Complaints about No. 73 Bus Service

Tom Kearney made this Freedom of Information request to Transport for London

The request was successful.

From: Tom Kearney

8 February 2012

Dear Transport for London,

For the period 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2009, kindly provide
me with all the complaints received about the 73 Bus Service which
directly pertain to the driver and the standard of driving.

Yours faithfully,

Tom Kearney

Link to this

From: FOI
Transport for London

9 February 2012

Dear Mr Kearney

 

TfL Ref:  FOI-1602-1112

 

Thank you for your email received by Transport for London (TfL) on 8
February 2012 asking for copies of complaints received about No. 73 Bus
Service.

 

Your request will be processed in accordance with the requirements of the
Freedom of Information and TfL’s information access policy. 

 

A response will be provided to you by 7 March 2012.

 

In the meantime, if you would like to discuss this matter further, please
do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Graham Hurt

FOI Case Officer

 

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

[1][TfL request email]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Link to this

From: FOI
Transport for London

6 March 2012


Attachment Your right to appeal.pdf
14K Download View as HTML


Dear Mr Kearney

TfL Ref: FOI-1602-1112

Thank you for your email received by Transport for London (TfL) on 8 February 2012 asking for copies of complaints received during 2009 regarding the No. 73 Bus Service.

Your request has been considered in accordance with the requirements of the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act and TfL’s information access policy.

Unfortunately it is taking longer than expected to retrieve the requested information, and we will therefore not be able to resolve your request within the statutory 20 working days. This is because correspondence from 2009 has been archived and is not readily available.

We intend to provide you with a full response by 23 March 2012. Please accept my apologies for this delay.

In the meantime, if you have any queries relating to your request, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Please see the attached information sheet for details of your right to appeal.

Yours sincerely

Graham Hurt
FOI Case Officer

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London
Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL
[TfL request email]

Link to this

From: Tom Kearney

5 April 2012

Dear FOI,

Further to your letter of 6 March 2012 (explaining that TfL's
response would be delayed until 23 March 2012), I am still waiting
for a response to my letter of 8 February 2012 asking for copies of
complaints which directly pertain to the driver and the standard of
driving regarding the No. 73 Bus Service received during 2009.

By law, under all circumstances, TfL should have responded by now.

Kindly inform me when TfL can be expected to provide me with a
response.

Yours sincerely,

Tom Kearney

Link to this

From: Tom Kearney

12 April 2012

Dear Transport for London,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of
Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Transport for
London's handling of my FOI request 'Complaints about No. 73 Bus
Service'.

The specifics of my complaint are as follows:

Despite TfL informing me that there will be a delay in responding
to my request on 6 March 2012 due to accessing the information from
archives, TfL's response to my request is now long overdue. Under
all circumstances, TfL should have responded by now.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is
available on the Internet at this address:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/co...

Yours faithfully,

Tom Kearney

Link to this

From: FOI
Transport for London

16 April 2012

Our ref: IRV-006-1213

 

Dear Mr Kearney

 

Request for internal review

 

Thank you for your request for an internal review which was received by
Transport for London (TfL) on 12 April 2012.

 

You have stated that you are dissatisfied with the time taken to reply to
your request for information under the Freedom of Information Act.

 

The review will be conducted by an internal review panel in accordance
with TfL’s Internal Review Procedure, which is available via the following
URL:

 

[1]http://www.tfl.gov.uk/assets/downloads/f...

 

Every effort will be made to provide you with a response to your complaint
by 11 May 2012.  However, if the review will not be completed by this
date, we will contact you and notify you of the revised response date as
soon as possible.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Graham Hurt

FOI Case Officer

 

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

[2][TfL request email]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Link to this

From: Information Governance
Transport for London

15 May 2012

Dear Mr Kearney

 

Our Ref: IRV-006-1213

 

Please accept my apologies for not writing to you sooner regarding your
internal review. It has not been possible to meet the deadline previously
advised to you. We still aim to get a response to you as soon as possible,
and in any event by 12 June 2012

 

On behalf of TfL, again please accept my apologies for the delay and I
will be in touch with a substantive response as soon as I can.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Peter Sloane

 

 

Peter Sloane | Senior Information Governance Adviser (Enforcement and
Complaints)

Information Governance | General Counsel | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

T: 020 7126 4912 | E: [1][email address]

 

TfL has recently adopted an ‘information security classification scheme’
to help protect its information assets. If you work for TfL or one of its
subsidiaries and want to find out how this affects you, see the new
[2]Quick Guide or visit [3]Source for more information.

 

 

From: FOI
Sent: 16 April 2012 15:20
To: '[FOI #105195 email]'
Subject: FW: Internal review of Freedom of Information request -
Complaints about No. 73 Bus Service

 

Our ref: IRV-006-1213

 

Dear Mr Kearney

 

Request for internal review

 

Thank you for your request for an internal review which was received by
Transport for London (TfL) on 12 April 2012.

 

You have stated that you are dissatisfied with the time taken to reply to
your request for information under the Freedom of Information Act.

 

The review will be conducted by an internal review panel in accordance
with TfL’s Internal Review Procedure, which is available via the following
URL:

 

[4]http://www.tfl.gov.uk/assets/downloads/f...

