Four ombudsmen - complaints by customers to ICO

The request was successful.

Dear Information Commissioner’s Office,

- I would like to know how many complaints the ICO has received against the:

1. PARLIAMENTARY AND HEALTH SERVICE OMBUDSMAN
2. THE PUBLIC SERVICE OMBUDSMAN FOR WALES
3. Northern Ireland Public Services Ombudsman
4 SCOTTISH PUBLIC SERVICES OMBUDSMAN

(in the past year).
Nb 'Past year' - as per the date of this request - January 27 2017

For the individual four Ombudsmen organisations :

(Nb i.e. Number of complaints for each ombudsman - rather than added together)

--

4 How many complaints were made about FOI REQUESTS ?

5 How many complaints were made about SAR's? - DPA

---

Non investigation of complaints :
6 How many complaints were not investigated?

7 *The reason/s given to the complainant for non-investigation.

(*as per ICO Outcomes Definitions.pdf - IRQ0662953)

---

Investigation of complaints :

8 How many complaints were investigated?

9 * The outcome of the investigated complaints
(*Outcomes Definitions.pdf - IRQ0662953)

10 * And the reasons given for the outcome.
(*Outcomes Definitions.pdf - IRQ0662953)

-----

Please do NOT return the information in attachments, as some attachments cannot be opened- or are difficult to read.

:::::

As an assistance....
With reference to this request, made by another person...(the statistics might already have been researched in response to this request )

The request already made:

Keeping in mind the above, kindly tell me:

1) The 10 worst performing PB's (for IR's) you have on file for each quarter of 2016. [1]

2) Does the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman (PHSO) feature in any of the lists above.

My assumption is based on the fact that, for the latter half of 2016, there were around 8 IR requests on WhatDoTheyKnow.com, where PHSO not only took well over 20 working days but came close to the 'exceptional circumstances' 40 working day limit. Some of the IR requests haven't been responded to at all.

3) Do you have any record of whether PHSO have replied to any IR requests within the 20 working day limit.

a) if no, does it make sense to say you "monitor" unreasonable delays in conducting internal reviews. [2][3]

b) if yes, is the actual 'exception' conducting an IR within 40 working days or conducting one within 20 working days.

Yours faithfully,

Mr Navartne

:::

Request Title/summary within scope.
I am writing to make an open government request for all the 
information to which I am entitled under the Freedom of Information 
Act 2000.
Please send me recorded information, which includes information 
held on computers, in emails and in printed or handwritten 
documents as well as images, video and audio recordings.

If this request is too wide or unclear, and you require a 
clarification, I would be grateful if you could contact me as I 
understand that under the Act, you are required to advise and 
assist requesters.(Section 16 / Regulation 9).

If my request is denied in whole or in part, I ask that you justify 
all deletions by reference to specific exemptions of the act. I 
will also expect you to release all non-exempt material. I reserve 
the right to appeal your decision to withhold any information or to 
charge excessive fees.

If any of this information is already in the public domain, please 
can you direct me to it, with page references and URLs if 
necessary.

Please confirm or deny whether the requested information is held ( section (Section 1(1)(a) and consider whether information should be provided under section 1(1)(b), or whether it is subject to an exemption in Part II of the Act. 

If the release of any of this information is prohibited on the 
grounds of breach of confidence, I ask that you supply me with 
copies of the confidentiality agreement and remind you that 
information should not be treated as confidential if such an 
agreement has not been signed.

I request that the response  be provided to me as 
electronic copies, via WDTK. 

* The information should be immediately readable - and, as a freedom of Information request,  not put in a PDF or any closed form, which some readers may not be able to access.

I understand that you are required to respond to my request within 
the 20 working days after you receive this letter. I would be 
grateful if you could confirm in writing that you have received 
this request.

::::::::

Please consider  the ICO's Decision on the provision original documents on file, rather than newly written letters of response.
https://ico.org.uk/media/action-weve-tak...

This request does not require a letter, drafted by the External Affairs department, or any other written input by reputational defence employees - and purporting to be the response to a FOIA request.

Yours faithfully,

JT Oakley

Dear Information Commissioner’s Office,

Apologies -there are two 4's

Please use 4a and 4b

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

Jt Oakley

AccessICOinformation, Information Commissioner’s Office

Thank you for contacting the Information Commissioner’s Office. We confirm
that we have received your correspondence.

 

If you have made a request for information held by the ICO we will contact
you as soon as possible if we need any further information to enable us to
answer your request. If we don't need any further information we will
respond to you within our published, and statutory, service levels. For
more information please visit [1]http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply

 

If you have raised a new information rights concern - we aim to send you
an initial response and case reference number within 30 days.

 

If you are concerned about the way an organisation is handling your
personal information, we will not usually look into it unless you have
raised it with the organisation first. For more information please see our
webpage ‘raising a concern with an organisation’ (go to our homepage and
follow the link ‘for the public’). You can also call the number below.

 

If you have requested advice - we aim to respond within 14 days.

 

If your correspondence relates to an existing case - we will add it to
your case and consider it on allocation to a case officer.

 

Copied correspondence - we do not respond to correspondence that has been
copied to us.

 

For more information about our services, please see our webpage ‘Service
standards and what to expect' (go to our homepage and follow the links for
‘Report a concern’ and ‘Service standards and what to expect'). You can
also call the number below.

 

If there is anything you would like to discuss with us, please call our
helpline on 0303 123 1113.

 

Yours sincerely

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

 

Our newsletter

Details of how to sign up for our monthly e-newsletter can be found at
[2]http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...

 

Twitter

Find us on Twitter at [3]http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

 

The ICO's mission is to uphold information rights in the public interest.
To find out more about our work please visit our website, or subscribe to
our e-newsletter at ico.org.uk/newsletter.

If you are not the intended recipient of this email (and any attachment),
please inform the sender by return email and destroy all copies without
passing to any third parties.

If you'd like us to communicate with you in a particular way please do let
us know, or for more information about things to consider when
communicating with us by email, visit ico.org.uk/email

References

Visible links
1. http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply
2. http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...
3. http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

AccessICOinformation, Information Commissioner’s Office

Thank you for contacting the Information Commissioner’s Office. We confirm
that we have received your correspondence.

 

If you have made a request for information held by the ICO we will contact
you as soon as possible if we need any further information to enable us to
answer your request. If we don't need any further information we will
respond to you within our published, and statutory, service levels. For
more information please visit [1]http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply

 

If you have raised a new information rights concern - we aim to send you
an initial response and case reference number within 30 days.

 

If you are concerned about the way an organisation is handling your
personal information, we will not usually look into it unless you have
raised it with the organisation first. For more information please see our
webpage ‘raising a concern with an organisation’ (go to our homepage and
follow the link ‘for the public’). You can also call the number below.

 

If you have requested advice - we aim to respond within 14 days.

 

If your correspondence relates to an existing case - we will add it to
your case and consider it on allocation to a case officer.

 

Copied correspondence - we do not respond to correspondence that has been
copied to us.

 

For more information about our services, please see our webpage ‘Service
standards and what to expect' (go to our homepage and follow the links for
‘Report a concern’ and ‘Service standards and what to expect'). You can
also call the number below.

 

If there is anything you would like to discuss with us, please call our
helpline on 0303 123 1113.

 

Yours sincerely

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

 

Our newsletter

Details of how to sign up for our monthly e-newsletter can be found at
[2]http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...

 

Twitter

Find us on Twitter at [3]http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

 

The ICO's mission is to uphold information rights in the public interest.
To find out more about our work please visit our website, or subscribe to
our e-newsletter at ico.org.uk/newsletter.

If you are not the intended recipient of this email (and any attachment),
please inform the sender by return email and destroy all copies without
passing to any third parties.

If you'd like us to communicate with you in a particular way please do let
us know, or for more information about things to consider when
communicating with us by email, visit ico.org.uk/email

References

Visible links
1. http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply
2. http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...
3. http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

Information Commissioner’s Office

2 Attachments

24 February 2017

 

Case Reference Number IRQ0665288

 

Dear J Oakley

Information request
 
I write in response to your email of 27 January 2017 in which you
submitted a request for information to the Information Commissioner’s
Office (ICO). Your request has been dealt with in accordance with the
Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA).
 
Your request
 
“I would like to know how many complaints the ICO has received against
the:

1. PARLIAMENTARY AND HEALTH SERVICE OMBUDSMAN:
 
2. THE PUBLIC SERVICE OMBUDSMAN FOR WALES:
3. Northern Ireland Public Services Ombudsman:

4 SCOTTISH PUBLIC SERVICES OMBUDSMAN:

(in the past year).
Nb 'Past year' - as per the date of this request - January 27 2017

For the individual four Ombudsmen organisations :

(Nb i.e. Number of complaints for each ombudsman - rather than added
together)

4 How many complaints were made about FOI REQUESTS ?

5 How many complaints were made about SAR's? - DPA

Non investigation of complaints :
6 How many complaints were not investigated?

7 *The reason/s given to the complainant for non-investigation.

(*as per ICO Outcomes Definitions.pdf - IRQ0662953)

Investigation of complaints :

8 How many complaints were investigated?

9 * The outcome of the investigated complaints (*Outcomes Definitions.pdf
- IRQ0662953)

10 * And the reasons given for the outcome.
(*Outcomes Definitions.pdf - IRQ0662953)”

Our response
 
I can confirm we hold information that falls in the scope of your request.
 
I have attached a csv file listing the completed DPA and FOIA casework
since 27 January 2016 where the submitted party is one of the
organisations you have listed in your request. In your email you requested
we did not respond with attachments so I have also provided a further copy
of this information in table format within this email. However, we
understand this may not display properly when we respond via the WDTK
website. If you are having issues viewing the information provided please
let us know.
 
This information includes the name of the submitted about party, the case
type (i.e. whether it was a DPA concern or FOI complaint), the nature of
the concern (i.e. subject access) and the case outcome.
 
I have also attached to this email a pdf document containing a list and
brief description of the case outcomes we use which may be helpful to you.
The descriptions of the case outcomes will help you identify which cases
have been investigated and which were not and the reasons for this.
These case outcome descriptions are also available via our service guide
which can be found on our website:
[1]https://ico.org.uk/media/about-the-ico/p...

Please note we have extracted this data from our electronic casework
management system to enable us to respond to your request. We
predominantly use this system to track and progress individual cases. We
don’t use this data in isolation to decide whether regulatory action is
appropriate in any particular case, but we might use it to help identify
potential trends or to see the size and progress of our caseload. The data
provided reflects the data on the date it was extracted and can be subject
to change over time.
 
Some cases may have more than one outcome, for example where we are given
additional evidence which requires us to reopen a case and revise our
view. However, all outcomes are recorded as related activities on a single
case. You will see that where this has occurred, the duplicate case
reference numbers are shown grouped together and in date order so that you
can identify which is the final outcome.
 
Table of concerns/complaints
 

+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|Case |Case type |Casework|Legislation|Closure |Nature |Case outcome|Party Name |
|Ref | |type | |date | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | |Closed - |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Decision |Services |
|606058|- Section |Case |FOI |31-Mar-16| |Notice |Ombudsman for|
| |50 | | | | |served - not|Wales |
| |Complaint | | | | |upheld | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |No action |Services |
|606766|- Request |Case |DP |17-May-16|access |for DC |Ombudsman for|
| |For | | | | | |Wales |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Inaccurate|General |and Health |
|608942|- Request |Case |DP |07-Apr-16|data |advice given|Service |
| |For | | | | |to DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Disclosure|No action |and Health |
|613051|- Request |Case |DP |01-Mar-16|of data |for DC |Service |
| |For | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |No action |and Health |
|615282|- Request |Case |DP |05-Feb-16|access |for DC |Service |
| |For | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - Not|and Health |
|616362|- Section |Case |FOI |25-Feb-16| |Section 50 |Service |
| |50 | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Inaccurate|No action |and Health |
|617619|- Request |Case |DP |25-Feb-16|data |for DC |Service |
| |For | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Use of |Concern to |and Health |
|621710|- Request |Case |DP |21-Mar-16|data |be raised |Service |
| |For | | | | |with DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Inaccurate|No action |and Health |
|624523|- Request |Case |DP |27-Apr-16|data |for DC |Service |
| |For | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |Concern to |Services |
|626897|- Request |Case |DP |09-May-16|access |be raised |Ombudsman for|
| |For | | | | |with DC |Wales |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |DC action |Services |
|628734|- Request |Case |DP |25-May-16|access |required |Ombudsman for|
| |For | | | | | |Wales |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |DC action |Services |
|630184|- Request |Case |DP |01-Jun-16|access |required |Ombudsman for|
| |For | | | | | |Wales |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | |Closed - |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Decision |and Health |
|630785|- Section |Case |FOI |29-Sep-16| |Notice |Service |
| |50 | | | | |served - not|Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | |upheld | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - No |and Health |
|634844|- Section |Case |FOI |20-Jul-16| |internal |Service |
| |50 | | | | |review |Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |Concern to |and Health |
|635009|- Request |Case |DP |23-Jun-16|access |be raised |Service |
| |For | | | | |with DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |Response |and Health |
|635158|- Request |Case |DP |13-Jul-16|access |needed from |Service |
| |For | | | | |DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Concern to |and Health |
|636092|- Request |Case |DP |25-Jul-16|Security |be raised |Service |
| |For | | | | |with DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Reopen | | | |General |and Health |
|636092|- Request |Case |DP |26-Aug-16|Security |advice given|Service |
| |For | | | | |to DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | |Closed - |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Decision |Services |
|638632|- Section |Case |FOI |06-Dec-16| |Notice |Ombudsman for|
| |50 | | | | |served - not|Wales |
| |Complaint | | | | |upheld | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |Concern to |and Health |
|639966|- Request |Case |DP |26-Aug-16|access |be raised |Service |
| |For | | | | |with DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Reopen | | |Subject |No action |and Health |
|639966|- Request |Case |DP |25-Jan-17|access |for DC |Service |
| |For | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Scottish |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Disclosure|Response |Public |
|640835|- Request |Case |DP |29-Sep-16|of data |needed from |Services |
| |For | | | | |DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Subject |Concern to |and Health |
|641620|- Request |Case |DP |07-Sep-16|access |be raised |Service |
| |For | | | | |with DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | | |
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - |Northern |
|643167|- Section |Case |FOI |24-Aug-16| |insufficient|Ireland |
| |50 | | | | |evidence |Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | |Closed - |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Decision |and Health |
|643432|- Section |Case |FOI |26-Jan-17| |Notice |Service |
| |50 | | | | |served - not|Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | |upheld | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - |and Health |
|643970|- Section |Case |FOI |30-Sep-16| |insufficient|Service |
| |50 | | | | |evidence |Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Retention |Concern to |and Health |
|647252|- Request |Case |DP |28-Oct-16|of data |be raised |Service |
| |For | | | | |with DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Inaccurate|Response |and Health |
|647597|- Request |Case |DP |28-Oct-16|data |needed from |Service |
| |For | | | | |DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Retention |Response |and Health |
|648071|- Request |Case |DP |09-Nov-16|of data |needed from |Service |
| |For | | | | |DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Scottish |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Disclosure|Concern to |Public |
|648369|- Request |Case |DP |11-Nov-16|of data |be raised |Services |
| |For | | | | |with DC |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Disclosure|No action |Services |
|649843|- Request |Case |DP |12-Dec-16|of data |for DC |Ombudsman for|
| |For | | | | | |Wales |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Scottish |
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Unable to |No action |Public |
|650022|- Request |Case |DP |17-Nov-16|identify |for DC |Services |
| |For | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | |Public |
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - |Services |
|650064|- Section |Case |FOI |04-Nov-16| |insufficient|Ombudsman for|
| |50 | | | | |evidence |Wales |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - No |and Health |
|651442|- Section |Case |FOI |11-Nov-16| |internal |Service |
| |50 | | | | |review |Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | | |
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |No action |Northern |
|652141|- Request |Case |DP |04-Jan-17|Security |for DC |Ireland |
| |For | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |DPA | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | |Right to |No action |and Health |
|652301|- Request |Case |DP |19-Dec-16|prevent |for DC |Service |
| |For | | | |processing| |Ombudsman |
| |Assessment| | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - |and Health |
|659238|- Section |Case |FOI |12-Jan-17| |insufficient|Service |
| |50 | | | | |evidence |Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
|------+----------+--------+-----------+---------+----------+------------+-------------|
| |FOI | | | | | |Parliamentary|
| |Compliance|Progress| | | |Closed - |and Health |
|660661|- Section |Case |FOI |05-Jan-17| |Undue delay |Service |
| |50 | | | | | |Ombudsman |
| |Complaint | | | | | | |
+--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+

 
 
This concludes our response to your request. I hope the information
provided is helpful.
 
