Complaints of prejudice against OSCR II

Oysterman made this Freedom of Information request to Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

Waiting for an internal review by Scottish Public Services Ombudsman of their handling of this request.

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

I hear by make this legal request for information under HM Freedom of Information (Scotland) 2002.

Please may SPSO supply to the public.

A) How many complaints regarding OSCR (The Office Of The Scottish Chairty Regulator) were submitted to SPSO from
members of the Public.

B) How many of these complaints alleged discrimination or
victimisation.

C) How many of the complaints as numbered in A were of poor or failed service.

E) How many complaints as requested in A) B) and C) were upheld by SPSO ? How many were not ?

Please deliver satisfaction of my request within the limits of law.

Thank you,

Oysterman.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Sir/Madam

 

Your request for information reference IR201202826

 

Thank you for your email.

 

We will be dealing with your request in line with the Freedom of
Information (Scotland) Act 2002.  The Act states that we must reply to you
within 20 working days of us receiving your request.  This means we will
reply to you by 31 October at the latest.  We will, of course, reply
sooner if we are able to do so.

 

If you have any queries in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact
us.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Helen Littlemore

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

 

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS

T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

 

Email: [1][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Web: [2]www.spso.org.uk

 

show quoted sections

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Sir/Madam

 

Your request for information reference IR201202826

 

I refer to your email of 3 October 2012.  In your email you ask:

 

A) How many complaints regarding OSCR (The Office Of The Scottish Chairty
Regulator) were submitted to SPSO from members of the Public.

B) How many of these complaints alleged discrimination or victimisation.

C) How many of the complaints as numbered in A were of poor or failed
service.

E) How many complaints as requested in A) B) and C) were upheld by SPSO ?
How many were not ?

 

Your request has been processed in line with the Freedom of Information
(Scotland) Act 2002 (FOISA), and I can now respond as follows.

 

The SPSO has received nine complaints to date against OSCR.  I have
provided the available subject and outcome details for each of these nine
complaints in the tables below, taken directly from our case handling
system via a reporting tool.  Statistics are also available on our website
at [1]http://www.spso.org.uk/statistics.  Our legislation prohibits us
from disclosing information we have obtained in respect of a complaint,
except in certain circumstances, and we are not able to statistically
extract the specific subject detail you have requested.  It might,
however, be helpful to explain that the SPSO looks into complaints where a
member of the public claims to have suffered injustice or hardship as a
result of maladministration or service failure.             

 

Three complaints were closed at the [2]Advice stage of our process.  The
subject and outcome details for these three complaints are as follows.

 

Subject Outcome
Ombudsmen - Complaints Discontinued - Further information
handling required from complainant
Ombudsmen - Premature - Local process not formally
Policy/administration tried
Unknown Premature - Complaints procedure not
attempted (complainant not aware of
complaints procedure)

 

Two complaints were closed at the [3]Early Resolution stage of our
process.  The subject and outcome details for these two complaints are as
follows.

 

Subject Outcome
Ombudsmen - Complaints Matter out of jurisdiction
handling (non-discretionary) - No complaint of
maladministration or service failure
Ombudsmen - Complaints Premature - Complainant believes they have
handling put in a complaint but have not

 

Three complaints were closed and one is ongoing at the [4]Investigation
stage of our process.  The subject and outcome details for these four
complaints are as follows.

 

Subject Outcome
Other devolved Discretionary decision not to pursue - No
administration, not maladministration or service failure
otherwise covered
Commissioners & Premature - Local process not formally
Ombudsmen tried
Ombudsmen - Complaints Complaint partly upheld
handling
Ombudsmen - Complaints Ongoing
handling

 

Yours sincerely,        

 

Helen Littlemore

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

 

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS

T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

 

Email: [5][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Web: [6]www.spso.org.uk

 

YOUR RIGHT TO REQUEST A REVIEW

You have a right under section 20(1) of FOISA to request a review of any
part of this decision, or of the handling of your request.  If you wish to
exercise this right, you must write to the SPSO to request a review within
40 working days of receipt of this decision.  In your request for a review
you must specify your name and address for correspondence.  You must also
identify the decision that you wish to have reviewed, or the aspect of the
handling of your request that you are unhappy with.  Should you wish to
request a review, please address your request to Niki Maclean, Director,
Scottish Public Services Ombudsman, 4 Melville Street, Edinburgh, EH3 7NS,
Email:  [7][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email].

