Number of complaints

Brenda Prentice made this Freedom of Information request to Health and Care Professions Council

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

The request was partially successful.

Dear Health and Care Professions Council,

Please tell me how many complaints over all have been brought to HCPC since it's inception in August 2012.

Please break these down into categories such as i.e. social service workers.

How many complaints have been about the service of HCPC?

How many have been up held at review?

How long does a complaint take to resolve?

Yours faithfully,

Brenda Prentice

FOI, Health and Care Professions Council

Dear Ms Prentice

 

Thank you for your email of 17 November 2017, in which you ask for the
total number of complaints received since August 2012.

 

We are treating this as a request under the Freedom of Information Act
2000 (FOIA).

 

We will deal with your request as promptly as possible and, at the latest,
within 20 working days as required by the FOIA. If you have any queries
about your request please do contact us using this email address, or the
address below.

 

The reference number for your request is FR05398.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Maxine Pryce

Information Governance Officer

 

Health and Care Professions Council

Park House, 184 Kennington Park Road

London SE11 4BU

[1]www.hcpc-uk.org

 

To sign up to our e-newsletter, please email [2][email address]

 

Please consider the environment before printing this email

 

Correspondence is welcome in English or Welsh / Gallwch ohebu yn Gymraeg
neu Saesneg.

 

 

 

show quoted sections

J Roberts left an annotation ()

Some interested in the HCPC might like to read this recent First-tier Tribunal decision. It concerns a woman who wanted information about a fitness to practice investigation. The investigation related to the paramedic who treated her husband (her husband died). The ICO did not uphold the woman's complaint and agreed that section 40(2) was applicable:

"24. Considering the nature of the withheld information ie that it relates to serious allegations about the professional competence of the healthcare professional concerned, the Commissioner is satisfied that its disclosure would be detrimental to the healthcare professional. This is the case even though the information records that there was no case to answer."

https://ico.org.uk/media/action-weve-tak...

The Tribunal took a different view:

Any registered person engaging with the Investigating Committee Panel does so on the basis that complainants will be given at least the essence of the reasons why, if it turns out to be the case, no case to answer is found by the panel. There is no suggestion that this has, or would, impede the second respondent’s [HCPC] functions. In particular, there is no suggestion that registered persons, such as P, would be less likely to engage with the second respondent [HCPC], in these circumstances. Indeed, it is clearly in a registrant’s interest to engage in the process that may ultimately determine whether they can continue to practise their profession.

http://informationrights.decisions.tribu...

Brenda Prentice left an annotation ()

Thank you for that. I am collecting information for the book I will be writing. It will have a chapter on HCPC, NMC, GMC, HealthWatch and so on. As it will tell only the truth, there is nothing that can stop me. It will follow on from my previous book Andrew Story which is now out of date and not available as far as I know. It might take a little while but I am collecting......

J Roberts left an annotation ()

I look forward to reading your book. Good luck! The more I read about all the regulatory bodies the more pessimistic I become. Just one thing I wish to clarify - the appellant was not the victim's wife.

Brenda Prentice left an annotation ()

It's how the HCPC work that's important for the public. To be told no public interest in some situations where most normal people may not agree, is perverse.

Is it down to policies, the wording in the act, or what, we don't know, but it does go against natural justice.

FOI, Health and Care Professions Council

Our Ref. FR05398

 

 

Dear Ms Prentice

 

Thank you for your email of 17 November 2017, in which you ask for the
total number of complaints received since August 2012.

 

Your request has been handled under the Freedom of Information Act 2000
(FOIA).

 

Please tell me how many complaints over all have been brought to HCPC
since it's inception in August 2012.

Please break these down into categories such as i.e.  social service
workers.

 

This information is available in the fitness to practise annual reports
available on our website at
[1]http://www.hcpc-uk.org/publications/repo...). They provide details of
the number of complaints received and give a breakdown for each
profession.

 

How many complaints have been about the service of HCPC?

 

From August 2012 up to and including September 2017, we received 2,823
complaints about HCPC.

 

How many have been up held at review?

 

We only hold information from October 2016 (this is because we changed the
way that we reported on complaints). We upheld 123 of 469 complaints in
the time period October 2016 to September 2017.

 

How long does a complaint take to resolve?

 

We aim to respond to complaints about the service of HCPC, within 15
working days. During our last reporting period, we met this target 88% of
the time. More information can be found in our latest review of feedback
and complaints available on our website at
[2]http://www.hcpc-uk.org/assets/documents/....