Review Procedure

If you are not satisfied that your request for information has been dealt
with correctly, please write to the Information Access Team at the address
below, reply directly to this email (with the reference number contained
within the square brackets left intact), or email us at
[2][ICO request email], quoting the reference number
IRQ0665288.
Your request for a review should be submitted to us within 40 working days
of receipt by you of this response.  Any such request received after this
time will only be considered at the discretion of the Commissioner.
Ultimately if you are not satisfied that your request for information has
been dealt with correctly you have a further right of appeal to this
office in our capacity as the statutory complaint handler under the
relevant legislation.  To make such an application, please write to our
Customer Contact Team at the address below, or visit the ‘Report a
Concern’ section of our website.
 
Yours sincerely

Ian Goddard
Lead Information Access Officer
Information Commissioner’s Office, Wycliffe House, Water Lane, Wilmslow,
Cheshire SK9 5AF
T. 01625 545823  F. 01625 524510  [3]ico.org.uk  [4]twitter.com/iconews
Please consider the environment before printing this email

The ICO's mission is to uphold information rights in the public interest.
To find out more about our work please visit our website, or subscribe to
our e-newsletter at ico.org.uk/newsletter.

If you are not the intended recipient of this email (and any attachment),
please inform the sender by return email and destroy all copies without
passing to any third parties.

If you'd like us to communicate with you in a particular way please do let
us know, or for more information about things to consider when
communicating with us by email, visit ico.org.uk/email

References

Visible links
1. https://ico.org.uk/media/about-the-ico/p...
2. mailto:[ICO request email]
3. http://ico.org.uk/
4. https://twitter.com/iconews

Dear Information Commissioner’s Office,

Thank you for your response but as you know, an FOIA request is for original data.

The response seems to be replicated, rather than an original file.

Can you thefore assure me that you haven't copied and pasted any if the information, (which would be making new data), ....rather than producing the on file data that existed when the request was made?

:::

In addition I got this -

ERROR_MESSAGE_MAIN

It needs to be readable by anyone reading this site - as it is public information.

Yours faithfully,

Jt Oakley

AccessICOinformation, Information Commissioner’s Office

Thank you for contacting the Information Commissioner’s Office. We confirm
that we have received your correspondence.

 

If you have made a request for information held by the ICO we will contact
you as soon as possible if we need any further information to enable us to
answer your request. If we don't need any further information we will
respond to you within our published, and statutory, service levels. For
more information please visit [1]http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply

 

If you have raised a new information rights concern - we aim to send you
an initial response and case reference number within 30 days.

 

If you are concerned about the way an organisation is handling your
personal information, we will not usually look into it unless you have
raised it with the organisation first. For more information please see our
webpage ‘raising a concern with an organisation’ (go to our homepage and
follow the link ‘for the public’). You can also call the number below.

 

If you have requested advice - we aim to respond within 14 days.

 

If your correspondence relates to an existing case - we will add it to
your case and consider it on allocation to a case officer.

 

Copied correspondence - we do not respond to correspondence that has been
copied to us.

 

For more information about our services, please see our webpage ‘Service
standards and what to expect' (go to our homepage and follow the links for
‘Report a concern’ and ‘Service standards and what to expect'). You can
also call the number below.

 

If there is anything you would like to discuss with us, please call our
helpline on 0303 123 1113.

 

Yours sincerely

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

 

Our newsletter

Details of how to sign up for our monthly e-newsletter can be found at
[2]http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...

 

Twitter

Find us on Twitter at [3]http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

 

The ICO's mission is to uphold information rights in the public interest.
To find out more about our work please visit our website, or subscribe to
our e-newsletter at ico.org.uk/newsletter.

