Inspection number 281827

Fiona Watts made this Freedom of Information request to Office for Standards in Education, Children's Services and Skills

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

Dear Office for Standards in Education,

RE: INSPECTION NO:281827 SUFFOLK LEA
URN: 124856

In respect of Freedom Of Information Act, OFSTED’s assistance is sought to confirm the following data;

Between 23rd March and 24th March 2006, King Edward VI School, IP33 3BN was inspected by HMILI Officers.

The Headteacher was invited to point OFSTED towards those lessons which demonstrated the style of teaching in which he wishes his school to progress. This was the feedback from the Reporting Inspector following a visit to one of selected teacher's Year 10 Citizenship lesson in "G Block".

1.How many teachers did the Head direct OFSTED to during the 2006 inspection?

2. Please confirm which subject lessons OFSTED were invited to review as a beacon of good teaching and learning?

3. How many years or weeks had those “selected” teachers been in their jobs?

4. Did OFSTED check their status or whether they were on a cover contract or registered to an outside agency at the time?

5. Please outline the ratio of male to female staff who OFSTED were directed to observe by the Head?

5. According to two administrative staff; one newly employed female teacher received the most positive feedback from parents following a questionnaire sent out by the Board of Governors.

6. Is OFSTED able to verify the sex, taught subject or how long that teacher had been employed for at the time?

When OFSTED returned to the school in 2009, did the inspectors check whether those staff who had been pointed out as a "beacon of progress" were still employed by Suffolk Local Education Authority?

Yours faithfully,

Fiona Watts

Karon Crew, Office for Standards in Education, Children's Services and Skills

1 Attachment

Dear Ms Watts

 

Please find attached a response to your request for information.

Regards

Karon

Karon Crew
Information Delivery Officer
Ofsted
Freshford House
Redcliffe Way
Bristol
BS1 6NL

Direct T 0300 013 1294

 

*************************************************************************************************
Please consider the environment before printing this email

show quoted sections

You can now register and subscribe for tailored Ofsted updates. Visit
www.ofsted.gov.uk/user to register

*************************************************************************************************

Dear Office for Standards in Education,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Office for Standards in Education's handling of my FOI request 'Inspection number 281827'.

Please could OFSTED review the FOI requests that have been made to King Edward VI School. The FOI requests relate to that period when OFSTED inspected the school.

Was a male teacher subject to appropriate checks by the school when he was employed a few weeks before OFSTED's visit in 2004?

Please will OFSTED review whether it reviewed the Child Protection procedures and the legitimacy of their employment checks in Inspection Number 282827.

*It seems that the male teacher was texting Year 9 students during the OFSTED inspection in March 2006.

At the 2006 inspection, why did OFSTED fail to identify a male teacher recently employed by this school after losing his previous employment due to the same offence towards young girls?

Why did OFSTED fail to conduct an enquiry when this issues was brought to its attention a few years ago?

Why am I pursuing these issues?
*I resigned from teaching in 2008 only to discover in 2012 that the teaching assistant that I had lodged Child Welfare complaints against for nearly two years, is now in a new job and serving as a police officer.

This incident has now brought me into conflict with the police and I am forced to leave this area that I tried to make "home".

As part of your Internal Review, I ask OFSTED to review those FOI requests that the school has failed to comply with. This request is made in respect of the fact that these FOI requests relate to the time of OFSTED'S visit in March 2006.

A) https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/o...
B) https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/w...
C) https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/m...
D) https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/s...
E) https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/s...
F) https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/t...

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/i...

Yours faithfully,

Fiona Watts

InformationRequest, Office for Standards in Education, Children's Services and Skills

Dear Ms Watts,

Thank you for your email.

Before we take your request forward, we ask that you please clarify what it is you are expecting from Ofsted in response to your email.

Although you have asked for an internal review of Ofsted's handling of your FOI request (in which Ofsted explained that the information required to answer your questions is no longer held), you have followed that by asking that Ofsted review the responses provided to you by the school. Please can you therefore clarify whether you are asking Ofsted to review its own response to you, or to review the school's responses?

If it is Ofsted's response you would like reviewed, we will take that request forward once we have received your clarification. If you are concerned about the way in which the school has responded to your Freedom of Information requests, you should first address this with the school and then the Information Commissioner. Ofsted is unable to carry out an 'internal review' of the school's responses to your FOI requests.

If, instead, it was your intention to raise concerns about the school or Ofsted's actions in relation to the school, details of how to do so can be found here:

Complaints about a school: https://www.gov.uk/complain-about-school

Complaints about Ofsted: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisati...

If you wish to raise more general enquiries about the inspection, this can be done through [email address].

I hope this information is of assistance to you in clarifying your intentions. Once we have received clarification from you, we will proceed accordingly.

Yours sincerely,

Elizabeth Banks
Information Delivery Specialist
Ofsted

*************************************************************************************************
Please consider the environment before printing this email

show quoted sections

You can now register and subscribe for tailored Ofsted updates. Visit www.ofsted.gov.uk/user to register

*************************************************************************************************

Dear InformationRequest,

Thank you for your reply.

I consider the data issue as follows;

OFSTED conducted an inspection of a school in March 2006.

According to another FOI report, a male teacher that was employed a few weeks before the OFSTED inspection had apparently lost his previous teaching post job due to unsuitable behaviour towards female students.

Therefore I am perplexed as to how this same teacher got a job at King Edward VI School? How did his previous actions towards female students slip under the "radar" of checks by the school and the OFSTED inspection in March 2006?

Yours sincerely,

Fiona Watts

Paul Brooker, Office for Standards in Education, Children's Services and Skills

Dear Ms Watts

 

I am responding to your latest request for information, which you
submitted to Ofsted on 3 March 2015. The inquiry relates to the inspection
of King Edward VI Church of England Voluntary Controlled Upper School,
Bury St Edmunds, undertaken in March 2006.

You ask explicitly how specific actions of a member of staff were not
picked up by inspectors.

 

As communicated in Ofsted’s previous responses on 20 June 2014, inspection
evidence forms are only retained for six months after

the date an inspection report is published and then destroyed in line with
our file retention policy. It is therefore not possible to ascertain
whether the specific actions of a member of staff, irrespective of the
appropriateness or otherwise of these actions, were noted or evaluated
during the course of the inspection.

 

The published report states unequivocally that ‘procedures for
safeguarding learners meet current government requirements’ and that ‘the
requirements for child protection are in place and health and safety
procedures are effective’.

 

If you would like clarification on any aspect of the inspection process
then do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Paul Brooker HMI

Senior HMI

Ofsted

East of England Region

 

03000131045

 

*************************************************************************************************
Please consider the environment before printing this email

show quoted sections

You can now register and subscribe for tailored Ofsted updates. Visit
www.ofsted.gov.uk/user to register

*************************************************************************************************

Dear Paul Brooker,

Thank you for your response which seems to deftly side-line from the Child Welfare remit of this FOI.

The Headteacher said this about OFSTED's visit in 2006;

"Ofsted last visited us here at King Edward's in March 2006. A team of five spent five days here and described us as a good school. We half agreed, but thought they missed out on some essential features of our work."

http://www.nationaleducationtrust.net/Sh...

Yes, your response and this link confirms that OFSTED did seem to miss out on many features.

Concern:
How did a teacher keep his job during an OFSTED inspection when the teacher had already come under the radar of the authorities after texting young school girls at his previous school?

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/m...

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/w...

But as we listen to the news posts about Child Welfare - we know that there is a lack of genuine OFSTED procedure in place for identifying risks to students.

Yours sincerely,

Fiona Watts

Paul Brooker, Office for Standards in Education, Children's Services and Skills

Dear Fiona

The welfare and safety of pupils is Ofsted's absolute priority, and we are continually looking to sharpen our inspection practice in this regard. I am not seeking to side-step any issue of child welfare, but I cannot comment on anything for which I have no evidence.

Paul Brooker

show quoted sections