YOUR RIGHT OF APPEAL

If you are dissatisfied with the outcome of any review carried out by the
SPSO, you have a right under FOISA to appeal to the Scottish Information
Commissioner.  If you wish to do so, you must appeal to the Commissioner
within six months following the date of receipt of the review notice.  The
Commissioner’s contact details are as follows:  The Scottish Information
Commissioner, Kinburn Castle, Doubledykes Road, St Andrews, KY16 9DS,
Email:  [8][email address], Tel:  01334 464610.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: SPSO_Ask
Sent: 04 October 2012 12:42
To: '[FOI #131883 email]'
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information request - Complaints of prejudice
against OSCR II

 

Dear Sir/Madam

 

Your request for information reference IR201202826

 

Thank you for your email.

 

We will be dealing with your request in line with the Freedom of
Information (Scotland) Act 2002.  The Act states that we must reply to you
within 20 working days of us receiving your request.  This means we will
reply to you by 31 October at the latest.  We will, of course, reply
sooner if we are able to do so.

 

If you have any queries in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact
us.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Helen Littlemore

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

 

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS

T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

 

Email: [9][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Web: [10]www.spso.org.uk

 

show quoted sections

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Scottish Public Services Ombudsman's handling of my FOI request 'Complaints of prejudice against OSCR II'.

I ask the Ombudsman to supply more detail in regards the complaint that was partially upheld. I believe it is in the public interest to know what the complaint alleged and on what parts it was upheld/what parts it was not. I do not seek the name of the complainant.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/co...

Yours faithfully,

Oysterman

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Sir/Madam

 

Your request for review reference IR201202826

 

Thank you for your email.

 

I have passed your request for a review to Niki Maclean, Director, who
will consider it and respond to you promptly, but in any event no later
than 27 November 2012.

 

If you have any queries in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact
us.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Helen Littlemore

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

 

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS

T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

Email: [1][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Web: [2]www.spso.org.uk

 

show quoted sections

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Sir/Madam

 

Your request for review reference IR201202826

 

I refer to your email of 31 October 2012.  In your email you ask for a
review of the handling or your FOI request 'Complaints of prejudice
against OSCR II', specifically, you request more detail in regards the
complaint that was partially upheld, as you believe it is in the public
interest to know what the complaint alleged and on what parts it was
upheld/what parts it was not. You confirmed that you do not seek the name
of the complainant.

 

Your request for review has been passed to me to consider and I can now
respond as follows.

 

On 3 October 2012 you asked:

 

A) How many complaints regarding OSCR (The Office Of The Scottish Chairty
Regulator) were submitted to SPSO from members of the Public.

B) How many of these complaints alleged discrimination or victimisation.

C) How many of the complaints as numbered in A were of poor or failed
service.

E) How many complaints as requested in A) B) and C) were upheld by SPSO ?
How many were not ?

 

You were provided with the standard subject and outcome details for the
complaints, which we use for reporting our annual statistics, as recorded
in our complaints handling system.  The response to your request
explained, however, that our legislation prohibits us from disclosing
information we have obtained in respect of a complaint, except in certain
circumstances. 

 

Section 19 of the Scottish Public Services Ombudsman Act 2002 details that
information obtained in connection with any matter in respect of which a
complaint has been made must not be disclosed except for any of the
purposes specified in the Act, such as for the purposes of any
consideration or report on the complaint.  The release of information
under FOISA is not one of those purposes specified in the Act.  This means
that the more detailed information about the complaint that you have
requested is exempt under section 26(a) of FOISA (prohibited by or under
an enactment).  This is an absolute exemption, which means that the SPSO
are not required to consider any other factor such as where the balance of
the public interest lies in relation to the information.

 

After conducting my review of your request for information, I am satisfied
that you have been provided all the information that we are required to
release in response to your request under FOISA.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Niki Maclean

Director

 

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS

T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

 

Email: [1][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Web: [2]www.spso.org.uk

 

 

YOUR RIGHT OF APPEAL

If you are dissatisfied with the outcome of any review carried out by the
SPSO following your request for information, you have a right under FOISA
to appeal to the Scottish Information Commissioner.  If you wish to do so,
you must appeal to the Commissioner within six months following the date
of receipt of the review notice.  The Commissioner’s contact details are
as follows:  The Scottish Information Commissioner, Kinburn Castle,
Doubledykes Road, St Andrews, KY16 9DS, Email: 
[3][email address], Tel:  01334 464610.

 

From: SPSO_Ask
Sent: 01 November 2012 12:02
To: '[FOI #131883 email]'
Subject: RE: Internal review of Freedom of Information request -
Complaints of prejudice against OSCR II

 

Dear Sir/Madam

 

Your request for review reference IR201202826

 

Thank you for your email.

 

I have passed your request for a review to Niki Maclean, Director, who
will consider it and respond to you promptly, but in any event no later
than 27 November 2012.

 

If you have any queries in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact
us.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Helen Littlemore

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

 

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS

T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

 

Email: [4][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Web: [5]www.spso.org.uk

 

show quoted sections

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

I shall refer this issue to HM Freedom of Information Commissioner for Scotland for there arbitration.

Oysterman

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Oysterman left an annotation ()

 
Dear ******* *******
 
Application for Decision by the Scottish Information Commissioner
Public Authority: Scottish Public Services Ombudsman
 
I refer to your email of 27 November 2012 applying for a decision from the Scottish Information Commissioner about the way in which Scottish Public Services Ombudsman (SPSO) dealt with your request for information dated 3 October 2012 regarding the investigation of a complaint.
 
For an application to the Commissioner to be legally valid, it must comply with certain requirements laid down in the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 (FOISA) / the Environmental Information (Scotland) Regulations 2004 (the EIRs). Unfortunately, after checking through your application, I have found that it does not meet all of those requirements.  
 
You must have asked for recorded information from a Scottish public authority and you must have done so either in writing or in some other permanent form (e.g. an audio of video recording), giving your name and an address for correspondence.
 
Unfortunately, you gave your name as ‘oysterman’ in your request, which is a pseudonym.  You didn’t clarify with the SPSO what your real name was to make your request valid.
 
I have also investigated with the SPSO to check if they had sought your name before processing your request to the review stage.  They have confirmed that they did not seek your name.  
 
As you know the Commissioner does not have the power to investigate cases if they are invalid.
 
I have discussed a way forward for you with the SPSO.  They have agreed that it would be acceptable for you to re-send your request again, if you would like to do so.  
 
/Continued overleaf
 
I would advise you to use your real name when making requests.  However, if you are going to use ‘oysterman’ again, the SPSO are now aware of how to advise you to make a valid request for information - by asking you for your real name, which you in turn will need to confirm.
 
If you would like to send your request again, you can email it to: ask@spso.org.uk
 
As you did not provide your real name in your request, I am sorry to advise you that your application with the SPSO is not valid in terms of section 47 of FOISA and the Commissioner does not have the power to carry out an investigation into your case.
 
Before you can make an application to the Commissioner, you will need to follow my advice above (if you want to) by sending in the request originally made on 3 October 2012 again.
 
When applying to the Commissioner again, you must provide her with the following information, all set out clearly and logically and either in writing or in some other permanent form (e.g. an audio of video recording):
 
• Your name and address (or an address for correspondence);
 
• Details of your request for information;
 
• Why you were dissatisfied with the outcome of your information request and sought a review from the authority; and
 
• Why you are dissatisfied with the outcome of your request for review, or (where you have not received a response) with the authority’s failure to respond to your request.
 
To help you make a further information request (and a new application to the Commissioner, if necessary), I have provided a link for you to download a copy of the Commissioner’s booklet “Your Right to Know”.  If you have any queries about this letter, please contact me on 01334 464610 or pkeith@itspublicknowledge.info.
 
http://www.itspublicknowledge.info/YourR...
 
