Inspection of Islington Childrens Homes by Croydon

Waiting for an internal review by Croydon Borough Council of their handling of this request.

Dear Croydon Borough Council,

In the "Supplementary report for the London Borough of Islington on the management of child care within the neighbourhood services Dept " by Cassam and McAndrew 1994
it mentions that it was decided to undertake an independent inspection of all Islington childrens homes by the inspection unit of croydon. Could you provide under FOI, a copy of this report?

The "Supplementary report for the London Borough of Islington on the management of child care within the neighbourhood services Dept " is on this link
https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/2...

Yours faithfully,

Ann McNeil

Freedom of Information, Croydon Borough Council

 

Dear Ms McNeil

 

Freedom of Information Request

 

Thank you for your recent request.

 

Your request is being considered and you will receive a response within
the statutory timescale of 20 working days, subject to the application of
any exemptions. Where consideration is being given to exemptions the 20
working day timescale may be extended to a period considered reasonable
depending on the nature and circumstances of your request. In such cases
you will be notified and, where possible, a revised time-scale will be
indicated. In all cases we shall attempt to deal with your request at the
earliest opportunity.

 

There may be a fee payable for the retrieval, collation and provision of
the information requested where the request exceeds the statutory limit or
where disbursements exceed £450. In such cases you will be informed in
writing and your request will be suspended until we receive payment from
you or your request is modified and/or reduced.

 

Your request may require either full or partial transfer to another public
authority. You will be informed if your request is transferred.

 

If we are unable to provide you with the information requested we will
notify you of this together with the reason(s) why and details of how you
may appeal (if appropriate).

 

Please note that the directorate team may contact you for further
information where we believe that the request is not significantly clear
for us to respond fully.

 

 

Yours sincerely

 

Ahtisham Riaz

FOI Co-ordinator

Croydon Council

 

Information in relation to the London Borough of Croydon is available
at [1]http://www.croydonobservatory.org/. Also responses to previous
Freedom of Information requests can also be found on the following link

[2]https://croydondata.wordpress.com/

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Council services, online, 24/7 www.croydon.gov.uk/myaccount Download our
new free My Croydon app for a faster, smarter and better way to report
local issues www.croydon.gov.uk/app

From 1 October 2015, it is a legal requirement for all privately rented
properties in Croydon to be licensed. Landlords without a licence could
face fines of up to £20,000. For more information and to apply for a
licence visit www.croydon.gov.uk/betterplacetorent

Please use this web site address to view the council's e-mail disclaimer -
http://www.croydon.gov.uk/email-disclaimer

References

Visible links
1. http://www.croydonobservatory.org/
2. https://croydondata.wordpress.com/

Freedom of Information, Croydon Borough Council

1 Attachment

Dear Ms McNeil 

Freedom of Information Request

Please see attached the council's response to your Freedom of Information
request.

Yours sincerely

 

Ahtisham Riaz

FOI Coordinator

Croydon Council

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Council services, online, 24/7 www.croydon.gov.uk/myaccount Download our
new free My Croydon app for a faster, smarter and better way to report
local issues www.croydon.gov.uk/app

From 1 October 2015, it is a legal requirement for all privately rented
properties in Croydon to be licensed. Landlords without a licence could
face fines of up to £20,000. For more information and to apply for a
licence visit www.croydon.gov.uk/betterplacetorent

Please use this web site address to view the council's e-mail disclaimer -
http://www.croydon.gov.uk/email-disclaimer

Dear Freedom of Information,

Thankyou. In order for me to understand this, please could you explain how records and reports of this age and type are kept and at which locations . Why are records not kept so that items such as this can be found?

Yours sincerely,

Ann McNeil

Information, Croydon Borough Council

Dear Ms McNeil,

Just as an update, please be advised that the below query is being treated as a review request by our Legal department who will get back to you once this is complete.

Kind regards,
Information Team.

ICT Client Unit (ICU)
Customer Transformation and Communications Services
Information Team
Resources Department
7th Floor, Zone B
Bernard Weatherill House
8 Mint Walk
Croydon CR0 1EA

show quoted sections

Passman, Howard, Croydon Borough Council

Dear Ms. McNeil,

 

Thank you for your letter dated 17 January 2017 in which is being treated
as a request for an Internal Review of the Council’s response to your
request for information.

I will be conducting the Internal Review and will endeavour to provide a
response within the statutory timescales; that is no later than 22
February 2017.  However, if for any reason there is a need to extend the
time for the review I will contact you before that date.

 

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Howard Passman

Legal Services

 

Resources Department

7th Floor, Zone C

Bernard Weatherill House

8 Mint Walk

Croydon

Surrey

CR0 1EA

020 8726 6000 ext. 62318

 

 

Dear Passman, Howard,

Unfortunately I have not had a reply as promised no later than 22
February 2017.

