Complaints regarding the iBus system

The request was successful.

Dear Transport for London,

I would like to make the following request under the Freedom of Information Act:

- The number of complaints made by staff of Transport for London or its contracted bus operators from November 2010 to June 2012, concerning the operation of the iBus system.

- The number of complaints made by customers in the same time period.

- Any complaints logs created during the same time period regarding the iBus system.

Yours faithfully,

Sam Urquhart

FOI, Transport for London

Dear Mr Urquhart

 

TfL Ref:  FOI-0478-1213

 

Thank you for your email received by Transport for London (TfL) on 20 June
2012 asking for information about complaints regarding the iBus system.

 

Your request will be processed in accordance with the requirements of the
Freedom of Information Act and TfL’s information access policy. 

 

A response will be provided to you by 19 July 2012.

 

In the meantime, if you would like to discuss this matter further, please
do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Graham Hurt

FOI Case Officer

 

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

[1][TfL request email]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

FOI, Transport for London

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Urquhart

 

TfL Ref:  FOI-0478-1213

 

Thank you for your email received by Transport for London (TfL) on 20 June
2012 asking for information about complaints regarding the iBus system.

 

Your request has been considered under the requirements of the Freedom of
Information Act 2000 and TfL’s information access policy. I can confirm
that TfL does hold some of the information you require. You asked for:

 

1. The number of complaints made by staff of Transport for London or its
contracted bus operators from November 2010 to June 2012, concerning the
operation of the iBus system.

    

2. The number of complaints made by customers in the same time period.

 

During the period November 2010 – June 2012 our Customer Services recorded
the following numbers of correspondence in relation to the iBus system:

 

iBus - Approval 6
iBus - Faulty/Missing/incorrect information 219
iBus - Frequency of Announcements 18
iBus - Request for information 35
iBus - Volume of announcements 39
Grand Total 317

 

However, any enquiries received about the iBus system are also included in the
above figures, therefore the total correspondence received for the period you
have specified will not necessarily all be complaints.  Unfortunately we are
unable to separate enquiries and complaints without checking each piece of
correspondence (a task which would be likely to cause us to exceed the cost
limit prescribed in the Freedom of Information and Data Protection (Appropriate
Limit and Fees) Regulations 2004) so we can not advise you on the exact number
of complaints received about the iBus system.

 

We would expect that the majority of complaints or enquiries received by
Customer Services are from the general public. However, if any members of
staff or bus operators contacted Customer Services then these contacts
would also be included within the figures above. Again we do not hold
separate figures for correspondence received from customers and members of
staff.

 

3. Any complaints logs created during the same time period regarding the
iBus system.

 

We are unclear at this stage what you are asking for in the above
question.  If you could clarify further what specific information you
require with regards to ‘complaint logs’ then we will be happy to look at
your request further.

 

If this is not the information you are looking for please do not hesitate
to contact me.

 

If you are not satisfied with this response please see the attached
information sheet for details of your right to appeal.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Graham Hurt

FOI Case Officer

 

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

[1][TfL request email]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Dear Mr Hunt,

Many thanks for your reply to my FOI request.

You write that "we are unable to separate enquiries and complaints without checking each piece of
correspondence (a task which would be likely to cause us to exceed the cost limit prescribed in the Freedom of Information and Data Protection (Appropriate
Limit and Fees) Regulations 2004) so we can not advise you on the exact number of complaints received about the iBus system."

However, I have previously made the same request to TFL on two occasions. In both instances, I received a comprehensive spreadsheet log which separated enquiries and complaints. Am I to believe that in those cases the cost exceeded limits proscribed by the 2004 regulations and that the FOI team waived them in the interests of public disclosure, or that you are stonewalling to prevent the release of more up to date logs? Some clarification would be useful.

You also request clarification from myself regarding "Any complaints logs created during the same time period regarding the iBus system." I cannot clarify any further, because the request is quite clear. Either such logs exist, or they do not. In the past, as I say, I have been provided with data showing the kinds of complaints/enquiries, the date, a short description of the problem and the way in which the problem was communicated to TFL. Am I to suppose that such logging has been abandoned, or that you do not know about it? If so, why?

I would appreciate a more substantial response.

Yours sincerely,

Sam Urquhart

FOI, Transport for London

Our ref: IRV-059-1213

 

Dear Mr Urquhart

 

Thank you for your request for an internal review which was received by
Transport for London (TfL) on 17 July 2012.

 

You have stated that you are dissatisfied with the handling of your
request for information under the Freedom of Information Act, and the use
of the cost exemption.

 

The review will be conducted by an internal review panel in accordance
with TfL’s Internal Review Procedure, which is available via the following
URL:

 

[1]http://www.tfl.gov.uk/assets/downloads/f...

 

Every effort will be made to provide you with a response to your complaint
by 15 August 2012.  However, if the review will not be completed by this
date, we will contact you and notify you of the revised response date as
soon as possible.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Graham Hurt

FOI Case Officer

 

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

[2][TfL request email]

 

 

show quoted sections

Sloane Peter, Transport for London

1 Attachment

9 October 2012

 

Our reference: IRV-059-1213

 

Dear Mr Urquhart

 

The internal review of Transport for London’s (TfL) handling of your
Freedom of Information (FOI) request for information concerning complaints
and comments about the iBus system, has now been completed. I am sorry
about the delay in providing you with this response.

 

The review has agreed with your concern that the response did not address
your request adequately, particularly the final part, and accepts that it
would have been difficult for you to provide additional clarification
particularly in view of the responses that you had received to your
previous requests.

 

Please find attached the logging information that should have been
provided to you previously. It appears that the confusion arose from an
administrative error as the case officer initially sought information from
the iBus team, who confirmed that they did hold relevant information but
did not separate out complaints and enquiries, so this could only be
established by checking each record, which is where the potential cost
implications arose.

 

However, this information was also recorded by the customer services team,
who do log contacts as enquiries or complaints and who had provided the
reports previously released to you. I am sorry about this oversight and
any frustration or inconvenience this may have caused you. I can also
confirm that, while the customer services team log iBus-related contacts,
these are contained within a larger customer services database, rather
than as a separate iBus log, which may be where some of the confusion
arose. The attached information is the result of running a report to
extract the iBus contacts from the database. However, the original
response was correct to state that we do not record customer or staff
contacts regarding iBus separately, so we are unable to provide you with
figures on this specific point.

 

I would also note that the overall total in the attached figures has
changed by 6. This is the result of a number of re-opened Service Tickets,
where a customer has come back regarding the same incident as raised
previously.

 

On behalf of TfL, please accept my apologies for the shortcomings in the
handling of your request. However, if you are dissatisfied with the
outcome of this internal review, you can refer the matter to the
independent authority responsible for enforcing the Freedom of Information
Act, at the following address.

 

Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire SK9 5AF

 

A complaint form is also available on the ICO’s website
([1]www.ico.gov.uk).

 

Yours sincerely

 

Peter Sloane | Senior Information Governance Adviser (Enforcement and
Complaints)

Information Governance | General Counsel | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

E: [2][email address]

 

TfL has recently adopted an ‘information security classification scheme’
to help protect its information assets. If you work for TfL or one of its
subsidiaries and want to find out how this affects you, see the new
[3]Quick Guide or visit [4]Source for more information.

 

show quoted sections

 

References

Visible links
1. http://www.ico.gov.uk/
2. mailto:[email address]
3. http://source.tfl/pdfs/IA_QG1_Informatio...
4. http://source.tfl/OurCompany/Governance/...

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org