Complaints regarding FirstGroup Staffordshire

Sean Burton made this Freedom of Information request to Stoke on Trent City Council

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

The request was successful.

Dear Stoke on Trent City Council,
Under the Freedom of Information act, please provide the following information:

1.The exact number of complaints lodged against FirstGroup in Staffordshire & South Cheshire between:
April 2010 - December 2010
April 2011 - December 2011
April 2012 - December 2012
April 2013 - December 2013

2. The reasons why these complaints were lodged, including but not limited to:
Late services
Complaints against drivers (EG, their attitude/rudeness)
Complaints against other passengers
Complaints regarding the bus station (both the old site and new)
Complaints regarding condition of buses
Any miscellaneous complaints

3. The number of dismissals and/or disciplinary actions taken against necessary parties as as result of these complaints

4. If held, please provide a list of the services with the highest number of complaints.

Please provide the above information in a Word Document or Excel table format, with exact figures rather than percentages.

Yours faithfully,

Sean Burton

FOI, Stoke on Trent City Council

Dear Mr Burton

Your request for information ref. SOT29783

Thank you for your request for information.  Your request was received by
the Information Rights Team on 18 December 2013.  This is being dealt with
under the terms of the appropriate Information Rights legislation.

In some circumstances we may charge for information.  If there is a charge
we will let you know, as you will have to pay it before we deal with your
request.

Some information does not have to be released under this legislation.  We
will check the information you have asked for and send you as much as
possible.  If another person or organisation is named in the information,
we may have to ask their opinion before we decide what we can give you.

 

You should expect to receive a response to your request on or before 22
January 2014 in line with the legislation's 20 working day statutory
deadline.

 

For your information we may publish the response to your request on our
City Council's website, which can be found at the following address:
[1]www.stoke.gov.uk.

 

If you have any queries about this email please do not hesitate to contact
us.

Yours sincerely

 

Information Rights

 

Information Rights | Corporate Services

Floor 2 Civic Centre Glebe Street

Stoke-on-Trent ST4 1HH

City of Stoke-on-Trent 

t 01782 232853

e [2][Stoke on Trent City Council request email]

 

 

show quoted sections

FOI, Stoke on Trent City Council

Dear Mr Burton

 

Your request for information ref. SOT29783 about complaints relating to
First Group

 

We have now considered your request for information and a copy of the
information is attached below.

 

The information supplied may be used for domestic or journalistic
purposes.  Its use for commercial gain including issuing to the public,
social media or computer blogs may be subject to the issue of a licence
under the Reuse of Public Sector Information Regulations 2005.

 

Request:

 

1.    The exact number of complaints lodged against FirstGroup in
Staffordshire & South Cheshire between:

 

April 2010 - December 2010

April 2011 - December 2011

April 2012 - December 2012

April 2013 - December 2013

 

2.    The reasons why these complaints were lodged, including but not
limited to:

Late services

Complaints against drivers (EG, their attitude/rudeness) Complaints
against other passengers Complaints regarding the bus station (both the
old site and new)

Complaints regarding condition of buses  

Any miscellaneous complaints

 

3.    The number of dismissals and/or disciplinary actions  taken against
necessary parties as as result of these complaints

 

4.    If held, please provide a list of the services with the highest
number of complaints.

 

Response:

 

First Group take care of their own complaints.  Should a member of the
public complain to council staff about any aspects of First's operation,
we provide First's contact details so that they can have direct
correspondence (or indeed, at the bus station, wherever possible we
arrange for a member of First staff to meet them in person).

 

The only item we are able to assist with is part of item 2, regarding
complaints about the bus station sites.  Despite adverse coverage in local
media, very few complaints have been made formally about either site, and
depending on the nature of the complaint these were sometimes responded to
by highways colleagues rather than via any formal process and therefore
are not recorded.

 

 

If you have any queries about this email, please do not hesitate to
contact us.

 

If you are unhappy with the service you have received in relation to your
request and wish to make a complaint or request a review of our decision,
you should write to: Information Rights Manager, Customer Feedback and
Information Rights Team, Corporate Services, Stoke-on-Trent City Council,
Floor 2, Civic Centre, Glebe Street, ST4 1HH, or email
[1][Stoke on Trent City Council request email].

 

If, after contacting us, you are not content with the outcome, you may ask
the Information Commissioner for a decision. Generally, the Information
Commissioner cannot make a decision unless you have already used our
internal review procedure. The Information Commissioner can be contacted
at: The Information Commissioner’s Office, Wycliffe House, Water Lane,
Wilmslow, Cheshire, SK9 5AF, tel: 0303 123 1113 or you can visit their
website at [2]www.ico.gov.uk/complaints.aspx.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Information Rights

 

Information Rights | Customer Access

Customer Feedback & Information Rights Team, Corporate Services

City of Stoke-on-Trent

Civic Centre  Glebe Street  Stoke-on-Trent  ST4 1HH

T: 01782 232853

E: [3][Stoke on Trent City Council request email]

 

 

 

Dear Stoke on Trent City Council,

Under the Freedom of Information act, please provide the following
information:

 

1.The exact number of complaints lodged against FirstGroup in
Staffordshire & South Cheshire between:

April 2010 - December 2010

April 2011 - December 2011

April 2012 - December 2012

April 2013 - December 2013

 

2. The reasons why these complaints were lodged, including but not limited
to:

Late services

Complaints against drivers (EG, their attitude/rudeness) Complaints
against other passengers Complaints regarding the bus station (both the
old site and new)

Complaints regarding condition of buses  

Any miscellaneous complaints

 

3. The number of dismissals and/or disciplinary actions  taken against
necessary parties as as result of these complaints

 

4. If held, please provide a list of the services with the highest number
of complaints.

 

Please provide the above information in a Word Document or Excel table
format, with exact figures rather than percentages.