Yours sincerely,

Ann McNeil

Passman, Howard, Croydon Borough Council

1 Attachment

Dear Ms McNeil,

 

Further to your email dated 18 January 2017, in which you requested an
Internal Review of the Council’s response to your request for information,
I have now concluded this review and I am able to reply as follows.

 

Please accept my apologies for the delay in replying to, I was
unexpectedly away from the office.

 

In your request for an Internal review you asked the Council to reconsider
your request as you had not been provided with the information that you
requested.  

In your request for information by e-mail dated 6 November 2016 you
requested the following information:

 

“In the "Supplementary report for the London Borough of Islington on the
management of child care within the neighbourhood services Dept" by Cassam
and McAndrew 1994 it mentions that it was decided to undertake an 
independent inspection of all Islington children’s homes by the inspection
unit of Croydon. Could you provide under FOI, a copy of this report?

 

The "Supplementary report for the London Borough of Islington on the
management of child care within the neighbourhood services Dept " is on
this link
[1]www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/262999/response/674053/attach/9/CASSAM%20McANDREW%20SUPPLEMENTARY%20REPORT%20ON%20NEIGHBOURHOOD%20SERVICES%20DEPT%20MARCH%2094.pdf”

 

The Council responded to you on 14 December 2016, informing you that it to
review all of the records held would information would require manually
searching records held in a number of different locations and that this
would exceed  the “appropriate limit” for the amount of time the Council
needs to spend undertaking that search. As it was estimated the time taken
to locate, retrieve and extract the information requested will exceed the
appropriate limit, then under Section 12 of the Act, the Council was not
obliged to comply with that request.

 

In your request for an Internal Review dated, 18 January 2017, you stated
that:  “…In order for me to understand this, please could you explain how
records and reports of this age and type are kept and at which locations.
Why are records not kept so that items such as this can be found?”

 

On receiving your request for an Internal Review, I made further enquiries
of the Director of Children Family Intervention and Children’s Social
Care, to confirm what information is held and how it is stored.  

 

I have been informed that the Council’s Inspection Unit was disbanded some
considerable time ago.  The current records the service is responsible for
relate to current and historical child care and safeguarding matters. 
These files are indexed against individual children’s records with a case
number and reference held electronically. The requested information may be
held within historical records which have been inherited from the
disbanded Inspection Unit. In order to confirm whether or not the
requested information is held would require a review of all of these
records, which are held off site and consist of a large number of manual
records.

 

The Council considers that to undertake the review of the records held to
firstly confirm whether or not the requested information is held, would
exceed the appropriate limit. Locating this information would involve
manually searching records held in a number of different locations. The
Freedom of Information (Fees and Appropriate Limit) Regulations 2004
specifies an “appropriate limit” for the amount of time the council needs
to spend undertaking that search. The Council estimates that the time
taken to locate, retrieve and extract the information requested will
exceed the appropriate limit; the appropriate limit currently specified by
the Regulations for local authorities is £450. This represents the
estimated cost of one person spending two and a half working days in
locating, retrieving and extracting the information from where it is
stored.  The Council estimate that the cumulative time it would take to
retrieve the complete records you are seeking would exceed the appropriate
limit. Therefore, the Council is unable to provide you with the
information you have requested.

 

If you are not content with the outcome of the Internal Review, you have
the right to apply directly to the Information Commissioner for a
decision. The Information Commissioner can be contacted at:

 

Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire SK9 5AF

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Howard Passman

Legal Services

[2]cid:995D36CC-63D9-452C-921A-47E295D9BC0F

Resources Department
7th Floor, Zone C

Bernard Weatherill House

8 Mint Walk

Croydon

Surrey

CR0 1EA

020 8726 6000 ext. 62318

 

References

Visible links
1. https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/2...

Dear Howard Passman
Thank you for your reply which included
" I have been informed that the Council’s Inspection Unit was disbanded some
considerable time ago. The current records the service is responsible for
relate to current and historical child care and safeguarding matters.
These files are indexed against individual children’s records with a case
number and reference held electronically. The requested information may be
held within historical records which have been inherited from the
disbanded Inspection Unit. In order to confirm whether or not the
requested information is held would require a review of all of these
records, which are held off site and consist of a large number of manual
records."

An independent inspection of Islington's records is presumably not going to be kept in a Croydon Councils childs individual record, so these do not need to be searched.

When was the Croydon Inspection Unit disbanded and for what years does it hold records?
Is there an index of these records either digitised or otherwise?
How many boxes of information does Croydon Council hold from your disbanded Inspection Unit?
Why was the unit disbanded, who took on the duty for inspection?

