How to complain

Alan Smith made this Freedom of Information request to Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

Response to this request is long overdue. By law, under all circumstances, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman should have responded by now (details). You can complain by requesting an internal review.

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

How does someone complain about the PHSO and its handling of a complaint? What is the complaints process?addresses?etc

Yours faithfully,

Alan Smith

foiofficer@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

foiofficer, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

3 Attachments

Dear Mr Smith

 

Thank you for your email and request for information regarding how to
complain about the PHSO and its handling of a complaint.

 

Our website contains information about how you can give us feedback about
the way we dealt with you and your complaint. This information can be
found here:
[1]http://www.ombudsman.org.uk/make-a-compl...

 

As you will see, our website sets out what you need to do if you think we
made the wrong decision.

 

Should you require further details about this process, you can call our
Customer Care team on 0345 015 4033 (choosing option 3) or email
[2][email address].

 

Yours sincerely

 

Philippa Curran

Legal Assistant

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

W: [3]www.ombudsman.org.uk

 

Follow us on

[4]fb  [5]twitter  [6]linkedin

 

 

show quoted sections

phsothefacts Pressure Group left an annotation ()

And jolly good luck to you.

Dear foiofficer,

Thank you for your reply.It does not answer all my query though.What if you send in feedback as you describe more than once,more like 4 times and the PHSO fails to reply after sending an "If you think we made the wrong decision" 10 weeks ago then "feedback about our service" 8,6 and 3 weeks ago,and still had no reply then who do i complain to then?

Yours sincerely,

Alan Smith

foiofficer@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

foiofficer, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

1 Attachment

  • Attachment

    Email FM 160421 095511.switch

    6K Download

  [1]Switch logo  
This message has been sent to you by
[email address].

The Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman
has sent you this email. We use Egress Switch,
a secure email service, to keep your
information safe when we send it
electronically.

Click to [2]read this secure email online.

If you have Switch installed, simply open the
attachment.

Regular user? [3]Download our free desktop or
mobile apps.

Having problems accessing the email? [4]Click
Here

 
Confidentiality Notice: This email and any files transmitted with it are
confidential and intended solely for the use of the individual or entity
to whom they are addressed. If you have received this email in error
please notify the sender.
© Copyright 2007-2015 Egress Software Technologies Ltd.

References

Visible links
2. https://reader.egress.com/p/e145f4da957c...
3. http://www.egress.com/integrated-access/
4. http://www.egress.com/support-articles-g...

Dear foiofficer,

I cannot open your reply,please post it so i can read it.

Yours sincerely,

Alan Smith

foiofficer@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

foiofficer, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

3 Attachments

Dear Mr Smith

 

Thank you for your email.

 

I was sorry to learn of your concerns. The details I provided in my
previous email are for all complaints about our service.

 

I have passed your email to our Customer Care team and they will be in
touch about your complaint shortly.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Philippa Curran

Legal Assistant

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

W: [1]www.ombudsman.org.uk

 

Follow us on

[2]fb  [3]twitter  [4]linkedin

 

show quoted sections

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

The FOIA department may insist that you OUGHT to be able to read it. - even if you can't.

It's best to ask the FOI employee to put full text response instead of a PDF etc, or provide the right link, as the PHSO's own pages often seem disappear off the PHSO internet site altogether.

If you go into the site, a Search will often not provide a result for the most well-used words.

Even ones that should involve the PHSO -

'Integrity' brings up no response for instance.

:::

In effect, this replicates the service you will get from the PHSO.

Full of disbelief at yr statement...False leads, assurances, and non-endings.

Then reviews which nearly always favour the FOIA response, even though they may not stand up in court.

Good luck from me too.

Dear foiofficer,

Put full text response instead of a PDF etc

Yours sincerely,

Alan Smith

foiofficer@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

Alan, I've tried to help you but I can't read the message -failed completely.

It's not you -it's them.

It seems that you have to download something called Switch.

Too bad if you don't want to download an unfamiliar ap.

But that's the PHSO for you. Get used to struggling to get responses.

1. This may be a new strategy by the PHSO to stop WDTK requesters from reading information.

2. Or the PHSO is so arrogant, it assumes that everyone will do as they are told ...and download Switch.

3. Or the person providing the response doesn't know that Switch isn't readable on WDTK.

It's hard to say.

Alan Smith left an annotation ()

Thanks for trying JT

foiofficer, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Smith

Please find requested PDF attached.

Yours sincerely

Philippa Curran

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

You have already patiently explained that you have gone through the normal processes - without result.

And asked what you must do to get a fair investigation of your complaint.

But seemingly you have just been directed to go through the same process again.

When you reach this stage, you are subject to 'ghosting' -the PHSO just refuses to tell you what has happened to your complaint and closes down all communication.

::

You are not alone - it is a normal strategy to hit targets by closing down cases quickly - so don't take it personally.

I wish I could offer you a way to get the PHSO to communicate with you - but I can't.

The only advice is just to keep going ....and hope that someone is professional enough not to bin your emails and give you a plain and understandable explanation.

Good luck.

phsothefacts Pressure Group left an annotation ()

You could involve your MP. Ask your MP to write to PHSO on your behalf as the Parliamentary Ombudsman is accountable to parliament for service delivery and you have received poor service delivery which they have failed to correct. Ask your MP to copy in Bernard Jenkin as Chair of PACAC.

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

In my case, the PHSO even ignored my MP.

It didn't go down at all well with the external investigator, as my complaint was properly evaluated by him - and upheld.

If the PHSO ignores your MP, you are justified in asking for an external review, - which is where any conception of what your case involved seems to start.