 

 

Internal review

 

If you are unhappy with the way your request for information has been
handled, you can request a review by writing to:

 

Secretariat Department

Health and Care Professions Council

Park House

184 Kennington Park Road

London

SE11 4BU

 

Email: [3][email address]

 

If you remain dissatisfied with the handling of your request or complaint,
you have the right to appeal to the Information Commissioner at:

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK0 5AF

 

Telephone: 0303 123 1113  Website: [4]www.ico.org.uk

 

There is no charge for making an appeal.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Freedom of Information Team

 

Health and Care Professions Council

Park House, 184 Kennington Park Road

London SE11 4BU

[5]www.hcpc-uk.org

 

To sign up to our e-newsletter, please email [6][email address]

 

Please consider the environment before printing this email

 

Correspondence is welcome in English or Welsh / Gallwch ohebu yn Gymraeg
neu Saesneg.

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Dear Health and Care Professions Council,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Health and Care Professions Council's handling of my FOI request 'Number of complaints'.

This is because I have not received all the information I have asked for. There may have been changes but the information should still be available.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/n...

Yours faithfully,

Brenda Prentice

FOI, Health and Care Professions Council

Dear Ms Prentice

 

Thank you for your email dated 9 December 2017, the contents of which have
been noted.

 

As you are unhappy with our response to your request for information of 17
November 2017, your request has been escalated for an internal review and
as such has now been passed to The Director of Council and Committee
Services.

 

We aim to respond to your internal review as soon as possible, and in any
case within 20 working days of receiving your request.

 

The reference number for your request is FR05425.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Freedom of Information Team

 

Health and Care Professions Council

Park House, 184 Kennington Park Road

London SE11 4BU

[1]www.hcpc-uk.org

 

To sign up to our e-newsletter, please email [2][email address]

 

Please consider the environment before printing this email

 

Correspondence is welcome in English or Welsh / Gallwch ohebu yn Gymraeg
neu Saesneg.

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Claire Amor, Health and Care Professions Council

Dear Ms Prentice

 

I write in response to your request for a review of the HCPC’s response to
the freedom of information request you made. A member of the senior
management team undertakes all internal review requests, in accordance
with HCPC policy.

 

Original request

 

Your request dated 17 November 2017, asked for the total number of
complaints the HCPC has received since August 2012.

 

We provided you with answers to all your questions. For your question
about the number of complaints about the service of the HCPC that have
been upheld at review, our response was that we only hold information from
October 2016. We further explained that this is because we changed the way
that we reported on complaints.

 

Internal review

 

Having considered the HCPC’s response to you, I can see that we should
have explained that the information you seek is held by the HCPC. However,
prior to October 2016 we do not hold this information in an easily
accessible format. To locate the information would require us to examine
each individual complaint received from August 2012 to October 2016 and
our responses to ascertain if the complaint had been upheld. This would
exceed the cost limit under Section 12 of the Freedom of Information Act
2000 (FOIA), that being £450, which is charged at £25 per hour for
employee time (a total of 18 hours).

 

We estimate to review each complaint would take 10 minutes per complaint.
Between August 2012 and October 2016 we received 2,354 complaints. 2,354
multiplied by 10 minutes equates to 392 hours, therefore exceeding the
cost limit.

 

The cost of collating the data would exceed the cost limits under FOIA and
would place disproportionate burden on the HCPC’s resources. For this
reason we refuse your request.

 

Review of response

 

Should you wish, you may request that the Information Commissioner reviews
this response. Please contact-

 

Information Commissioner's Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 5AF

 

[1]https://ico.org.uk/

 

There is no charge for making an appeal,

 

Yours sincerely

 

Claire Amor
Governance Manager

The Health and Care Professions Council
Park House, 184 Kennington Park Road, London SE11 4BU
[2]www.hcpc-uk.org

Follow us on [3]Facebook, [4]Linkedin, [5]Twitter and [6]YouTube.
Sign up to the [7]HCPC e-newsletter

Please consider the environment before printing this email

Correspondence is welcome in English or Welsh / Gallwch ohebu yn Gymraeg
neu Saesneg.

 

Information classification and handling: “Unrestricted” – data does not
require special handling or safeguards.

The material transmitted in this email is intended only for the person or
legal entity to whom it is addressed and may contain confidential and
privileged information. It may not be used or disclosed except for the
purpose for which it has been sent. If you are not the addressee or have
received this email in error please notify the sender and do not read,
print, re-transmit, store or act in reliance on the material in this
email.

show quoted sections

References

Visible links
1. https://ico.org.uk/
2. http://www.hcpc-uk.org/
3. http://www.facebook.com/hcpcuk
4. http://www.linkedin.com/company/the-heal...
5. http://www.twitter.com/the_hcpc
6. http://www.youtube.com/HCPCuk
7. http://www.hcpc-uk.org/publications/news...

Dear Claire Amor,

Please tell me if your Maxine Price will be receiving more training in dealing with FOI questions?

Yours sincerely,

Brenda Prentice