 
Yours sincerely
 
 
 
Pauline Keith
Validation Officer

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

I re-submit a previous FOIS request as I have been informed it seems by our information commissioner that the execution and handling of the request by both myself and the respondent seems to botched so to speak.

Therefore I re-submit.

-------------

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

I hear by make this legal request for information under HM Freedom
of Information (Scotland) 2002.

Please may SPSO supply to the public.

A) How many complaints regarding OSCR (The Office Of The Scottish
Chairty Regulator) were submitted to SPSO from
members of the Public.

B) How many of these complaints alleged discrimination or
victimisation.

C) How many of the complaints as numbered in A were of poor or
failed service.

E) How many complaints as requested in A) B) and C) were upheld by
SPSO ? How many were not ?

Please deliver satisfaction of my request within the limits of law.

Thank you,

Oysterman.

(I shall send in my name and address within 3 days from Monday)

Oysterman

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Thank you for your information request. 

Under section 8 of the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 it
requires that when making a request for information an applicant must
provide his or her full name, together with an address for correspondence.
While the Scottish Information Commissioner deems that an e-mail address
is sufficient for the purposes of the Act, he has issued guidance which
states that an applicant must provide his or her own name when making a
request. The reason for this is that any appeal to the Court of Session in
Scotland in connection with a request must be made using the true name of
the applicant and this must be the name used in the original request to
the public authority.

On receipt of your full details I will be able to accept your Information
Request as a valid application.

Yours sincerely

Ellie Robertson
Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

Telephone: 0800 377 7330
Email: [Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

 

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman
4 Melville Street Edinburgh EH3 7NS
tel 0800 377 7330 fax 0800 377 7331
web [1]http://www.spso.org.uk

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

References

Visible links
1. http://www.spso.org.uk/

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

I have sent my details as request under section 8 of the act to SPSO via the e-mail address on site.

The e-mail is entitled "FOIR Scotland details"

Thank you,

Oysterman

Oysterman left an annotation ()

I write in connection with the request made to me by this ombudsmen under section 8 of HM Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 regarding my ID in order to validate my request made via the whatdotheyknow website. This can be viewed hear:

http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/co...

I can confirm that I am "Oysterman" and that my name is ** ******* ********* for the purposes of this request my address is ************************************************ However I ask if possible that any response be sent to me via the whatdotheyknow web link. I ask that my real name be redacted when publishing any reply on this site in accordance to HM Data Protection Act 1998.

Thank you.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

I refer to your e-mail of 16 January 2013.

Please be advised that I have not received your full details from a secure
site.  Please could you confirm the e-mail address you have used or if you
would prefer telephone me on the number below if you would like advice or
assistance.  In the meantime I am unable to proceed with you application.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter

Yours sincerely 
Ellie Robertson 
Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer
Telephone: 0800 377 7330
Email: [Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

show quoted sections

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

I have called and left my address for the purposes of the act onto the answer machine per the telephone number supplied.

I consider the details supplied.

Thank you,

Oysterman

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

I confirm receipt of your name and contact address

Ellie Robertson
Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

Telephone: 0800 377 7330
Email: [Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman
4 Melville Street Edinburgh EH3 7NS
tel 0800 377 7330 fax 0800 377 7331
web [1]http://www.spso.org.uk

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

References

Visible links
1. http://www.spso.org.uk/

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

I note the service has not given a response to my re-submittance.

Oysterman

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Oysterman

I refer to your email of 2 March 2013.

Please be advised that our response was issued to you at your secure email
address which you provided to us.

In the event that you have not received this please telephone our office
to discuss the matter further.  I am unable to contact you on this matter
through your public what do they know email address, which you have used
in this instance.