 

Every effort will be made to provide you with a response to your complaint
by 11 May 2012.  However, if the review will not be completed by this
date, we will contact you and notify you of the revised response date as
soon as possible.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Graham Hurt

FOI Case Officer

 

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

[5][TfL request email]

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Link to this

From: Sloane Peter
Transport for London

8 June 2012

Ref: IRV-006-1213

 

8 June 2012

 

Dear Mr Kearney

 

Subject: Outcome of internal review

 

The internal review of Transport for London’s (TfL) handling of your
Freedom of Information (FOI) request has been completed. You requested
details of complaints made about the driver or standard of driving on the
number 73 bus during 2009.

 

It is clear that, in failing to provide you with a valid response within
20 working days, TfL is in breach of section 10(1) of the FOI Act. This On
behalf of TfL I apologise for the significant delay that you have
experienced and for any frustration and inconvenience this may have
caused. However, I can inform you that a draft response has been prepared
and should be sent to you very soon.

 

Having looked into the causes of this delay, I can confirm that a
significant portion of the delay occurred as a result of the difficulty in
retrieving this information from our electronic archive. Given the age of
the information, and the fact that these complaints were not still active,
much of the information had been archived, and we encountered significant
technical problems in retrieving the data. Had these problems been
apparent earlier in the process, it is quite possible that TfL would have
advised you that providing this information would exceed the cost limit
for processing an FOI request. However, as this did not become apparent
until late, and in view of the amount of work already undertaken, we have
proceeded with the request. In addition, some further delays have occurred
in the sign off process for the request, particularly from the
recommendation that some further contextual information should be added to
the response.

 

Once again, please accept my apologies for the delays in providing you
with a response and the requested information. In view of this, we do not
consider that this necessarily represents the end of the internal review
process for your request. Once you have received the response, if you are
not content with the content of the response, you may request a further
internal review. We do not consider that it would be fair to you to deny
you a review of the quality of the response simply because you have
already exercised your right to a review as a result of TfL’s failure to
provide a timely response. However, if you are dissatisfied with the
internal review actions to date, you can refer the matter to the
independent authority responsible for enforcing the Freedom of Information
Act, at the following address.

 

Information Commissioner’s Office

Wycliffe House

Water Lane

Wilmslow

Cheshire SK9 5AF

 

A complaint form is also available on the ICO’s website
([1]www.ico.gov.uk).

 

Yours sincerely

 

Peter Sloane | Senior Information Governance Adviser (Enforcement and
Complaints)

Information Governance | General Counsel | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

T: 020 7126 4912 | E: [2][email address]

 

TfL has recently adopted an ‘information security classification scheme’
to help protect its information assets. If you work for TfL or one of its
subsidiaries and want to find out how this affects you, see the new
[3]Quick Guide or visit [4]Source for more information.

 

show quoted sections

 

References

Visible links
1. http://www.ico.gov.uk/
2. mailto:[email address]
3. http://source.tfl/pdfs/IA_QG1_Informatio...
4. http://source.tfl/OurCompany/Governance/...

Link to this

From: FOI
Transport for London

13 June 2012


Attachment FOI 1602 1.pdf
1.6M Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 1602 2.pdf
167K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 1602 3.pdf
1.3M Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 1602 4.pdf
129K Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 1602 5.pdf
4.3M Download View as HTML

Attachment FOI 1602 6.pdf
292K Download View as HTML

Attachment Your right to appeal Copyright.pdf
16K Download View as HTML


Dear Mr Kearney

 

TfL Ref:  FOI-1602-1112

 

Thank you for your email received by Transport for London (TfL) on 8
February 2012 asking for copies of complaints received about the No. 73
Bus Service.  Please accept my apologies for the delay in replying.

 

Your request has been considered under the requirements of the Freedom of
Information Act 2000 and TfL’s information access policy. I can confirm
that TfL does hold the information you require. You asked:

 

For the period 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2009, kindly provide me with
all the complaints received about the 73 Bus Service which directly
pertain to the driver and the standard of driving.

 

Please find attached copies of all complaints held by our Customer
Services which were recorded as relating to the driver or standard of
driving on bus route 73 during 2009.

 

The number of annual complaints we receive must be viewed in the context
of the number of kilometres operated and passenger journeys made on London
buses each year.  For example, in the financial year 2009/10 – when a
total of 2,257 million passenger journeys were made, and buses operated
over 483 million kilometres  – TfL received one complaint for every 44,000
journeys made on London buses – or one complaint per 9400 kilometres
operated.

 

Please note that in accordance with TfL’s obligations under the Data
Protection Act 1998 (DPA) any personal data has been removed, as required
by section 40(2) of the FOI Act. This is because disclosure of this
personal data would be a breach of the DPA, specifically the first
principle of the DPA which requires all processing of personal data to be
fair and lawful. It would not be fair to disclose this personal
information when the individuals have no expectation it would be disclosed
and TfL has not satisfied one of the conditions of Schedule 2 of the Data
Protection Act which would make the processing ‘fair’.

 

If this is not the information you are looking for, or if you are unable
to access it for some reason, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

If you are not satisfied with this response please see the attached
information sheet for details of your right to appeal.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Graham Hurt

FOI Case Officer

 

FOI Case Management Team | Transport for London

Windsor House, 42-50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL

[1][TfL request email]

 

 

 

 

show quoted sections

Link to this

Things to do with this request

Anyone:
Transport for London only:

Follow this request

There are 3 people following this request

Offensive? Unsuitable?

Requests for personal information and vexatious requests are not considered valid for FOI purposes (read more).

If you believe this request is not suitable, you can report it for attention by the site administrators

Report this request

Act on what you've learnt

Similar requests

More similar requests

Event history details

Are you the owner of any commercial copyright on this page?