropriate in the context of this request to
offer you a further internal review of the content of the response to
FOI-1181-1617 if you choose, even though you have already exercised your
right to a review in view of our failure to provide a timely response.

 

Therefore, if you are not satisfied with the final response that we have
provided to FOI-1181-1617 please contact [1][TfL request email].

 

If you are dissatisfied with the internal review actions to date
(IRV-083-1617) you can refer the matter to the independent authority
responsible for enforcing the Freedom of Information Act, at the following
address:

 

Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire SK9 5AF

 

A complaint form is also available on the ICO’s website
([2]www.ico.org.uk).

 

Yours sincerely

 

Gemma Jacob

FOI Case Officer

FOI Case Management Team

General Counsel

Transport for London

 

[3][TfL request email]

 

 

 

 

show quoted sections