Dear Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea,

Please provide a copy of your records relating to noise complaints in respect of any properties that the Council own and/or rent in Russell Gardens W14.

Please provide information in respect of the last 3 years.

Please provide the response in electronic form.

Yours faithfully,

Peter C. Bell

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Information request
Our reference: 3348202

show quoted sections

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

1 Attachment

Information request
Our reference: 3348202

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Peter Bell
 
Thank you for your request for information received on 4 May 2020.
 
Please find attached our response to your request.
 

If you are dissatisfied with your response please send your Internal
Review request to the email address below

[1][RBKC request email]

 
Yours faithfully
 
 
Information Management Team
 
NOTE: Please do not edit the subject line when replying to this email.
 

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[RBKC request email]

Dear Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea's handling of my FOI request 'Noise complaints Russell Gardens'.

Your response states that no noise complaints were recorded for the relevant properties in the last 3 years.

I have been made aware that a noise complaint was made on 6 November 2019 and acknowledged by RBKC on 7 November 2019 and a further complaint was made on 1 February 2020 and acknowledged by RBKC on 12 March 2020.

Could I please ask you to reconsider your response to my FOI?

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/n...

Yours faithfully,

Peter C. Bell

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Information request
Our reference: 3348202

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Peter Bell
 
Thank you for your request for a review received on 22 June 2020. I am
sorry that you are dissatisfied with our attempts to handle your request
under the Environmental Information Regulations 2004.
 
I can confirm that we are considering your concerns and we will aim to
provide you with a response by 20 July 2020.
 
Yours faithfully
 
 
Information Management Team
 
NOTE: Please do not edit the subject line when replying to this email.
 

Dear Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea,

Just wondering how your internal review is coming along?

You initially responded to say that you had NO noise complaints logged for any properties in Russell Gardens in the last 3 years.

I provided you with dates of two confirmed complaints for relevant properties in that time frame.

Do you have any records of other complaints? I am presuming you do actually keep records which can identify particular properties?

My original request was made on 2 May 2020. I propose to make a complaint to the ICO if I do not hear from you by close of business tomorrow, Tuesday 21 July 2020.

Yours sincerely,

Peter C. Bell

Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Dear Peter Bell,

Thank you for your email. We do apologise for the time it is taking to respond to your internal review.

Would you be able to confirm what addresses are logged against the complaint dates you provided? It would help in retrieving all requested information. Once this is received, we shall be able to provide a response to you.

Your help is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Information Management Team

show quoted sections

Dear Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC,

The information that I have from the Land Registry is as follows:

Title Number : NGL672015
Address of Property : Flat B, 3 Russell Gardens, London (W14 8EZ)
Price Stated : £470,000
Registered Owner(s) : The Mayor and Burgesses of The Royal Borough of
Kensington and Chelsea of Town Hall, Hornton Street,
London W8 7NX.

I am not sure whether RBKC owns any other properties in Russell Gardens.
Surely RBKC has an index of properties that they own and/or lease in the Borough?

Can you not just search your noise records for the postcode?

Yours sincerely,

Peter C. Bell

Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Dear Peter Bell,

Thank you for confirming the address. The issue is that some of the properties are recorded differently within the Housing Management system (Flat A, Flat B, Flat C, Flat D) from the ones on the Environmental Health system (Ground Floor Flat, First Floor Flat, Second Floor Flat) and we, therefore, are unable to say if the properties we have complaints logged against are council owned or rented.

However, we should be able to provide number, date and nature of the noise complaints reported in the area (W14 8EZ) within the last three years. Please can you confirm if you wish to proceed?

Kind regards

Information Management Team

show quoted sections

Dear Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC,

Yes, please - if you could provide the details that you have recorded for properties in that postcode area i.e. Russell Gardens W14 8EZ.

Yours sincerely,

Peter C. Bell

Dear Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC,

Perhaps if I CLARIFY my request, this will assist you in locating the relevant information? Perhaps if I add the clarifying words "in the immediate vicinity of or in respect of any property that is located near to or adjacent to", this will help your searches and remove your difficulty in distinguishing between flat A and Ground floor flat?

So my clarified request would read:

Dear Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea,

Please provide a copy of your records relating to noise complaints in the immediate vicinity of or in respect of any property that is located near to or adjacent to any properties that the Council own and/or rent in Russell Gardens W14.

Please provide information in respect of the last 3 years.

Please provide the response in electronic form.

Yours faithfully,

Peter C. Bell

Dear Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC,

Since I have not received an acknowledgment of my last message sent on 28 July 2020, nor had a response to my confirmation message sent on 22 July 2020, I am proposing to refer this matter to the ICO as a complaint that RBKC has failed to comply with the law (Environmental Information Regulations 2004).

I shall be asking the ICO to direct RBKC to provide the information requested by me on 2 May 2020.

I regret that it is necessary for me to do this.

Yours sincerely,

Peter C. Bell

Peter C. Bell left an annotation ()

Formal complaint to ICO submitted

Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Dear Peter Bell,

Thank you for your email.

I am sorry you did not receive an acknowledgment to your email or response to your confirmation message. The Environmental Health team have been chased and the information will be provided as soon as possible.

Kind regards,

Information Management Team

show quoted sections

Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

1 Attachment

Good afternoon Mr Bell,

Please see attached response in regards to your clarified Freedom of Information request dated 28th July which we hope is satisfactory.

We will also be providing the remaining information under references 3717734 and 3717733 in due course.

Kind regards

Information Management Team

show quoted sections

Dear Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC,

Thank you for the information provided to date.

However, the information appears to be incomplete as the last entry is dated 8 December 2019 and I have already advised you that I am aware that a complaint was made on 1 February 2020 and acknowledged by RBKC on 12 March 2020.

Could you therefore please provide a copy of the missing records from the 8 December 2019 up until the date of my request?

Yours sincerely,

Peter C. Bell

Freedom of Information: CP-ICT: RBKC, Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Bell,

We do apologise for this. The spreadsheet attached has now been amended to show noise complaints received this year up to the date of your request.

Kind regards

Information Management Team

show quoted sections