Complaints to Trading Standards re: Rapid Data Recovery Ltd

R Ferraro made this Freedom of Information request to Westminster City Council

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

The request was refused by Westminster City Council.

Dear Westminster City Council,

I refer to the following companies:

Rapid Data Recovery Ltd
company no. 06694289 AND company no. 07257020
www.Rapid-Data.net

Fields Data Recovery Ltd company no. 06695262
www.fields-data-recovery.com

Fields Associates Ltd company no. 04441396
www.fieldsassociates.co.uk

UK Digital Solutions Ltd company no. 04081521
www.ukds.net
www.ukdigitalsolutions.com

The company Rapid Data Recovery Ltd advertises its trading address as:

100 Pall Mall
St James
London
SW1Y 5NQ

The companies Rapid Data Recovery Ltd and Fields Data Recovery Ltd state in their invoices that they are trading names for UK Digital Solutions Ltd and Fields Associates Ltd.

For the period between 2000 and 2011, I wish to know:

1.The number of complaints your department received about these companies.

2.Did your department intervene on behalf of any of the complainants, if so what were the outcomes?

3.Have the offices on the Pall Mall ever been visited by Trading Standards officers?

4.Did any interventions by your department result in the issuing of refunds and/or compensation?

5.How many complaints were referred to your department through the Consumer Direct website?

6.How many complaints were referred to Bridgend Trading Standards?

Yours faithfully,

R Ferraro

Westminster City Council

Confirmation of Freedom Of Information Request

Thank you for your request for information.

Your request details have now been recorded and will be passed on to the
appropriate Divisional Records Officer for action.

This Freedom Of Information Request was based on the following
information:

Name: R Ferraro
Address: See email address
Email: [FOI #85927 email]
Telephone:
Request Details:
I refer to the following companies:

Rapid Data Recovery Ltd
company no. 06694289 AND company no. 07257020
www.Rapid-Data.net

Fields Data Recovery Ltd company no. 06695262
www.fields-data-recovery.com

Fields Associates Ltd company no. 04441396
www.fieldsassociates.co.uk

UK Digital Solutions Ltd company no. 04081521
www.ukds.net
www.ukdigitalsolutions.com

The company Rapid Data Recovery Ltd advertises its trading address
as:

100 Pall Mall
St James
London
SW1Y 5NQ

The companies Rapid Data Recovery Ltd and Fields Data Recovery Ltd
state in their invoices that they are trading names for UK Digital
Solutions Ltd and Fields Associates Ltd.

For the period between 2000 and 2011, I wish to know:

1.The number of complaints your department received about these
companies.

2.Did your department intervene on behalf of any of the
complainants, if so what were the outcomes?

3.Have the offices on the Pall Mall ever been visited by Trading
Standards officers?

4.Did any interventions by your department result in the issuing of
refunds and/or compensation?

5.How many complaints were referred to your department through the
Consumer Direct website?

6.How many complaints were referred to Bridgend Trading Standards?

FOI Reference Number: 7682
Target Completion Date: 13/10/2011

Please do not reply to this email.
This is an automatic response to your request, and replies to this message
will not be actioned.

If you need to contact Westminster City Council regarding your request,
please contact:

mailto:[Westminster City Council request email]
Tel:020 7641 3921

show quoted sections

Rovai, June, Westminster City Council

Dear Sir/Madam 

 

Freedom Of Information Request 7682

 

With reference to your enquiry I can advise as follows.

 

This service does not have any  knowledge of the following companies.

 

Fields Data Recovery Ltd

Fields Associates Ltd

UK Digital Solutions Ltd

 

With reference to your request for information concerning Rapid Data
Recovery Ltd as follows:

 

“For the period between 2000 and 2011, I wish to know:    

     1.The number of complaints your department received about these

     companies.    

     2.Did your department intervene on behalf of any of the

     complainants, if so what were the outcomes?    