Yours sincerely,

Ann McNeil

Freedom of Information, Croydon Borough Council

 

Dear Ms McNeil

 

Freedom of Information Request

 

Thank you for your recent request.

 

Your request is being considered and you will receive a response within
the statutory timescale of 20 working days, subject to the application of
any exemptions. Where consideration is being given to exemptions the 20
working day timescale may be extended to a period considered reasonable
depending on the nature and circumstances of your request. In such cases
you will be notified and, where possible, a revised time-scale will be
indicated. In all cases we shall attempt to deal with your request at the
earliest opportunity.

 

There may be a fee payable for the retrieval, collation and provision of
the information requested where the request exceeds the statutory limit or
where disbursements exceed £450. In such cases you will be informed in
writing and your request will be suspended until we receive payment from
you or your request is modified and/or reduced.

 

Your request may require either full or partial transfer to another public
authority. You will be informed if your request is transferred.

 

If we are unable to provide you with the information requested we will
notify you of this together with the reason(s) why and details of how you
may appeal (if appropriate).

 

Please note that the directorate team may contact you for further
information where we believe that the request is not significantly clear
for us to respond fully.

 

 

Yours sincerely

 

Joanne Welch-Hall

FOI Co-ordinator

Croydon Council

 

Information in relation to the London Borough of Croydon is available
at [1]http://www.croydonobservatory.org/. Also responses to previous
Freedom of Information requests can also be found on the following link

[2]https://croydondata.wordpress.com/

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Council services, online, 24/7 www.croydon.gov.uk/myaccount Download our
new free My Croydon app for a faster, smarter and better way to report
local issues www.croydon.gov.uk/app

From 1 October 2015, it is a legal requirement for all privately rented
properties in Croydon to be licensed. Landlords without a licence could
face fines of up to £20,000. For more information and to apply for a
licence visit www.croydon.gov.uk/betterplacetorent

Please use this web site address to view the council's e-mail disclaimer -
http://www.croydon.gov.uk/email-disclaimer

References

Visible links
1. http://www.croydonobservatory.org/
2. https://croydondata.wordpress.com/

Dear Freedom of Information,

I have looked for the answer to this request and there does not appear to be one yet?

Yours sincerely,

Ann McNeil

Information, Croydon Borough Council

Dear

I would like to apologise for the delay in sending your Freedom of Information request response.

We are currently awaiting information from other departments and will of course, let you know as soon as we have the information.

Feel free to email should you require any further information.

Kind regards.

Jo

Jo Welch-Hall
Information Support Officer
Croydon Council
 
 

ICT Client Unit (ICU)
Customer Transformation and Communications Services
Information Team
Resources Department
7th Floor, Zone B
Bernard Weatherill House
8 Mint Walk
Croydon CR0 1EA

For Subject Access Request queries please email - [email address]
For Freedom of Information Request queries please email - [email address]

show quoted sections

Freedom Of Information, Croydon Borough Council

1 Attachment

Dear Ms McNeil

Please see attached the Councils response to your Freedom of Information
request.

Kind regards.

Lynda Fay

Coordinator

Information Team

Council services, online, 24/7 www.croydon.gov.uk/myaccount Download our
new free My Croydon app for a faster, smarter and better way to report
local issues www.croydon.gov.uk/app From 1 October 2015, it is a legal
requirement for all privately rented properties in Croydon to be licensed.
Landlords without a licence could face fines of up to £20,000. For more
information and to apply for a licence visit
www.croydon.gov.uk/betterplacetorent Please use this web site address to
view the council's e-mail disclaimer -
http://www.croydon.gov.uk/email-disclaimer

Dear Freedom Of Information,

Could you therefore tell me what audit there is, who is carrying it out , when it started and will finish and when i will receive a substantive reply

Yours sincerely,

Ann McNeil

Dear Freedom Of Information,
Has the audit been carried out yet?
When did the audit finish?
What was the purpose of the audit ?
Who ordered the audit?

Please answer these questions with information from the audit
I enclose previous answer for your benefit
“When was the Croydon Inspection Unit disbanded and for what years does it hold records?
Is there an index of these records either digitised or otherwise?
How many boxes of information does Croydon Council hold from your disbanded Inspection Unit?
Why was the unit disbanded, who took on the duty for inspection?”

We hold no records that will confirm when the inspection service was disbanded, however we believe it to be in 2002. There is currently an audit being carried out and until this is complete we are not able to provide this information."

Yours sincerely,

Ann McNeil

Freedom of Information, Croydon Borough Council

 

Dear Ms McNeil

 

Freedom of Information Request

 

Thank you for your recent request.

