Comeback complaints request June/July 2008

Mr P. McCabe made this Freedom of Information request to Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

The request was partially successful.

Dear Sir or Madam,

In the years 2003 to 2009 the SPSO has received 903 “comeback” complaints from the public about the decisions made by the SPSO.

Please can you provide copies of the SPSO’s investigation reports and responses to these “comeback complaints” for the period commencing June 2008 to end of July 2008 under a Freedom of Information request.

The documents released by the SPSO should be redacted in terms of 38 (1)(b) and 26 (a) of the FOISA to protect the complainants identity.

Yours faithfully,

Mr P.McCabe

Ask, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.

If your email to us was a new complaint, we will register it and will
acknowledge it in writing within the next three working days. We will also
give you a reference number which you should use in any future
correspondence with us.

If your email was not about a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.

show quoted sections

Dear Ask,

Can you please confirm that this FOI request is being processed.

Yours sincerely,

Mr P. McCabe

Ask, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.

If your email to us was a new complaint, we will register it and will
acknowledge it in writing within the next three working days. We will also
give you a reference number which you should use in any future
correspondence with us.

If your email was not about a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.

show quoted sections

Ask, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Mr McCabe,

Thank you for your email. Please accept my apologies that you have not
heard from me before now.

We are currently preparing the information you have requested and expect
to be able to publish it on our website by Friday 22 May at the latest. I
am sorry it has not been possible to release the information within 20
working days of receiving your request, however I am sure you understand
all documents must be carefully redacted and thoroughly checked before
they can be published. I apologise for any inconvenience this delay may
cause you.

Once published, the information will be available to download in PDF
format from
http://www.spso.org.uk/how-complain/comp....
Should you have any difficulty accessing the information in this way,
please let us know.

YOUR RIGHT TO REQUEST A REVIEW

You have a right under section 20(1) of FOISA to request a review of the
handling or outcome of your request for information. If you wish to
exercise this right, you must write to the SPSO to request a review within
forty working days of receipt of this decision. In your request for a
review you must specify your name and address for correspondence.

Should you wish to request a review, please address your request to:

David Robb

Director of Policy and Development

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street

Edinburgh

EH3 7NS

Email: [Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

YOUR RIGHT OF APPEAL

If you are dissatisfied with the outcome of any review carried out by the
SPSO, you have a right under FOISA to appeal to the Scottish Information
Commissioner. If you wish to do so, you must appeal to the Commissioner
within six months following the date of receipt of the review notice. The
Commissioner's contact details are as follows:

The Scottish Information Commissioner

Kinburn Castle

Doubledykes Road

St Andrews

KY16 9DS

Email: [email address]

Tel: 01334 464610

Yours sincerely,

Louise Rae

Information Analyst

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street Edinburgh EH3 7NS

tel 0800 377 7330 fax 0800 377 7331

email [1][Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

web [2]http://www.spso.org.uk

show quoted sections

Dear Ask,

As you are aware you have failed to provide a response to 'Comeback complaints request June/July 2008' as required by law.

I would therefore request that an internal review is carried out to ascertain why the SPSO continue to prevaricate on this matter.

I would also be interested to know why the SPSO are providing assistance to Stephen B Brown formerly of West Dunbartonshire Council and his public service co-conspirators who are trying to supress details of West Dunartonshire local authority employee attempts to pimp a number of minors, initially dressed but in Council offices and latterly as naked as they could afford to get them without raising the suspicions of the general public.

Yours sincerely,

Mr P. McCabe

Ask, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.

If your email to us was a new complaint, we will register it and will
acknowledge it in writing within the next three working days. We will also
give you a reference number which you should use in any future
correspondence with us.

If your email was not about a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.

show quoted sections

Ask, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Mr McCabe

Thank you for your email.

You have requested a review of the handling of your information request
reference 200900369 for Casework Challenge Decision Letters for the period
commencing June 2008 to the end of July 2008.

Under section 20 of the Freedom of Information (Scotland) Act 2002 you
have a right to request a review within 40 working days of the date you
received our response to your request. Ms Rae wrote to you on 18 May 2009
advising that the requested information would be available on our website
from 22 May 2009, at which point the request was closed. Ms Rae provided
a link to the relevant page of our website
([1]http://www.spso.org.uk/how-complain/comp...
and advised you to contact her if you had any difficulty accessing the
information. It has now been over 6 months since you received our
response to your request for information, and since the information was
made available on our website. I therefore consider your request for
review out of time.

I am not in a position to comment on the other assertions within your
email.

I am sorry I cannot be of any further assistance.

Yours sincerely

Niki Maclean

Head of Corporate Services

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS

T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

Email: [Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]

Web: www.spso.org.uk

show quoted sections

Dear Ask,

can you clarify whether or not the Ombusmans office is "unable" or "unwilling" to assist in the exposure of West Dumbartonshire public service employee activities. I am sure you are aware of the dfference.

Yours sincerely,

Mr P. McCabe

Ask, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

This is an automated receipt from SPSO to let you know that we have
received your email. Please do not reply to this.

If your email to us was a new complaint, we will register it and will
acknowledge it in writing within the next three working days. We will also
give you a reference number which you should use in any future
correspondence with us.

If your email was not about a new complaint, it will be forwarded to the
appropriate colleague who will reply to you in due course.

show quoted sections

Ask, Scottish Public Services Ombudsman

Dear Mr McCabe

Thank you for your email.

I would like to clarify that my role and the role of my colleague, Ms
Littlemore, is to provide information in response to Freedom of
Information requests. I do not consider your question to be a Freedom
of Information request. I am unable to provide a response.

Yours sincerely

Niki Maclean
Head of Corporate Services

Scottish Public Services Ombudsman
4 Melville Street | Edinburgh | EH3 7NS
T: 0800 377 7330 F: 0800 377 7331

Email: [Scottish Public Services Ombudsman request email]
Web: www.spso.org.uk

show quoted sections

Looking for an EU Authority?

You can request documents directly from EU Institutions at our sister site AskTheEU.org . Find out more .

AskTheEU.org