Complaints against Stockport MBC, Social care & LGO

Charlotte Peters Rock made this Freedom of Information request to Local Government Ombudsmen

The request was partially successful.

Charlotte Peters Rock

Dear Local Government Ombudsmen,
re: 'Number of complaints 01Sept2006-31Dec2008 Stockport'

As a follow-up on a mistyped request - which should have read as above - perhaps I can specify more closely?

1. This is a request to be told, how many complaints were dealt with by the York LGO, in respect of Stockport MBC between the dates
01 September 2006
and December 2008?

2. Of those, how many were in respect of Stockport Children and Young People's Directorate?

3. How many were in respect of Stockport Children and Young People's social work Department?

4. What result did those complaints to the Ombudsman produce? ie did the Ombudsman or her staff find in favour of the Complainant or in favour of Stockport MBC?

5. What was the length of time taken to resolve those complaints?

6. How many Complainants were stated to be happy with the result of the Ombudsman's decision?

7. How many complaints during the period 01 September 2010 and April 2010 have been dealt with directly by the Ombudsman, herself?

8. With what result?

9. What is the current (April 2010) backlog of unresolved - or stockpiled - Complaints at York LGO?

10. How does that compare with the backlog/stockpile of Complaints in April 2009, April 2008 and April 2007?

11. How many complaints have been received during 2007, 2008, 2009 and this year, against the Ombudsman or her staff?

12. How does that compare with the other two LGO Regions?

Yours faithfully,

Charlotte Peters Rock

Foi Officer, Local Government Ombudsmen

Dear Ms Rock

This is to acknowledge receipt of your request below. Can you provide some clarification please? In your question 7 you ask for the number of complaints 'during the period 1 Sept 2010 and April 2010 ' the first date is in the future. Can you correct this please?

I assume that questions 7-10 relate to all complaints dealt with in the York office, not just Stockport?

Thank you.

Hilary Pook
Communications & Records Manager | DL: 020 7217 4734 |
Local Government Ombudsman's offfice | 10th Floor |
Millbank Tower | Millbank | London | SW1P 4QP |
www.lgo.org.uk |
|

show quoted sections

Charlotte Peters Rock

Dear Foi Officer,

To clarify,

1. Question 7 relates to 01 September 2006 to April 2010

2. Yes, questions 7 to 10 relate to the York Office, not only to Stockport.

Thank you for requesting clarification.

Yours sincerely,

Charlotte Peters Rock

Foi Officer, Local Government Ombudsmen

2 Attachments

Dear Ms Peters Rock

I attach a letter in response to the request below, along with a glossary referred to in the letter.

Yours sincerely

Hilary Pook
Communications & Records Manager | DL: 020 7217 4734 |
Local Government Ombudsman's office | 10th Floor |
Millbank Tower | Millbank | London | SW1P 4QP |
www.lgo.org.uk |

show quoted sections

Charlotte Peters Rock

Dear Foi Officer,
Thank you for your reply, dated 25 May 2010, which I have only just had the opportunity to read.

I would be grateful if you could respond to the actual questions at No 7 and No 8, since the fact that the Ombudsman personally responds negatively to some cases is extremely relevant to the questions. Perhaps she also responds positively on some occasions? But if that is the case, I have no experience of that response.

I wish to know how many cases the Ombudsman personally responds to?

Also, it would be useful to know how many complaints the ombudsman personally refuses to deal with, having not given the complainant the opportunity to meet anyone to explain the complications of the particular complaint. Perhaps you could find the time to answer that question?

I would point out to you that the Local Government Ombudsman is the last port of call which most parents whose children have been maltreated by the Local Authority, have recourse to. If the Local Government Ombudsman refuses to deal adequately with their case, that lets down the child involved.

I would be grateful for your expedition.

Thanks

Please.

Yours sincerely,

Charlotte Peters Rock

Jean James left an annotation ()

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org

Things to do with this request

Anyone:
Local Government Ombudsmen only: