Complaint Standards survey that closed on 21 May 2022

The request was partially successful.

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Andrew Medlock, Assistant Director of Strategy and Partnerships, wrote the following:

'Have your say on the new Standards

I am so proud to share with you the version of the Complaint Standards for UK central government departments and related organisations. We are now keen to hear what you think of these. Your views matter so much, and your feedback will be critical to improving complaints handling for everybody. 

Please take a few minutes to complete our survey and help make complaints count. The survey is open until 31 May 2022.'

https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/news-and-bl...

I cannot access the survey.

1. Please provide the number of valid responses you received.

2. Please provide a copy of the survey or all the information that it contained.

Yours faithfully,

J Roberts

InformationRights, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

Thank you for contacting the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman’s
(PHSO) Freedom of Information and Data Protection Team. This is to confirm
we have received your request. If you have made a request for information
under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 or Environment Information
Regulations 2004, we aim to respond to your request within 20 working days
in accordance with the statutory time frames set out in both Acts. If you
have made a request for personal information held by the PHSO, your
request will be processed as a Subject Access Request under the provisions
of the Data Protection Act 2018 and we aim to respond within one calendar
month in accordance with the statutory time frame set out in the Act. We
may contact you before this time if we require further clarification or if
we need to extend the time required to complete your request.

Please note that we are currently experiencing a high demand, and might
not be able to comply with the statutory deadline for your request. Any
late responses can be referred to the Information Commissioner’s Office:

https://ico.org.uk/

For Subject Access Requests, we will send any personal information via
secure email, unless you instruct us differently. To access the
information on the email we send, you will need to sign up to our secure
email service. Details can be found on our website using the link below:
https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/about-us/co...
If you require us to post your personal information to you instead you
will need to inform us of this and confirm your current address as soon as
possible. Angharad Jackson Data Protection Officer & Assistant Director
Information Assurance Office of the Parliamentary and Health Service
Ombudsman PHSO CityGate 47-51 Mosley Street Manchester M2 3HQ
[email address]

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

01/07/2022

Dear J Roberts,

PHSO Reference 00000249

Acknowledgement of your request for information

Thank you for your correspondence of 20 June 2022.

Your correspondence will be handled as a request under the Freedom of
Information Act 2000. We aim to issue a full response by 19 July 2022.

If we require further information or cannot meet this deadline, we will
let you know.

You may find the information you are looking for on our website as part of
our  [1]Publication Scheme or [2]Casework.

To find out more about how we handle your personal data and information
requests, please see our [3]Privacy Policy.

Yours sincerely

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Team

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

References

Visible links
1. https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/about-us/co...
2. https://decisions.ombudsman.org.uk/
3. https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/about-us/co...

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

Dear J Roberts

Thank you for your email of 20 June 2022 in which you requested
information from the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman. Your
request has been handled in accordance with the Freedom of Information Act
2000.

Your request for information

“Andrew Medlock, Assistant Director of Strategy and Partnerships, wrote
the following:

'Have your say on the new Standards

I am so proud to share with you the version of the Complaint Standards for
UK central government departments and related organisations. We are now
keen to hear what you think of these. Your views matter so much, and your
feedback will be critical to improving complaints handling for everybody.

Please take a few minutes to complete our survey and help make complaints
count. The survey is open until 31 May 2022.'

[1]https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/news-and-bl...

I cannot access the survey.

1. Please provide the number of valid responses you received.

2. Please provide a copy of the survey or all the information that it
contained.”

Our response:

As stated in your request and on our website the survey was only open
until 31 May 2022 and is therefore unavailable.

We can confirm that the information requested is held. However, section 22
of the Freedom of Information Act. States that the information is exempt,
where the information is held by a public authority with a view to its
publication, by the authority or any other person, at some future date
(whether determined or not),

The information was already held with a view to such publication at that
time when your request for information was made, and it is reasonable in
all circumstances that the information should be withheld from disclosure
until the planned publication takes place.

The information requested is exempt from disclosure because it is intended
for future publication. We are not obliged under section 22 of the FOIA to
provide information that is intended for future publication. In line with
the terms of this exemption, we have considered whether it would be in the
public interest for us to provide you with the information ahead of
publication, despite the exemption being applicable. In this case, we have
concluded that the public interest favours withholding the information.
When assessing whether it was in the public interest to disclose the
information to you, we took into account the following factors:

Public interest considerations favouring disclosure.

 Disclosure would improve transparency in the operations of the PHSO

 Disclosure of the information under FOIA would be consistent with the
PHSO’s commitment to proactively publish data on matters of a wider public
interest.

Public interest considerations favouring withholding the information.

 As the information is of interest to the wider public it is important it
can be accessed simultaneously, complete and in context rather than
piecemeal under the FOIA. Therefore, it is in the wider interest that
information is accessible to the wider public by adhering to the
publication schedule.

 Publication is planned before the end of September 2022 and therefore
the public interest and the private interest of this requester will both
be met at that time, a proximate and hence reasonable resolution.

 As stated on the website the results are being collated prior to being
published in a report based on the responses we collected in the survey.
it is in the public interest that this process completed before making
information available to the public. The publication will include a copy
of the survey.

We reached the view that, on balance, the public interest is better served
by withholding this information under section 22 of the FOIA at this time.

We hope that this information is useful.

If you believe we have made an error in the way we have processed your
information request, it is open to you to request an internal review. You
can do this by writing to us by post or by email to
[2][PHSO request email]. You will need to specify what the
nature of the issue is and we can consider the matter further. Beyond
that, it is open to you to complain to the Information Commissioner’s
Office ([3]www.ico.org.uk).

Yours sincerely

Angharad Jackson

Data Protection Officer

Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

PHSO CityGate

47-51 Mosley Street

Manchester

M2 3HQ

E: [4][email address]

W: [5]www.ombudsman.org.uk

For information rights enquiries, please contact
[6][PHSO request email]

Want to know more about your information rights? Read our [7]privacy
notice

References

Visible links
1. https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/news-and-bl...
2. mailto:[PHSO request email]
3. http://www.ico.org.uk/
4. mailto:[email address]
5. http://www.ombudsman.org.uk/
6. mailto:[PHSO request email]
7. https://www.ombudsman.org.uk/about-us/co...

Dear Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman,

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman's handling of my FOI request 'Complaint Standards survey that closed on 21 May 2022'.

I wish you to review your response to 2:

'Please provide a copy of the survey or all the information that it contained.'

I am not seeking the results of the survey but only the questions asked, which have already been published.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/c...

Yours faithfully,

J Roberts

InformationRights, Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

1 Attachment

  • Attachment

    UKCG Complaint Standards consultation questionnaire OFFLINE version.docx

    115K Download View as HTML

Dear J Roberts

PHSO reference 00000249
Internal review of your request

Thank you for your correspondence of 14th July 2022 in which you requested an internal review.

PHSO upholds your request for an internal review. A copy of the survey is attached. Please accept my apologies for the delay in providing this information, it was the result of a misunderstanding of your request.

If you are not content with the outcome of your internal review, you may apply directly to the Information Commissioner’s Office for a decision. Generally, the Commissioner will not make a decision unless you have exhausted the complaints procedure provided by the PHSO. The Information Commissioner’s Office can be contacted at:

The Information Commissioner’s Office
Wycliffe House
Water Lane
Wilmslow
Cheshire
SK9 5AF

https://ico.org.uk/

Regards,

Freedom of Information/Data Protection Team
Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman