We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Abdul Hai please sign in and let everyone know.

Complaints staff and fees

We're waiting for Abdul Hai to read a recent response and update the status.

Dear The Office of the Small Business Commissioner,

How many staff do you have currently investigating complaints? What are their pay grades? What training are they given and how often are they given additional training in dealing with complaints?

Can you publish the training material?

Also since the 2018 financial year has the Commissioner looked at charging businesses a fee for making complaints? If so can you provide the documents in relation to this?

Yours faithfully,
Abdul Hai

Small Business Commissioner, The Office of the Small Business Commissioner

Dear Mr Hai
 
Case 1228260
 
Thank you for your query received on 2 September 2022. Your query will be
dealt with by Amanda Davis and you will receive a response within 7 days.
If any delay is likely to occur, we will contact you and let you know.
 
 Yours sincerely 
 

Amanda Davis
Caseworker

[1]Email logo Office of the Small Business Commissioner
Victoria Square House, Birmingham, B2 4AJ
Tel: 0121 6957762   
[email address]

 
[2]Contact us about this case
 
NOTE: Please do not edit the subject line when replying to this email.
 

References

Visible links
2. Contact us about this case
https://sbcportal.icasework.com/servlet/...

Small Business Commissioner, The Office of the Small Business Commissioner

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Hai
 
Case 1228260
 
I am writing in response to your request for information under the Freedom
of Information Act 2000, received on 30/08/2022.
 
Please find attached our substantive response to your request.
 
Yours sincerely, 
 

Naheed Aziz
Head of Operations and Policy

[1]Email logo Office of the Small Business Commissioner
Victoria Square House, Birmingham, B2 4AJ
 
[email address]

 
 
Your feedback is important to us, let us know how we responded to this
request by completing this very quick one-click survey.

[2][IMG] [3][IMG] [4][IMG] [5][IMG] [6][IMG]
Very poor Poor Average Good Very good

 
NOTE: Please do not edit the subject line when replying to this email.
 

References

Visible links
2. https://sbcportal.icasework.com/servlet/...
3. https://sbcportal.icasework.com/servlet/...
4. https://sbcportal.icasework.com/servlet/...
5. https://sbcportal.icasework.com/servlet/...
6. https://sbcportal.icasework.com/servlet/...

Dear The Office of the Small Business Commissioner,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of The Office of the Small Business Commissioner's handling of my FOI request 'Complaints staff and fees'.

Hi I believe your decision not to publish pay grades is wrong as many other public bodies publish them and you would have to publish this anyway when recruiting staff.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/c...

Yours faithfully,

Abdul Hai

Small Business Commissioner, The Office of the Small Business Commissioner

Dear Mr Hai
 
 

   
     
   
 Reference : 1228260

 

     

 

  Date 5^rd Oct  2022
      

 Freedom of Information Request- Appeal - Ref 1228260

Original Decision Upheld

 I refer to the appeal which you made under the Freedom of Information Act
2000 ('the Act'), received on 7th September 2022.

 

I am senior to the original decision maker in this case, have reviewed
your request and the response and decided to uphold the original decision
made. This decision is explained below. 

 

Your original request dated 25 August sought access to the following
records:

 

 'How many staff do you have currently investigating complaints? What are
their pay grades? What training are they given and how often are they
given additional training in dealing with complaints? Can you publish the
training material? Also, since the 2018 financial year has the
Commissioner looked at charging businesses a fee for making complaints? If
so, can you provide the documents in relation to this?'

 

 

I note that your appeal was confined to the disclosure of specific pay
grades relating to those staff managing complaints. As indicated earlier,
I can confirm that the Commissioner holds information relating to staff
pay scales, but in this instance, we will not be providing it to you as it
is exempt from disclosure under Section 40(2) of the Freedom of
Information Act 2000. Given the small size of our department, the release
of such information could make it possible to identify the salaries of
individual members of staff and as such the release of this information
would contravene the first data protection principle in that it may
constitute personal data. Therefore section 40(2) applies. The terms of
this exemption in the relevant Act mean that we do not have to consider
whether it would be in the public interest for you to have the
information. In arriving at this decision, I have had regard to the
original request and the appeal letter which you submitted.

 

Having regard to the aforementioned I have decided to uphold the decision
made by the original decision maker and I have enclosed again for your
attention a copy of the relevant sections of the Act which this decision
relies on.

 

You can find out more information by reading the full text of the relevant
Act ([1]https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/200...)

 

The Data Protection Act can be found at the following link
(https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/199...)

 

Appeals procedure

 

If you are dissatisfied with the handling of your request, you have the
right to ask for an internal review. Internal review requests should be
submitted within two months of the date of receipt of the response to your
original request and should be addressed to the Information Rights &
Records Unit. It would be helpful if you can tell us why you are
dissatisfied with the response to your request so we may address this
during the internal review.

 

Information Rights & Records Unit

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

1 Victoria Street

London

SW1H 0ET

Email: [2][email address]

 

Please remember to quote the reference number above in any future
communications.

 

If you are not content with the outcome of the internal review, you have
the right to apply directly to the Information Commissioner for a
decision. Complaints can be made to the Information Commissioner via their
website at:
[3]https://ico.org.uk/make-a-complaint/offi...

 

Yours Sincerely,

 

Liz Barclay

 

Small Business Commissioner

 

 
 

[4]Email logo Office of the Small Business Commissioner
Victoria Square House, Birmingham, B2 4AJ

 
 
NOTE: Please do not edit the subject line when replying to this email.
 

References

Visible links
1. https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/200...
2. mailto:[email address]
3. https://ico.org.uk/make-a-complaint/offi...

Abdul Hai left an annotation ()

I will be making a complaint to the ICO about this.

Abdul Hai left an annotation ()

I believe that the decision is wrong as they would have to publish salary details when appointing people to the post. Also the size is a factor but that should not be sued to not dicslose the number of staff and their salary bands.

Abdul Hai left an annotation ()

My complaint has been accepted by the ICO and is waiting to be allocated.

Abdul Hai left an annotation ()

19 October 2022 Our reference: IC-195717-H2S2 Dear Abdul Hai, Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA) Your FOIA request to The Office of the Small Business Commissioner dated 25 August 2022 about complaints handlers. Further to our letter of 10 October 2022, I write to inform you that your case has now been allocated to me to investigate. The request On 25 August 2022 you requested information of the following description “How many staff do you have currently investigating complaints? What are their pay grades? What training are they given and how often are they given additional training in dealing with complaints? Can you publish the training material? Also since the 2018 financial year has the Commissioner looked at charging businesses a fee for making complaints? If so can you provide the documents in relation to this?” The Office of the Small Business Commissioner (‘OSBC’) responded on 6 September 2022. It confirmed it did not charge fees for its services. It also confirmed it held information relating to pay scales but this would not be released under section 40(2) (personal information). It also confirmed that the training materials you had requested were exempt under section 43(2) (commercial interests). The OSBC didn’t address your request for the number of staff currently investigating complaints. You requested an internal review on 7 September 2022, you specifically raised your concern about the decision to withhold the pay scale information under section 40(2) but no other part of your request. The OSBC sent you the outcome of its internal review on 6 October 2022. It upheld its original position in relation to section 40(2).
What we need from you Before I can take this case forward I need more information from you. Please can you confirm what the grounds of your complaint are: • Are you concerned with the OSBC’s decision to withhold the pay scale information under section 40(2)? • Are you concerned with the OSBC’s decision to withhold the training materials under section 43(2)? • Are you concerned that the OSBC has failed to address your request for the number of staff currently investigating complaints? • Are you concerned with all of the above? To summarise, please confirm which of the above bullet points you are concerned with. I will not be able to begin my investigation until you have provided this information. If we don’t hear from you within ten working days, that is by 2 November 2022, we will assume that you no longer wish to pursue this matter and close this case. If you have any queries at any time you are welcome to write to me at the above address, at icocasework@ico.org.uk (please ensure that you quote the above case reference) or by telephoning me on 0330 313 1879. Yours sincerely

Abdul Hai left an annotation ()

I have said in response my complaint is about them not disclosing the number of staff and their salary bands.

Small Business Commissioner, The Office of the Small Business Commissioner

8 Attachments

  • Attachment

    FOI AbdulHAI Appeal.docx

    106K Download View as HTML

  • Attachment

    image001.png 01D8E3DE.14069450.png

    145K Download

  • Attachment

    image002.jpg 01D8E3DE.14069450.jpeg.jpg

    1K Download

  • Attachment

    image003.jpg 01D8E3DE.14069450.jpeg.jpg

    0K Download

  • Attachment

    image004.png 01D8E3DE.14069450.png

    0K Download

  • Attachment

    image005.png 01D8E3DE.14069450.png

    1K Download

  • Attachment

    image006.png 01D8E3DE.14069450.png

    1K Download

  • Attachment

    Email from jacqueline.moore smallbusinesscommissioner.gov.uk 1228260.pdf

    176K Download View as HTML

══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════════

From: [email address]
To: [email address]
Sent: 19/10/2022 17:14

 

 

 

Jacqueline Moore

Casework Manager

Prompt Payment Code

Administrators of the Prompt Payment Code

[1][IMG]  

Office of the Small Business Commissioner

23 Stephenson Street, Birmingham, B2 4AJ

Tel: 0121 695 7760

[mobile number]
[2][email address]

 

[3][IMG]   [4][IMG]    [5][IMG]   [6][IMG]     

 

 

 

References

Visible links
1. https://eur02.safelinks.protection.outlo...
2. mailto:[email address]
3. https://eur02.safelinks.protection.outlo...
4. https://eur02.safelinks.protection.outlo...
5. https://eur02.safelinks.protection.outlo...
6. https://eur02.safelinks.protection.outlo...

Abdul Hai left an annotation ()

I have contacted the ICO to say that I have accepted this and asked for my complaint to be closed.

We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Abdul Hai please sign in and let everyone know.