If you are not the intended recipient of this email (and any attachment),
please inform the sender by return email and destroy all copies without
passing to any third parties.

If you'd like us to communicate with you in a particular way please do let
us know, or for more information about things to consider when
communicating with us by email, visit ico.org.uk/email

References

Visible links
1. http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply
2. http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...
3. http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

Information Commissioner’s Office

1 Attachment

27 February 2017

 

Case Reference Number IRQ0665288

 

Dear J Oakley

Thank you for your further email.

In respect of the error message you have received you may wish to bring
this to the attention of WDTK. Having checked the attachments on WDTK I
have had no issues opening the files. However, I have attached a further
copy of the information we have provided in pdf format for your
convenience.
 
In response to the other points you have raised, the FOIA provides a right
of access to information held by public authorities. It doesn’t confer any
explicit right to copies of original documents.
 
Under Section 11(1) of the Act, the requester can express a preference for
the means by which the information is communicated to them. However, there
is no provision to express a preference to receive copies of original
documents. Further information is available in our guidance:
[1]https://ico.org.uk/media/for-organisatio...
 
As explained in our response, the information we have provided has been
extracted from our electronic casework management system to enable us to
respond to your request.
 
You will note our guidance “Do I have to create information to answer a
request?”
([2]https://ico.org.uk/media/for-organisatio...)
states the following:
 
“The FOIA and the EIR apply to information held by public authorities.
They do not have to create new information to respond to requests. A
public authority is not creating new information where:
• it presents information it holds in the form of a list or schedule;
• compiling an answer to a request involves simple manual
manipulation of information held in files; or,
• it extracts information from an electronic database by searching it in
the form of a query.”
 
In this case the information you have been provided has been extracted
from an electronic database that we hold.
 
I hope this provides some clarification on the matters you have raised.

Yours sincerely

Ian Goddard
Lead Information Access Officer
Information Commissioner’s Office, Wycliffe House, Water Lane, Wilmslow,
Cheshire SK9 5AF
T. 01625 545823  F. 01625 524510  [3]ico.org.uk  [4]twitter.com/iconews
Please consider the environment before printing this email

The ICO's mission is to uphold information rights in the public interest.
To find out more about our work please visit our website, or subscribe to
our e-newsletter at ico.org.uk/newsletter.

If you are not the intended recipient of this email (and any attachment),
please inform the sender by return email and destroy all copies without
passing to any third parties.

If you'd like us to communicate with you in a particular way please do let
us know, or for more information about things to consider when
communicating with us by email, visit ico.org.uk/email

References

Visible links
1. https://ico.org.uk/media/for-organisatio...
2. https://ico.org.uk/media/for-organisatio...
3. http://ico.org.uk/
4. https://twitter.com/iconews

Dear Information Commissioner’s Office,

Thank you.

Now in a form that I can read .

Yours faithfully,

Jt Oakley

AccessICOinformation, Information Commissioner’s Office

Thank you for contacting the Information Commissioner’s Office. We confirm
that we have received your correspondence.

 

If you have made a request for information held by the ICO we will contact
you as soon as possible if we need any further information to enable us to
answer your request. If we don't need any further information we will
respond to you within our published, and statutory, service levels. For
more information please visit [1]http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply

 

If you have raised a new information rights concern - we aim to send you
an initial response and case reference number within 30 days.

 

If you are concerned about the way an organisation is handling your
personal information, we will not usually look into it unless you have
raised it with the organisation first. For more information please see our
webpage ‘raising a concern with an organisation’ (go to our homepage and
follow the link ‘for the public’). You can also call the number below.

 

If you have requested advice - we aim to respond within 14 days.

 

If your correspondence relates to an existing case - we will add it to
your case and consider it on allocation to a case officer.

 

Copied correspondence - we do not respond to correspondence that has been
copied to us.

 

For more information about our services, please see our webpage ‘Service
standards and what to expect' (go to our homepage and follow the links for
‘Report a concern’ and ‘Service standards and what to expect'). You can
also call the number below.

 

If there is anything you would like to discuss with us, please call our
helpline on 0303 123 1113.

 

Yours sincerely

 

The Information Commissioner’s Office

 

Our newsletter

Details of how to sign up for our monthly e-newsletter can be found at
[2]http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...

 

Twitter

Find us on Twitter at [3]http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

 

The ICO's mission is to uphold information rights in the public interest.
To find out more about our work please visit our website, or subscribe to
our e-newsletter at ico.org.uk/newsletter.

If you are not the intended recipient of this email (and any attachment),
please inform the sender by return email and destroy all copies without
passing to any third parties.

If you'd like us to communicate with you in a particular way please do let
us know, or for more information about things to consider when
communicating with us by email, visit ico.org.uk/email

References

Visible links
1. http://ico.org.uk/about_us/how_we_comply
2. http://www.ico.org.uk/tools_and_resource...
3. http://www.twitter.com/ICOnews

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

There seem to be rather a lot of complaints about the PHSO in the last year or so.

navartne left an annotation ()

25 complaints against PHSO (on the latest data provided with this request).

I've checked the ICO publicly available data for period 2014/15 and 2015/16 (https://ico.org.uk/about-the-ico/our-inf... ) -

Results:

2014/15 = 26 Complaints

2015/16 = 24 Complaints

In each of the files, I think we are looking at a year's data. The PHSO numbers seem very close. (too close?).

Here are some other comparisons I've done:

Cabinet office:

2014/15 = 146
2015/16 = 117

Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS):

2014/15 = 54
2015/16 = 48 (including some self-reported entries)

Judging by this data, there's been less complaints about both the Cabinet Office and FOS. Either their service has genuinely improved or there's some other explanation.

I've analysed the case type (for all bodies) on the 2014/15 and 2015/16 data.

The 'DPA compliance - request for assessment" accounts for a bulk of the complaints = 69.1% (2014/15) and 68% (2015/16)

FOI compliance/section 50 complaint = 21.5% (2014/15) and 20.2 % (2015/16)

Self reported incident = 5% (2014/15) and 8.9% (2015/16)

Enforcement = 2.4% (2014/15) and 0.8 % (2015/16)

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

Navartne:

You might be interested in the following stats - as a comparison:

(Complaints )
Enquiries a year:
Parliamentary Health & Services Ombudsman : 29,000
Welsh Ombudsman : 3470
Scottish ombudsman : 5667

Financial ombudsman : 1,786,973

Cases investigated last year:
PHSO : 4,159
WO : 2296
SO : 4895

FO : 448,387

Service complaints
PHSO: 392 (9.3 percent cases investigated)
WO : 13 (0.56)
SO : 53 (5.6)

FO: 2757: (6.1)

Percentage of cases upheld:
PHSO: 33
WO: 15
SO : 50

FO: 49

Staff turnover:
PHSO: 18.7 percent
WO: 10 percent
SO: 3.7 percent

FO: 18.1 percent

Number of employees:
PHSO: 446
WO: 57
SO: 48

FO: 3,436

Cases investigated per employee:
PHSO: 9
WO: 40
SO: 102

FO: 130

Sickness absence:( rounded)
PHSO: 7 days
WO: 7 days
SO: 5 days

FO : 3 days

Salary of Ombudsman
Value for money

PHSO: £155-160 000k(per investigated case - £37.86
*Based on £157, 500

WO : £90-95 ( *92.50)....................................... £35.90
SO : £80-85k ( *£82.5k ) £16.85

FO : £226,215 ( per investigated case) 50p

FOIA requests
PHSO: 718
WO: 118
SO: 114

FO: 512

Running Total WDTK requests- as indicator of incomprehension.
PHSO: 626 ( 24 following)
WO: 33 (3 following))
SO: 38 (3 following)

FO: 329 ( 12 following)

Unit resolved case cost ( total cost of organisation divided by resolved cases)
PHSO: £7515
WO: £1829
SO: £653

FO : £534

Cost to taxpayer( funded by the taxpayer)
PHSO: £37m
WO: £4.2m
SO: £3.2m

FO: £0

(funded by the UK's financial services sector through a combination of
statutory levies and case fees)

http://data.parliament.uk/writtenevidenc...

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org