Yours sincerely

Ellie Robertson
Freedom of Information/Data Protection Officer

Telephone: 0800 377 7330
Email: [Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman
4 Melville Street Edinburgh EH3 7NS
tel 0800 377 7330 fax 0800 377 7331
web [1]http://www.spso.org.uk

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

References

Visible links
1. http://www.spso.org.uk/

Oysterman left an annotation ()

Your request for information

I refer to your e-mail of 12 January 2013, which we accepted on 23 January 2013 when you confirmed your name and contact address. In your e-mail you ask for:

A) ‘How many complaints regarding OSCR (The Office Of The Scottish Chairty Regulator)were submitted to SPSO from members of the Public.’

B) ‘How many of these complaints alleged discrimination or victimisation.’

C) ‘How many of the complaints as numbered in A were of poor or failed service.’

E) ‘How many complaints as requested in A) B) and C) were upheld by SPSO ? How many were not ?’

Your request has been processed in line with the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act
2002 (FOISA), and I can now respond as follows.

The SPSO has received ten complaints to date against OSCR. I have provided the available subject and outcome details for each of these ten complaints in the tables below, taken directly from our case handling system via a reporting tool. Statistics are also available on our website at http://www.spso.org.uk/statistics.

Our legislation prohibits us from disclosing information we have obtained in respect of a complaint, except in certain circumstances, and we are not able to statistically extract the specific subject detail you have requested. It might, however, be helpful to explain that the SPSO looks into complaints where a member of the public claims to have suffered injustice or hardship as a result of maladministration or service failure.

Three complaints were closed at the Advice stage of our process. The subject and outcome details for these three complaints are as follows:

SUBJECT

Ombudsmen -
Complaints handling

OUTCOME

Discontinued - Further information required
from complainant

SUBJECT

Ombudsmen -
Policy/administration

OUTCOME

Premature - Local process not formally
tried

SUBJECT

Unknown

OUTCOME

Premature - Complaints procedure not
attempted (complainant not aware of
complaints procedure)

Three complaints were closed at the Early Resolution stage of our process. The subject and outcome details for these three complaints are as follows.

SUBJECT

Ombudsmen -
Complaints handling

OUTCOME

Matter out of jurisdiction (non-discretionary)
- No complaint of maladministration or
service failure

SUBJECT

Ombudsmen -
Complaints handling

OUTCOME

Matter out of jurisdiction (non-discretionary)
- No complaint of maladministration or
service failure

SUBJECT

Ombudsmen -
Complaints handling

OUTCOME

Matter out of jurisdiction (non-discretionary)
- No complaint of maladministration or
service failure

Three complaints were closed and one is ongoing at the Investigation stage of our process.

The subject and outcome details for these four complaints are as follows.

SUBJECT

Other devolved
administration, not
otherwise covered

OUTCOME

Discretionary decision not to pursue - No
maladministration or service failure

SUBJECT

Commissioners &
Ombudsmen

OUTCOME

Premature - Local process not formally
tried

SUBJECT

Ombudsmen -
Complaints handling

OUTCOME

Complaint partly upheld

SUBJECT

Ombudsmen -

OUTCOME

Complaints handling
Ongoing

You have a right under section 20(1) of FOISA to request a review of any part of this
decision, or of the handling of your request. If you wish to exercise this right, you
must write to the SPSO to request a review within 40 working days of receipt of this
decision. In your request for a review you must specify your name and address for
correspondence. You must also identify the decision that you wish to have reviewed,
or the aspect of the handling of your request that you are unhappy with.
Should you wish to request a review, please address your request to:

Niki Maclean
Director

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman
4 Melville Street
Edinburgh
EH3 7NS

Dear Scottish Public Services Ombudsman,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Scottish Public Services Ombudsman's handling of my FOI request 'Complaints of prejudice against OSCR II'.

I believe it is in the public interest to know what the complaint alleged and on what parts it was upheld/what parts it was not. I do not seek the name of the complainant. The public have a right to transparancey of the preformance status of there services.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/co...

Yours faithfully,

Oysterman

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.
 
If you have emailed a new complaint, we will register it and acknowledge
it in writing within three working days. We provide you with a reference
number which should be used in any future correspondence with us.
 
If your email was not a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.
 
 

show quoted sections

 

show quoted sections

Communications via the GSi may be automatically logged, monitored and/or
recorded for legal purposes.

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org