EUSS Administrative Review statistics (Oct 2019)

Alice Welsh made this Freedom of Information request to Home Office

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

The request was refused by Home Office.

Dear Home Office,

I am writing to request an update on the statistics for administrative reviews of decisions under the EU Settlement Scheme. In previous requests (FOI Ref: 54536 and FOI Ref: 55254), I received statistics on administrative reviews from the live database up until 12th September. I have also received the number of EUSS Administrative Review refunds processed up until 18th September 2019 (FOI Ref: 55254).

Please could you, within the limits of the FOIA, provide answers to the following questions, as far as possible:

1. What is the current running total of EUSS administrative reviews requests made?
2. How many administrative review requests have been rejected?
3. How many EUSS administrative reviews have been upheld?
4. How many EUSS administrative review decisions were overturned from pre-settled to settled status?
5. What is the running total of EUSS administrative review refunds that have been processed?

If you cannot answer one question, please answer those questions that you are able to.

Yours faithfully,

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Ms Welsh,

Thank you for contacting the Home Office with your request.

This has been assigned to a caseworker (case ref 55969). We will aim to send you a full response by 14/11/2019 which is twenty working days from the date we received your request.

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you,

P. Zebedee
FOI Requests
Home Office

show quoted sections

FOI Requests, Home Office

Dear Alice Welsh,

 

 

Thank you for contacting the Home Office with your request.

 

This has been assigned to a caseworker (case ref 55970). We will aim to
send you a full response by 14/11/2019 which is twenty working days from
the date we received your request.

 

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

 

Thank you,

 

N McKenzie

Home Office

 

 

 

show quoted sections

FOI Requests, Home Office

Dear Alice Welsh,

 

Cancelled: FOI 55970. Request logged under FOI 55969.

 

Thank you

 

N McKenzie

Home Office

 

show quoted sections

CCT FOI, Home Office

3 Attachments

[1]Logo for letterhead.png  

   

                     

 

Dear Ms Welsh,

 

Please find attached a letter in response to your FOI request of 55969.

 

Yours sincerely

 

J Rushton

CCT FOI

Customer Performance and Improvement

 

show quoted sections

References

Visible links

Dear J Rushton,

In response to your questions I have clarified my request:

1. Do you want the same information as provided in FOIs 54536 and
55254 but covering a later time period? Please note that we are only able to disclose
information in-line with the latest published statistics.

Yes, I am requesting the number of administrative reviews for EUSS decisions which have been:
a. received
b. rejected as invalid
c. overturned
d. upheld

This is the same information provided in the previous FOIs mentioned. As I understand it, this is taken from a live operational database and I would like an update on these numbers.

2. Secondly, regarding your fifth question, do you want the number of refunds that have
been completed, or the financial total of refunds made? (e.g. ‘X number of review
refunds have been completed’ OR, ‘£X has been refunded for administrative reviews
in total’)

I would like the number of refunds that have been completed for administrative reviews of decisions made under the EU Settlement Scheme.

I look forward to your reply.

Many thanks,

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Dear Alice Welsh,

Thank you for contacting the Home Office with your request.

This has been assigned to a caseworker (case ref 56222). We will aim to send you a full response by 28/11/2019 which is twenty working days from the date we received your request.

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you,

N McKenzie
Home Office

show quoted sections

FOI Responses, Home Office

3 Attachments

[1]Logo for letterhead.png  

   

                     

 

Dear Ms Welsh

 

Please find attached a letter in response to your FOI request of 31
October.

 

Yours sincerely

 

J Slater

CCT FOI

Customer Performance and Improvement

 

show quoted sections

References

Visible links

Dear Home Office,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I write to request an internal review of your refusal to disclose data about administrative reviews of decisions made under the EU Settlement Scheme (EUSS). I submitted my initial request (FOI 55969) and a clarification (case ref 56222) on 31 October 2019 and received a refusal on 12 November 2019.

Your refusal relied upon section 36(2)(c) FOIA on the basis that disclosing the information would prejudice the effective conduct of public affairs and the public interest falls in favour of applying the exemption.
Your primary consideration in favour of withholding the information was that it would be a “premature release” of the data that would undermine pre-publication procedures and the Home Office’s ability to use its staff resources effectively in a planned way.

The substance of the reasoning is analogous to reliance on an exemption under s22 FOIA (future publication) as it was stated that the information requested would be released shortly as part of the “overall figures” in this month’s quarterly EUSS statistics. However, the administrative review statistics were in no way a part of the quarterly statistics. As such, your reliance on the upcoming publication of the quarterly EUSS statistics was a materially irrelevant consideration.

You also failed to take into account a materially relevant consideration. The EUSS, unlike other immigration schemes, is open for a limited window. If the UK leaves the EU without a deal, applications to the EUSS close on 31 December 2020. The EUSS has been fully open to the public for (potentially) more than a third of its operating time. This consideration weighs strongly in favour of not delaying publication of statistics that are important to understanding how the EUSS operates.

Furthermore, administrative review statistics relating to the EUSS have previously been disclosed when requested (FOI Ref: 54536 and FOI Ref: 55254). There has been no explanation for the Home Office’s change of approach.

For the reasons stated above, it is clearly in the public interest to disclose the requested information without further delay.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/e...

Yours faithfully,

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Ms Welsh,

Thank you for contacting the Home Office with your request.

This Internal Review has been assigned to a caseworker (case ref 55969). We will aim to send you a full response by 19/12/2019 which is twenty working days from the date we received your request.

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you,

P. Zebedee
FOI Requests
Home Office

show quoted sections

FOI Requests, Home Office

Ms Welsh,

Thank you for contacting the Home Office with your request.

This Internal Review has been assigned to a caseworker (case ref 55222) and not 55969 as previously stated. We will still aim however to send you a full response by 19/12/2019 which is twenty working days from the date we received your request.

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you,

N McKenzie
FOI Requests
Home Office

show quoted sections

FOI Requests, Home Office

Ms Welsh,

 

Thank you for contacting the Home Office with your request. Apologies for
the error.

 

This Internal Review has been assigned to a caseworker (case ref 56222)
and not 55969 as previously stated. We will still aim however to send you
a full response by 19/12/2019 which is twenty working days from the date
we received your request.

 

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

Thank you,

 

N McKenzie

FOI Requests

Home Office

 

show quoted sections

Dear N McKenzie

This request for an internal review is now over 20 working days old. Could you please let me know when I will receive a reply?

Many thanks.

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Dear Ms Welsh,

 

Thank you for contacting the Home Office.  I have today forward your email
to the case officer dealing with your internal review request for their
attention.

 

Regards,

 

N McKenzie

Home Office

 

 

 

show quoted sections

FOI Responses, Home Office

Dear Ms Welsh

 

Thank you for your correspondence of 20 December 2019, seeking an update
on the status of your internal review.  I apologise for not being able to
issue you your response within the 20 working day deadline. I can tell you
that the internal review response is currently going through clearance,
and I am hoping to issue you our response within the next two weeks.

 

Please accept my apologies for the delay.

 

Yours Sincerely

 

M Riddle

Information Rights Team, Knowledge and Information Management Unit

Performance, Assurance and Governance Directorate

Capabilities & Resources

Lower Ground floor, Seacole Building

2 Marsham Street

London

SW1P 4DF

T: +44 (0)20 7035 4848

 

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Dear M Riddle,

Thank you for your reply. It has now been over two weeks. Could you give me an update on when I am likely to receive the response to the internal review?

Many thanks.

Alice Welsh

Dear Home Office,

Case ref 56222 - Could I get an update on when I will receive the internal review response?

Yours faithfully,

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Dear Ms Welsh,

Thank you for contacting the Home Office. The case officer in the team who was dealing with your Internal Review has very sadly died. We are now in the process of reallocating all his cases and will provide a full response as soon as we can. Again, I’m very sorry for the delay’.

Thank you,

N McKenzie
Home Office

show quoted sections

Dear N McKenzie,

Many thanks for your response and I’m very sorry to hear about that.

Could you provide any indication of time-scale for this? On 23rd December 2019, I was told that the review was going through clearance and should be with me in two weeks.

Yours sincerely,

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Dear Ms Welsh,

We are currently working with others reallocating all the outstanding cases and will provide a full response just as soon as we are able to.

Again, I’m very sorry for the delay’. We are doing all we can at this time.

Thank you,

N McKenzie
Home Office

show quoted sections

Dear FOI Requests,

Case ref 56222

Could I get an update for this Internal Review request? Has it been reallocated? Could you provide an indication of the new time-scale?

Yours sincerely,

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Thank you for contacting the Home Office FOI Requests Mailbox.  

We will endeavour to respond within 2 working days.

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.  

 

Thank you,  

FOI Requests Home Office

show quoted sections

Dear N Mckenzie,

Case ref 56222

I requested an update on this internal review two weeks ago and have not heard back yet. Could I get an update for this Internal Review request? Has it been reallocated? Could you provide an indication of the new time-scale?

Yours sincerely,

Alice Welsh

FOI Requests, Home Office

Thank you for contacting the Home Office FOI Requests Mailbox.  

We will endeavour to respond within 2 working days.

If you have any questions then please do not hesitate to contact us.  

 

Thank you,  

FOI Requests Home Office

show quoted sections

FOI Responses, Home Office

1 Attachment

Dear Ms Welsh

Please find attached the response to your request for an internal review ref: 56222.

We apologise for the delay in providing you a response.

Kind regards
Information Rights Team
Home Office
2 Marsham Street
London SW1P 4DF

show quoted sections