Delay over complaints process

Waiting for an internal review by Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman of their handling of this request.

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Please can you inform me when are able to respond to any of the complaints I have made, and of which you are aware; I having contacted Customer Care 3 times in as many months with no response.

You are aware of my complaints going back over six years yet have made no approach to deal with them despite promises from many of your changing staff, year on year.

I have made many requests of your FOI system with regard to complaint procedures and delays, and sometimes have had relevant responses, but very often banal if not cynical. I have carried out your suggestions as to correct approach; reported complaints, and the harm they have caused.

You appear set to aggravate that harm and yet never deal with it. I have never had any log or reference number and perhaps that is intentional to avoid any proper tracking.

What is the reason for the current PHSO delay on complaint responses please?

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

(1) What is the reason for the current PHSO delay on Complaint responses as requested please? Please let me know if you will be answering within another three days after which I must refer for review.

OR

(2) Please let me know if there is a general delay which is affecting all PHSO written responses. My MP Julian Knight is also waiting your response to his enquiry on my behalf.

ALSO

(3) I have learnt that Ms Annette John who was to respond to me has left PHSO employment. Can you inform me who assumed her workload and undertakings please.

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman's handling of my FOI request 'Delay over complaints process'.

My request is unanswered and is a good week outside the response time for FOI requests.

In my comment on 4/4/17 I have simplified the same question, and have sought to establish if there's any internal problems which might have affected your responding and e.g. requiring more time, or my compalints being lost on handover from Ms John.

Please could you Review this and respond to the question in the time expected. Communications to-date are available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/d...

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Please advise me without further delay who is looking into my outstanding complaint about your service.

The delay is far and away beyond any reasonable and decent response required of private sector services, and it is disgraceful that you do not record and deal with complaints in any transparent and prompt manner.

I think if you consider -as I do- that my enquiries with yourselves were an alternative to Police investigation into my sons negligent treatment by a GP and NHS Trust (negligence as part-admitted), and resulting in my son's death, there would be serious repercussion in Inquiry. You have yet to afford this task the skill and transparency required in thorough and capable investigation without causing the additional harm to complainants.

I await a credible response.

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

I have to remind you that this enquiry is outstanding. Please demonstarate that you have a working complaints procedure by acting on you published policies.

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman's handling of my FOI request 'Delay over complaints process'.

My complaint is that the PHSO refuse to follow their customer complaint policy, refuse to accept resultant complaints about the complaint policy, and refuse to respond to actual complaints with any material resolution, including in their potential breach of Disability and Equality Acts applicable to all national organisations.

The PHSO does not have immunity from legal obligation despite the apparent perception that any response to Customers is discretionary.

The request for a response to my question is in extreme delay.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/d...

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

Brenda Prentice left an annotation ()

Just astonishing.....How do they (PHSO) get away with it?

InformationRights, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

Dear C Rock

 

Your internal review (FDN-274558)

 

I am writing in response to your email of 13 April 2017 and subsequent
emails in which you express dissatisfaction with PHSO’s handling of your
information request in relation to complaint responses and staff structure
and responsibilities.  This review will consider whether your request was
dealt with in compliance with the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA).

 

Timeliness

 

Section 10(1) FOIA states that public authorities should comply with
requests within 20 working days.  As we received your request for
information on 4 April 2017, you should have received a response by 2 May
2017. You have not yet received a response to your request. 

 

Further, I can see that you sent an initial email on 3 March 2017. This
contained the question ‘What is the reason for the current PHSO delay on
complaint responses please?’  It also appears that you have not had a
response to this question.

 

Outcome

 

In this case, PHSO has failed to meet its obligations as set out at
section 1(1) FOIA, which requires public authorities to respond to
requests for information by confirming whether or not information is held
and, where no exemptions apply, providing that information.  I therefore
fully uphold this review.

 

I apologise for the service you have received in this case.  We will
provide you with a full response to your information request as soon as
possible.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Aimee Gasston

Freedom of Information and Data Protection Officer

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

W: [1]www.ombudsman.org.uk

 

Please email the FOI/DP team at: [2][Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman request email]

 

From: C Rock [mailto:[FOI #393248 email]]
Sent: 13 April 2017 17:52
To: InformationRights
Subject: FDN-274558 Internal review of Freedom of Information request -
Delay over complaints process

 

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information
reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Parliamentary and Health
Service Ombudsman's handling of my FOI request 'Delay over complaints
process'.

My request is unanswered and is a good week outside the response time for
FOI requests.

In my comment on 4/4/17 I have simplified the same question, and have
sought to establish if there's  any internal problems which might have
affected your responding and e.g. requiring more time, or my compalints
being lost on handover from Ms John.

Please could you Review this and respond to the question in the time
expected. Communications to-date are available on the Internet at this
address:
[3]https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/d...

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Please use this email address for all replies to this request:
[4][FOI #393248 email]

Disclaimer: This message and any reply that you make will be published on
the internet. Our privacy and copyright policies:
[5]https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/offi...

For more detailed guidance on safely disclosing information, read the
latest advice from the ICO:
[6]https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/ico-...

If you find this service useful as an FOI officer, please ask your web
manager to link to us from your organisation's FOI page.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit [7]http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

References

Visible links
1. http://www.ombudsman.org.uk/
http://www.ombudsman.org.uk/
2. mailto:[Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman request email]
3. https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/d...
4. mailto:[FOI #393248 email]
5. https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/offi...
6. https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/help/ico-...
7. http://www.symanteccloud.com/

Jt Oakley left an annotation ()

Sthe PHSO's FOI deparrment seems to be falling apart..