     3.Have the offices on the Pall Mall ever been visited by Trading

     Standards officers?    

     4.Did any interventions by your department result in the issuing of

     refunds and/or compensation?    

     5.How many complaints were referred to your department through the

     Consumer Direct website?    

     6.How many complaints were referred to Bridgend Trading Standards? “.

 

 

Under section 44(1)(a) Freedom Of Information Act 2000 information is
exempt from disclosure if it ‘is prohibited by or under any enactment’. 
In this case, disclosure is prohibited by Part 9 of the Enterprise Act
2002, which sets out general restrictions and conditions for the
disclosure of specified information held by public authorities. The
information you have requested falls within the meaning of specified
information as defined in Section 237 and 238 of the Enterprise Act. As
such this information is exempt from disclosure. This is an absolute
exemption and not subject to a public interest test.

 

 You have the right of appeal against the decision.  If you wish to
appeal, please set out in writing your grounds of appeal and send to:

 

Knowledge and Information Management Team

Information Services

101 Orchardson Street

London

NW8 8EA

T: 020 7641 3921

E: [1][Westminster City Council request email]

 

 

Yours faithfully

 

June Rovai

 

 

June Rovai
Senior Practitioner
Premises Management
Trading Standards Service
Westminster City Council
5th Floor
City Hall
64 Victoria Street
London SW1E 6QP

Tel: 020 7641 3193
Fax: 020 7641 1702
[email address]

show quoted sections

Dear Rovai, June,

Please answer the questions which do not fall Part 9, especially: The number of complaints your department received about Rapid Data Recovery Ltd between 2000 and 2011.

Take into account that answers were given to similar or identical questions asked about Rapid Data in FOI X01-79.

In the alternative, if you cannot answer the above, perhaps you can let me know the reason(s) why you have refused questions which Bridgend Council are able to answer?

Yours sincerely,

R Ferraro

Rovai, June, Westminster City Council

I am out of the Office until Tues 27 September.  I will respond on my
return.  If the matter is urgent please ring 0207 641 1111

show quoted sections

FOI, Westminster City Council

Dear R Ferraro,

 

Thank you for your recent request for an Internal Review into the handling
of your Freedom of Information request.

 

I can confirm that an Internal Review is in progress and we will aim to
respond within 10 working days.

 

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Knowledge & Information Management Team

 

101 Orchardson Street

London

NW8 8EA

T: 0207 641 3921

F: 0207 641 2872

E: [email address]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

FOI, Westminster City Council

1 Attachment

Dear R Ferraro,

 

Thank you for your recent request for an Internal Review into your Freedom
of Information request.

 

Please find our response attached.

 

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Knowledge & Information Management Team

 

101 Orchardson Street

London

NW8 8EA

T: 0207 641 3921

F: 0207 641 2872

E: [email address]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Dear Westminster City Council,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Westminster City Council's handling of my FOI request 'Complaints to Trading Standards re: Rapid Data Recovery Ltd'.

I would appreciate it if you could simply tell me how many complaints Westminster Council received for the company Rapid Data Recovery. I do not wish to know about premises visits if this precludes my question from being answered.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/co...

Yours faithfully,

R Ferraro

FOI, Westminster City Council

Dear R Ferraro,

 

Thank you for your email of 22^nd March 2012 in respect of your request,
our reference 7682.

 

In your email you have asked for a further Internal Review into your
request, asking if it is possible to limit the request to the number of
complaints about the company only. On review of the previous
correspondence of this case I note that this was included in the scope of
the Internal Review that you requested on 23^rd September 2011.

 

As this has already been addressed I have not undertaken a further
Internal Review into your request. I refer you instead to the Council’s
Internal Review response dated 27^th October 2011 which sets out that the
reasons why the requested information (including number of complaints) is
exempt from provision under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

 

Should you remain dissatisfied with the handling of your request you have
the right to make a complaint to the Information Commissioner pursuant to
section 50 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000. I provide the contact
details for your convenience:

 

Information Commissioner's Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire

SK9 5AF
Tel: 0303 123 1113

Fax: 01625 524 510

Web: [1]www.ico.gov.uk

 

Yours sincerely,

 

 

Knowledge & Information Management Team

 

Westminster City Hall

10th Floor East

64 Victoria Street

London

SW1E 6QP

T: 0207 641 3921

F: 0207 641 2872

E: [email address]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Peter Clout left an annotation ()

I have recently had an unsuccessful recovery of a hard drive from Rapid Data Recovery which followed the pattern of a number of complainants eg: Initial diagnosis, informed heads were faulty had to obtain compatible heads from America, fee £300.00 non refundable whether data recoverable or not, 2 weeks later disc found to be un-recoverable and sent back with apology. The only way of finding out if the disc has had a recovery attempt is to take it to another such company and go through the whole process again incurring further financial cost. Regards Peter Clout.

nigel maddockl left an annotation ()

Similar experience told that 7gb of data is recoverable at a cost of £714 inc vat. Have requested return if disc. Wait to see if it materialises

erpems left an annotation ()

Similar experience, in that I was quoted £450 to get my data off, which I didn't want to pay. I asked for it to be returned instead. At this point they had found loads of files, and sent me a list.

They did return it, after weeks and weeks. However, it now seems they actually damaged it before sending it off.

They were very pleasant until I said I didn't want to pay the £450. From that point onwards it was just abysmal.

Please, do not use this company!

Ali left an annotation ()

They lie about their address i have personally went to the address given in their website and find out they have have one of these virtual receptions there and god knows where they are .they did this because most of people like me think as they have an office in central London they most be genuine unfortunately as i traveled a long distance to get there i have decided to give my hard drive to them . they tell you the diagnostic is free of charge but they only say that to get your hard drive once they get it they put you in a very pressurized situation they told me they need to change something on my drive and they don't guaranty if they can fix it . they have charged me 354 pound and after a week came back to me and said they couldn't fix it and when i asked for a reason they say the ENGINEER DID NOT PROVIDE ANY MORE INFORMATION and they say the only thing they can do now is sending it back which cost me another 12.50 or i can go and collect it from they fake address free of charge . i am beginning to wonder this must be a scam and i am in the process writing to the authority and i have already made contact with WATCH DOG and they have agreed for further details.

Kate Harper left an annotation ()

Similar experience to others. Visited their London office as I had a meeting in London. It is managed office space. I was given a hand written 'receipt' on a scrap of paper by a receptionist. No official documentation with a logo or company information. Probably should have known better at this point! Heard back from their 'technical specialist' who said the heads were damaged and needed replacing at a cost of £418 (on a unit that originally cost £70). He said he would charge me cost for the items. He then suggested that they were confident they could then recover the data for a further cost of £199. When I said it was too expensive he suggested he could reduce the price of the heads to £218 - despite the fact that he had said these would be supplied 'at cost'. When I challenged him on this he became very defensive. The unit was returned promptly, as requested - although I paid for next day delivery (£18). I subsequently took the unit to an IT professional attached to a company I contract for who agreed to look at it as 'a favour' after hearing my tale of woe. He removed the casing and with a small gadget borrowed from a friend recovered the data within minutes. The charge - nothing.... although I made a contribution to his wedding fund as thanks for having my faith restored after being conned by Rapid Data Recovery.

David Clegg left an annotation ()

I had the self-same problem two years ago. Stupidly I thought I'd deleted a load of files from my computer when I re-installed software. In fact I'd simply stored them in a separate folder. Rapid Data were extremely helpful and friendly on the phone (at first). I carefully boxed up my computer and sent it off to them. Almost as soon as I'd sent it I realised my mistake. From that point it was like talking to a bunch of gangsters. I was told they'd already run a 'deep recovery programme' which had taken an entire weekend. I told them that I knew it had not been necessary and that most people with any level of expertise would have been able to see that the information was easily recoverable. They then sent an email saying I had to pay them £700. Then on the phone they offered to cut the fee to about £500 as a 'good will gesture'. I exchanged a series of emails in which they at one point said "We're data recovery experts not computer experts". Eventually after dozens of phone calls and being kept on hold for hours they agreed to return my computer and cancel the fee. I then went to the office (just a desk) and was handed my computer, which had been returned filthy, scratched and with no packaging. The people at the desk said they knew nothing about Rapid Data. All in all a truly appalling service and clearly a scam. Rapid Data are well known for posting their own online positive reviews. Rapid Data only agreed to return my computer and cancel the bill when I informed them that I was a journalist (which I am) and that I would be writing an article about them. Soon after they accidentally copied me into an internal email about my complaint, which was filled with comments such as "We need to deal with this one!!" Probably the worst company I've ever dealt with.

Andrew Butler left an annotation ()

Rapid Data and Fields Data Recovery are amongst numerous Fields Group brands operated by Fields Associates Ltd and part serviced by Fields other operations like UK Digital Solutions and Fields Associates.

Other Fields Group members are
Data Recovery Specialists
Hard Drive Data Recovery

Trading Standards Bridgend FOI request shows 829 complaints , 64 Service requests and 20 Enforfement visits.

Sadly as alarming as those stats may sound most never make a complaint or know that they were dealing with a global document papermill trying to convert into a financial services and pseudo law firm.

Andrew Butler left an annotation ()

Rapid Data is one of several websites operated by Fields Associates Ltd
The company is a part of the Fields Group which operate out of Thailand, Wales and have numerous drop off points internationally.

Fields have several hundred trading standards registered complaints of which 65 have been rewuired to be serviced and over 20 have required Tranding Standard Enforcement officers assisted by police on some occassions to visit the offices at Bridgend.

Some of the names they operate under in data recovery

Fields Data Recovery LLC
Fields Data Recovery Ltd (non trading)
Data Recovery Specialists
Hard drive data recovery
Rapid Data
Computerforensicservices
Fields Associates
Pronto Dati
Salvataggio Dati
Clinica De Datos
Clinique De Donnes
Fields Analytics Co Ltd Thailand
Data Phoenix
Datenphoenix

The Fields Data recovery scam is very lucrative and is emulated and repeated by many of their partners and resellers as a "sector domination" adwords and bing pay per click managed mis selling, mis representation and defrauding consumer operation.

Read more here

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/s...

I have bought the domain www.data-recovery-blog.co.uk and put up some articles about fake positive reviews and the removal of real negative reviews.

Fields Group also operate

Quickie Divorce
Action Direct UK
Managed Divorce
Which Mortgage
Lush Dates
Sugar Daddies
Endevour Law

This pseudo law firm is involved in decieving not only consumers but also their competitors in order to give the impression they are a better company than is reality.

The Fields Group director is Dr Jamie Hamilton Wallis
son of Dr Daryl Hamilton Wallis

Jamie also goes under the pseudonym of James Walsh and has asperations of a political career in the Welsh Assembly as a conservative member .

Beware of this companies web development company UK Digital Solutions Ltd - It was alledged by Fields Associates Ltd head of operations that the idea to make Quickie divorce was stolen from one of their clients.

Fields Group also operate Injunction Direct
Rowland Ferraro and others including myself were served an ex parte HCI injunction (Fields Claim to be the largest injunction serving company in the UK ) but the Injunction was dismissed and Fields settled out of court paying Rowland costs and damages in excess of £70,000 as well as legal costs in excess of £250,000

Fields Associates Ltd staff know they are involved in defrauding consumers and mis selling their services .

Those that have left try to cover up their involvement some living in Thailand or Dubai taking the ill gotten gains with them.