 

Your request is being considered and you will receive a response within
the statutory timescale of 20 working days, subject to the application of
any exemptions. Where consideration is being given to exemptions the 20
working day timescale may be extended to a period considered reasonable
depending on the nature and circumstances of your request. In such cases
you will be notified and, where possible, a revised time-scale will be
indicated. In all cases we shall attempt to deal with your request at the
earliest opportunity.

 

There may be a fee payable for the retrieval, collation and provision of
the information requested where the request exceeds the statutory limit or
where disbursements exceed £450. In such cases you will be informed in
writing and your request will be suspended until we receive payment from
you or your request is modified and/or reduced.

 

Your request may require either full or partial transfer to another public
authority. You will be informed if your request is transferred.

 

If we are unable to provide you with the information requested we will
notify you of this together with the reason(s) why and details of how you
may appeal (if appropriate).

 

Please note that the directorate team may contact you for further
information where we believe that the request is not significantly clear
for us to respond fully.

 

 

Yours sincerely

 

Joanne Welch-Hall

FOI Co-ordinator

Croydon Council

 

Information in relation to the London Borough of Croydon is available
at [1]http://www.croydonobservatory.org/. Also responses to previous
Freedom of Information requests can also be found on the following link

[2]https://croydondata.wordpress.com/ Council services, online, 24/7
www.croydon.gov.uk/myaccount Download our new free My Croydon app for a
faster, smarter and better way to report local issues
www.croydon.gov.uk/app From 1 October 2015, it is a legal requirement for
all privately rented properties in Croydon to be licensed. Landlords
without a licence could face fines of up to £20,000. For more information
and to apply for a licence visit www.croydon.gov.uk/betterplacetorent
Please use this web site address to view the council's e-mail disclaimer -
http://www.croydon.gov.uk/email-disclaimer

References

Visible links
1. http://www.croydonobservatory.org/
2. https://croydondata.wordpress.com/

Freedom of Information, Croydon Borough Council

1 Attachment

Dear Ms McNeil

 

Freedom of Information Request

Please see attached the council's response to your Freedom of Information
request.

Yours sincerely

 

Ahtisham Riaz

FOI Coordinator

Croydon Council

 

Council services, online, 24/7 www.croydon.gov.uk/myaccount Download our
new free My Croydon app for a faster, smarter and better way to report
local issues www.croydon.gov.uk/app From 1 October 2015, it is a legal
requirement for all privately rented properties in Croydon to be licensed.
Landlords without a licence could face fines of up to £20,000. For more
information and to apply for a licence visit
www.croydon.gov.uk/betterplacetorent Please use this web site address to
view the council's e-mail disclaimer -
http://www.croydon.gov.uk/email-disclaimer

Dear Croydon Borough Council,
Please can you send me the inventory of the files previously discussed

Yours faithfully,

Ann McNeil

Dear Croydon Borough Council,

Please can you send me the inventory of the files previously discussed by 10 May or I shall have no choice but to inform the ICO's office

Yours faithfully,

Ann McNeil

Information, Croydon Borough Council

1 Attachment

Dear Mr McNeil

 

Please see attached the Councils response to you Freedom of Information
request.

 

Kind regards

 

Ash Riaz

Information Coordinator

ICT Client Unit (ICU)

Customer Transformation and Communications Services

Information Team

Resources Department

7^th Floor, Zone B

Bernard Weatherill House

8 Mint Walk

Croydon, CR0 1EA

 

show quoted sections

Dear Croydon Borough Council,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Croydon Borough Council's handling of my FOI request 'Inspection of Islington Childrens Homes by Croydon'.

I have asked for an inventory , please could you supply the inventory of the records audited so far. You appear to have ignored this question of supplying the inventory

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/i...

Yours faithfully,

Ann McNeil

Dear Croydon Borough Council,

Can you tell me when i get the internal review?

Yours faithfully,

Ann McNeil

Dear Croydon Borough Council,

The internal review is overdue, if you do not reply by 10 October have no other recourse but to report Croyson to the ICO

Yours faithfully,

Ann McNeil

FOI, Croydon Borough Council

Dear Ms McNeil,

Please can you inform us of that date you submitted a request for an internal review, as our system is not showing this.

Kind Regards

Information Management
Croydon Council

Digital Council of the Year

ICT Client Unit (ICU)
Customer Transformation and Communications Services
Information Team
Resources Department
7th Floor, Zone B
Bernard Weatherill House
8, Mint Walk
Croydon, CR0 1EA

show quoted sections

Dear Croydon Borough Council,
Internal review requested 10th Jun.
You also had follow up requests, 17th July and 7 October
You can check
https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/i...
if your own system is not up to standard

Yours faithfully,

Ann McNeil

S Downes left an annotation ()

Ms McNeil. What a saga. I wonder if I can get in contact with you about this?

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org