Ofsted Inspection Judgements

The request was successful.

Feargal Hogan

Dear Office for Standards in Education,

For the academic years 2009-2010 and 2010-2011, can you please provide the following data for each inspected school
in England:
a) URN
b) Establishment Name
c) Date of Last Inspection
d) Overall Inspection Grade Achieved

The data should preferably be provided as an Excel spreadsheet that is not password protected in any way.

Should it be easier/cheaper to provide more data (for instance a
list of ALL inspections) or data in a different distribution format
(sql, csv, mdb, etc), that would be perfectly acceptable.

If the data is incomplete, please provide what data you do hold.

Many thanks

Yours faithfully,

Feargal Hogan

Sally Hall (Information Access), Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Hogan,

Please find attached our acknowledgement for your request for information.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any queries.

Yours sincerely

Sally Hall
Information Access Administrator
Ofsted
Tel: 0117 94 56230

show quoted sections

Zara Yates-Vanhorne, Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills

1 Attachment

Dear Feargal

Please find attached an FOI response letter and dataset.

If you have further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Zara

Zara Yates-Vanhorne

Analyst

Inspection Data and Insight

Strategy Directorate

E-mail: [email address]

Tel: 03000130176

show quoted sections

Feargal Hogan left an annotation ()

Herewith plain-text version of letter minus some acceptable future-publishing exempotions claimed

Thank you for your email of 10 May 2011 sent through the Whatdotheyknow website in which you requested the following information:

“For the academic years 2009-2010 and 2010-2011, can you please provide the following data for each inspected school in England:

URN
Establishment Name
Date of Last Inspection
Overall Inspection Grade Achieved”

The Freedom of Information Act

We have dealt with your request in accordance with the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act 2000.

The first requirement of the Act is for Ofsted to confirm whether it holds information of the description provided in your request. I can confirm that Ofsted holds the inspection outcomes for maintained schools inspected in the academic year 2009-10 and 2010–11 to date.

Official statistics about the outcomes of maintained school inspections for the period between 1 January 2011 and 8 April 2011 will be published on 15 June 2011. Therefore the outcomes of inspections carried out in this period are exempt until publication occurs. This decision is explained below.

The inspection judgements for the autumn term 2010 and for the academic year 2009 - 10 can be found by following the links below. These spreadsheets provide a comprehensive record of all judgments made on all section 5 maintained school inspections.

Autumn 2010

http://www.ofsted.gov.uk/Ofsted-home/Pub...

2009/10

http://www.ofsted.gov.uk/Ofsted-home/Pub...

If you have any problems accessing this data then please let me know and I will be happy to talk you through the process.

The section below explains our position around schools inspected since January 2011. However, all inspection reports are published on our website at www.ofsted.gov.uk and you may find this a useful source of information.

Feargal Hogan

Dear Zara Yates-Vanhorne,

Many thanks for your reply and the links supplied to your current published datasets. With regard to your exemption claim for future publishing, I accept fully your position on this.

Unfortunately the reply and the datasets pointed to, don't address the crux of my request on a number of very crucial points.

1) The links you supplied point to zip archives which contain Excel spreadsheets with a huge quantity of irrelevant info
2) Each spreadsheet is divided up into a different sheet for each school type, which makes the data extremely difficult to access, and further
3) Each spreadsheet is PASSWORD PROTECTED which prevents me from reformatting the data into a format which is usable for my purposes.

I really am looking for a single very simple dataset of
a) URN
b) Establishment Name
c) Date of Last Inspection
d) Overall Inspection Grade Achieved

It must NOT be password protected.
It should contain details of ALL schools (not separate datasets for each school type)
And I would prefer if it didn't contain all the subsidiary judgements of the inspectors. Just the main headline 1, 2, 3 or 4 judgement.

Is that possible?

Yours sincerely,

Feargal Hogan

Zara Yates-Vanhorne, Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills

Dear Feargal,

Thank you for your FOI response query. It is possible to contact you via telephone to discuss your query in more detail? If that is okay with you, please can you provide a telephone contact number?

Many thanks.

Kind regards,
Zara

Zara Yates-Vanhorne
Analyst
Inspection Data and Insight
Strategy Directorate
E-mail: [email address]
Tel: 03000130176

show quoted sections

Feargal Hogan left an annotation ()

I've just had a telephone conversation with the Ofsted respondent who made clear that Ofsted would not release the password to these password protected Excel files that they linked to above.

I have made clear that it is unacceptable to release information in this manner and have asked that it be supplied in an alternate format

Michael Taylor, Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Hogan

We were unaware that the links provided in our original response of 3 June
would not meet your specific requirements. The data you have requested is
now provided to you in the attached spreadsheet.

The inspection judgements for Maintained schools for the Autumn term
2010/11 and Inspection judgements for Maintained schools for 2009/10 are
protected to ensure that the data cannot be edited on the online document.
This means that the user can read only but they are not prevented from
copying and pasting to a new workbook and manipulate data. Publications
from previous years; 2008/09, 2007/08 and 2006/07 are not protected which
enabled the user to edit and manipulate the data within the workbook.

I hope you find this data more useful

Regards

Mike

Mike Taylor
Inspection Insight Senior Analyst
OFSTED
Aviation House
125 Kingsway
WC2b 6NH

Tel: 03000130918
email: [email address]

show quoted sections

Michael Taylor, Office for Standards in Education, Children’s Services and Skills

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Hogan

We were unaware that the links provided in our original response of 3 June
would not meet your specific requirements. The data you have requested is
now provided to you in the attached spreadsheet.

The inspection judgements for Maintained schools for the Autumn term
2010/11 and Inspection judgements for Maintained schools for 2009/10 are
protected to ensure that the data cannot be edited on the online document.
This means that the user can read only but they are not prevented from
copying and pasting to a new workbook and manipulate data. Publications
from previous years; 2008/09, 2007/08 and 2006/07 are not protected which
enabled the user to edit and manipulate the data within the workbook.

I hope you find this data more useful

Regards

Mike

Mike Taylor
Inspection Insight Senior Analyst
OFSTED
Aviation House
125 Kingsway
WC2b 6NH

Tel: 03000130918
email: [email address]

show quoted sections

Feargal Hogan

Dear Michael Taylor,

Many thanks

Thats perfect.

Yours sincerely,

Feargal Hogan

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org