Dog Fouling complaints and fines

Mike Rawlins made this Freedom of Information request to Aberdeenshire Council

This request has been closed to new correspondence. Contact us if you think it should be reopened.

The request was partially successful.

Dear Aberdeenshire Council,

Please can you supply the following information

Number of complaints made to Aberdeenshire Council about dog fouling
Number of fines / fixed penalty notices issued by Aberdeenshire Council

I would like this information for the time frame 1 January 2005 to 31 December 2015 inclusive.

Please provide this information as an Excel spread sheet with the following column headings

Year
Complaints
FPN

If this information is available in subsets for each administrative area within the shire then please create a worksheet for each area with the same column headings for the data as requested.

Please also supply the total number of Aberdeenshire Council employees who are able to issue fixed penalty notices in relation to dog fouling. This is not asking for the number of dog wardens employed by the council, but asking for how many employees are legally able to issue a fixed penalty notice for dog fouling.

If only part of the information is available please supply that rather than delaying the whole request.

Yours faithfully,

Mike Rawlins

Acknowledge email, Aberdeenshire Council

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your information request.

If you are making a request for information under FOI(S)A we will respond
within the statutory timeframe of 20 working days.

If you are making a request for environmental information under EIRs we
will aim to respond within 20 working days. However for requests of a
complex nature it could take us up to 40 working days. If so we will write
and tell you this within 5 working days of receipt.
If you are making a request for information under DPA we will respond
within the statutory timeframe of 40 calendar days, following receipt of
the necessary fee.

Regards,
Aberdeenshire Information Enquiries

Aberdeenshire Council

Dear Mike Rawlins

Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 (“The Act”)

We refer to your request dated 14/01/2016 08:56, for the following information concerning Dog fouling complaints.

“(1) Number of complaints made to Aberdeenshire Council about dog fouling. Number of fines / fixed penalty notices issued by Aberdeenshire Council

I would like this information for the time frame 1 January 2005 to 31 December 2015 inclusive.

Please provide this information as an Excel spread sheet with the following column headings

Year
Complaints
FPN

If this information is available in subsets for each administrative area within the shire then please create a worksheet for each area with the same column headings for the data as requested.

(2) Please also supply the total number of Aberdeenshire Council employees who are able to issue fixed penalty notices in relation to dog fouling. This is not asking for the number of dog wardens employed by the council, but asking for how many employees are legally able to issue a fixed penalty notice for dog fouling.”

We confirm that the Council holds the following information, which we believe satisfies your request, and which is enclosed.

(1) Number of Complaints and Number Of Fines Issued

According to Environmental Health the number of notices issued in the past few years were as follows:-

2011- 1 FPN issued. Complaints received 180
2012- 3 FPN issued. Complaints received 224
2013 3 FPN issued. Complaints received 256
2014 5 FPN issued Complaints received 222
2015 5 FPN issued Complaints received 170

(2) How many officers were or are authorised to issue Fixed Penalty Notices (FPNSs) in respect of the Dog Fouling (Scotland) Act 2003.

Until June 2013 only the Council’s 3 Dog Wardens were authorised to issue Fixed Penalty Notices. However on the 20th June 2013 the Council approved the Dog Fouling Strategy. Under the strategy an additional 30 Officers in Environmental Health and Waste Management Services were formally authorised to issue Fixed Penalty Notices and training on legal references and enforcement procedures took place.

Please contact me as the officer responsible for responding to your request if you have any further queries.

If, for any reason, you are not satisfied with this response, please refer to the further information attached.

Yours faithfully

Freedom of Information Co-ordinator
Infrastructure Services

Further Information:
Aberdeenshire Council’s Review Procedure under the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 and the Environmental Information (Scotland) Regulations 2004 can be accessed at the following link:
http://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/council-...

Dear Aberdeenshire Council,

Thank you for the information you have supplied.

I specifically asked for the information for the time frame 1 January 2005 to 31 December 2015 inclusive.

You have provided data for 'the last few years' (2011 to 2015) which while useful is not complete for the time frame requested.

Can you please supply the the requested data for the years 2005 to 2010 inclusive to complete this request.

Yours faithfully,

Mike Rawlins

Dear Aberdeenshire Council,

Is there any update on this request? I'd like the data for the time frame in my initial request, not 'the last few years' as provided.

Yours faithfully,

Mike Rawlins