C Rock left an annotation ()

I am now expecting a call and action from Jon Roper whom I am told is/was head of Customer Service. I have emailed him with some concerns:

"The entire follow-up has been an ordeal that has broken me in so far as expectations of any satisfaction in my lifetime. Only actions will tell. Every 'stamp of approval' from your office makes it harder for you to tackle what a complainant looks for.

"The impact of seeing my son slowly dying 'inside' through his deteriorating condition; not being able to get help; being isolated from decisions; not being able to get an honest investigation; not being able to get comprehensive resolution; all the hassle from people I naively thought could be trusted to do what they preached; the impact and effect on me and close others has been far-reaching. Yet you never ask about that. There are serious issues. In what way can you 'make a difference'?"

C Rock left an annotation ()

The Complaint has now been allocated to a new customer service operator who has made contact with me. That is still in-hand.

I could not be told if the original complaint will be passed to a new caseworker.

The PHSO still wants to handle the complaint as a so-called Review but I have not accepted the original outcome (end of 2015) as final, for the reasons given at that time. It is unfortunate that the PHSO has dragged its heels in dealing with that response re accepting false NHS evidence, or selecting 'amenable' evidence, then rejecting my experience as of little consequence. Problems with inaccuracies in the last PHSO report have been highlighted.

Details of the overall dissatisfaction in the entire affair are being passed directly to the current Ombudsman, and to my MP for any assistance or input he can contribute through Government channels and via Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee.

It is not acceptable that a complaint passed to the PHSO in trust and good faith in 2009 is still without clear resolution in 2017. Trust has been broken. I await further moves to deal with complaints, only one of which involves the apparent inability of PHSO to operate within Equality and Disabilities Acts when dealing with complainants already traumatised by avoidable injury: in this case the demise of my son through NHS neglect of procedures.

Dear InformationRights,

Again this request appears to be in stalemate although being totally out of time for reasonable response.

Despite being referred to new operators, I am still waiting for a susbstantive response. Please will you contact the appropriate department to update me on the progress of my complaints.

Yours sincerely,

C Rock

Informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

M Boyce left an annotation ()

C Rock, your case appears very disturbing, and it shows the real human cost that Kafkaesque bureaucracy and quango indifference can have on individuals.
I hope you get a proper resolution and some piece of mind at the end of all this.

C Rock left an annotation ()

Today received a response on my complaints which I imagine PHSO considers final but is so revealing to PHSO agenda in its denials. There seemed no intent to deal with the problems they create. The respondent K Fitzsimons does not appear to have read my communications and has overridden complaints with the usual "cannot see any evidence for..." etc etc. Oddly, the respondent in 'customer care' never asked for any evidence on specifics and, in any case, I have seen from previous experence that evidence is largely written-off as conjecture or mere opinion. The service has again reinforced its intent to be opaque and self-righteous. I'm waiting again for the respondent's call on still unresolved comlaints.

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Following my latest contact you are aware that I am expecting a contact from yourselves on this matter adding further delay to an extended inquiry. As you are also aware these continual delays are also part of my complaints about your operation and part of the reason evidence is lost to history.

Yours faithfully,

C Rock

informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

InformationRights, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

Dear Mr Rock,

Thank you for your email. We can confirm that we have received your correspondence and it is being considered by our Customer Care Team who will respond to you shortly.

As you know WhatDoTheyKnow is a public forum and so we cannot engage in correspondence about your complaint on here as it would be available to the wider world.

We advise that you correspond with us privately using your email address.

Sincerely,

Freedom of Information / Data Protection Team
Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman
W: www.ombudsman.org.uk

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Following my last contact you are aware that I am expecting a contact from yourselves on this matter.

You are aware continual delays are part of my complaints about your operation and part of the reason evidence is lost.

Please consider the evidence as communicated and explain to me why my responses have not been handled as required by your own Customer Care 'Guidance' (v 1.0 15.4.15). I have complained that your responses were offensive and you have refused to consider this under your own procedures. Please also explain your further delay in action.

Unresolved PHSO Complaints will be published in the public domain.
Yours faithfully,

C Rock

Informationrights@ombudsman.org.uk, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman


Thank you for your e-mail to the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. This return e-mail shows that we have received your correspondence.

______________________________________________________________________
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com
______________________________________________________________________

C Rock left an annotation ()

May I quote "PHSO Customer Care Guidance
Version: 1.0 - Version date: 15/04/15

"13 Complaints about [our customer] service ... will be handled by the Customer Care team."

"14. The Customer Care Officer should complete an analysis of the complaint using the review form on Visualfiles. This analysis should: explain briefly what the substance of the complaint was; explain why the service user is unhappy with the service we have provided and what they want as a remedy; explain what evidence we have taken into account (we should usually always speak to the staff member and to the service user if necessary); say what our proposed decision is, if we are recommending redress and how we are to explain this to the service user."

Please explain: "should" [follow guidelines], and "should | usually | always" [speak to staff... ] - which of these terms apply, and who decides which?
Please explain: "...speak to [customer] "if necessary" - in terms of customer assistance?
Please explain: "redress" when the offence is irreversible or committed again with every offhand or negligent response.

But of course; it is only Guidance so PHSO do not have to follow this at all. Where will this nonsense end?

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org