 

Yours faithfully,

 

Sean Burton

 

 

Stoke-on-Trent City Council trade waste services. A locally based,
friendly service at competitive prices. To find out more visit
stoke.gov.uk/tradewaste or for a quote contact [4][email address]

**********************************************************************
Our vision is to provide Excellent Services, Valued by Customers, if you
think we have given you a good service, please click here to find out
about our awards: [5]www.stoke.gov.uk/wowawards
 

show quoted sections

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[Stoke on Trent City Council request email]
2. http://www.ico.gov.uk/complaints.aspx
3. mailto:[Stoke on Trent City Council request email]
4. mailto:[email address]
5. http://www.stoke.gov.uk/wowawards

Dear Stoke on Trent City Council,

Thank you for your response. Where you claim there were 'very few' complaints given against the stations, could you please give the exact number of complaints for both stations? And if possible, could you please reply with the contact details for FirstGroup that you pass on to the public when they put in their complaint to you?

I understand and expected that First held their own complaints, but it only dawned on me a few days after posting the request.

Yours sincerely,

Sean Burton

FOI, Stoke on Trent City Council

Dear Mr Burton

Your request for information ref. SOT30168

Thank you for your request for information.  Your request was received by
the Information Rights Team on 13 January 2014.  This is being dealt with
under the terms of the appropriate Information Rights legislation.

In some circumstances we may charge for information.  If there is a charge
we will let you know, as you will have to pay it before we deal with your
request.

Some information does not have to be released under this legislation.  We
will check the information you have asked for and send you as much as
possible.  If another person or organisation is named in the information,
we may have to ask their opinion before we decide what we can give you.

 

You should expect to receive a response to your request on or before 10
February 2014 in line with the legislation's 20 working day statutory
deadline.

 

For your information we may publish the response to your request on our
City Council's website, which can be found at the following address:
[1]www.stoke.gov.uk.

 

If you have any queries about this email please do not hesitate to contact
us.

Yours sincerely

 

Information Rights

 

Information Rights | Corporate Services

Floor 2 Civic Centre Glebe Street

Stoke-on-Trent ST4 1HH

City of Stoke-on-Trent 

t 01782 232853

e [2][Stoke on Trent City Council request email]

 

 

show quoted sections

FOI, Stoke on Trent City Council

Dear Mr Burton

 

Your request for information ref. SOT30168 relating to complaints about
bus stations

 

We have now considered your request for information and a copy of the
information is attached below.

 

The information supplied may be used for domestic or journalistic
purposes.  Its use for commercial gain including issuing to the public,
social media or computer blogs may be subject to the issue of a licence
under the Reuse of Public Sector Information Regulations 2005.

 

 

Question:

Where you claim there were 'very few' complaints given against the
stations, could you please give the exact number of complaints for both
stations?

 

Response:

Since the opening of the new bus station at the City Centre we have
received and responded to 11 comments and complaints regarding either the
City Centre Bus Station or Longton Interchange.

 

Question:

And if possible, could you please reply with the contact details for
FirstGroup that you pass on to the public when they put in their complaint
to you? 

 

Response:

The number for Customer Enquiries and Complaints for First Potteries is
08456 020 121.

 

 

If you have any queries about this email, please do not hesitate to
contact us.

 

If you are unhappy with the service you have received in relation to your
request and wish to make a complaint or request a review of our decision,
you should write to: Information Rights Manager, Customer Feedback and
Information Rights Team, Corporate Services, Stoke-on-Trent City Council,
Floor 2, Civic Centre, Glebe Street, ST4 1HH, or email
[1][Stoke on Trent City Council request email].

 

If, after contacting us, you are not content with the outcome, you may ask
the Information Commissioner for a decision. Generally, the Information
Commissioner cannot make a decision unless you have already used our
internal review procedure. The Information Commissioner can be contacted
at: The Information Commissioner’s Office, Wycliffe House, Water Lane,
Wilmslow, Cheshire, SK9 5AF, tel: 0303 123 1113 or you can visit their
website at [2]www.ico.gov.uk/complaints.aspx.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Information Rights

 

Information Rights | Customer Access

Customer Feedback & Information Rights Team, Corporate Services

City of Stoke-on-Trent

Civic Centre  Glebe Street  Stoke-on-Trent  ST4 1HH

T: 01782 232853

E: [3][Stoke on Trent City Council request email]

 

 

 

Dear Stoke on Trent City Council,

 

Thank you for your response. Where you claim there were 'very few'
complaints given against the stations, could you please give the exact
number of complaints for both stations? And if possible, could you please
reply with the contact details for FirstGroup that you pass on to the
public when they put in their complaint to you? 

 

I understand and expected that First held their own complaints, but it
only dawned on me a few days after posting the request. 

 

Yours sincerely,

 

Sean Burton

 

 

Stoke-on-Trent City Council trade waste services. A locally based,
friendly service at competitive prices. To find out more visit
stoke.gov.uk/tradewaste or for a quote contact [4][email address]

**********************************************************************
Our vision is to provide Excellent Services, Valued by Customers, if you
think we have given you a good service, please click here to find out
about our awards: [5]www.stoke.gov.uk/wowawards
 

show quoted sections

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[Stoke on Trent City Council request email]
2. http://www.ico.gov.uk/complaints.aspx
3. mailto:[Stoke on Trent City Council request email]
4. mailto:[email address]
5. http://www.stoke.gov.uk/wowawards