Second Stage Complaints Handling costs

D. Speers made this Rhyddid Gwybodaeth request to Commission for Healthcare Audit and Inspection (Healthcare Commission)

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

Commission for Healthcare Audit and Inspection (Healthcare Commission) Nid oedd gan y wybodaeth y gofynnwyd amdani.

Dear Sir or Madam,

Please may I have information on the NHS Second Stage complaints handling costs incurred by the Healthcare Commission since the inception of its remit to the present day.
Also can these costs include a breakdown of each Department's costs?
ie:
*Investigation costs
*Cost of Monitoring recommendations,
*Costs of assessing Ratings

I understand that the HC statutory remit ends this year and although complaints are being moved to the PHSO system from the beginning of April, can you please advise me of the actual end date of the HC's statutory remit?

Yours faithfully,

D. Speers

Commission for Healthcare Audit and Inspection (Healthcare Commission)

This is the mail delivery agent at messagelabs.com.
I was not able to deliver your message to the following addresses.

<[Healthcare Commission request email]>:
Connected to 194.159.238.251 but greeting failed.
Remote host said: 421 4.3.2 Service not available, closing transmission channel
Despite repeated attempts, this message could not be delivered.

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Return-Path: <[FOI #9801 email]>
X-VirusChecked: Checked
X-Env-Sender: [FOI #9801 email]
X-Msg-Ref: server-13.tower-186.messagelabs.com!1238148924!15981583!1
X-StarScan-Version: 6.0.0; banners=-,-,healthcarecommission.org.uk
X-Originating-IP: [82.111.230.212]
X-SpamReason: No, hits=2.1 required=7.0 tests=ADVANCE_FEE_1,
BODY_RANDOM_LONG,DEAR_SOMETHING
Received: (qmail 32070 invoked from network); 27 Mar 2009 10:15:25 -0000
Received: from sandwich.ukcod.org.uk (HELO sandwich.ukcod.org.uk) (82.111.230.212)
by server-13.tower-186.messagelabs.com with AES256-SHA encrypted SMTP; 27 Mar 2009 10:15:25 -0000
Received: from foi by sandwich.ukcod.org.uk with local (Exim 4.63)
(envelope-from <[FOI #9801 email]>)
id 1Ln95w-0006cB-JG
for [Healthcare Commission request email]; Fri, 27 Mar 2009 10:15:24 +0000
From: "D. Speers" <[FOI #9801 email]>
To: FOI requests at Healthcare Commission <[Healthcare Commission request email]>
Subject: Freedom of Information request - Second Stage Complaints Handling costs
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Message-Id: <[email address]>
Date: Fri, 27 Mar 2009 10:15:24 +0000

Dear Sir or Madam,

Please may I have information on the NHS Second Stage complaints
handling costs incurred by the Healthcare Commission since the
inception of its remit to the present day. Also can these costs
include a breakdown of each Department's costs? ie: *Investigation
costs *Cost of Monitoring recommendations, *Costs of assessing
Ratings

I understand that the HC statutory remit ends this year and
although complaints are being moved to the PHSO system from the
beginning of April, can you please advise me of the actual end date
of the HC's statutory remit?

Yours faithfully,

D. Speers

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear Sir or Madam,
As HC have now swithed off the lights, I am just updating this for public's info.The Healthcare Commission's (Ex) Chief Executive Anna Walker has posted a letter to me and apologised for failure to answer any letters I have sent to her since October 2008. But I have had some information on the HC Investigation into West London Mental Health Trust. Although the 'field work' for the Investigation is complte the report is not yet finialised and now the report is being checked for factual accuracy. I am assured by Anna Walker that she has had a committment from Cynthia Bowers CEO at Care Quality Commission that CQC will publish the report once it is finalised. All the HC Investigation team are moving to CQC so "there will be continuity and no loss of "corportae memory" on this'....and monitoring and follow up action to ensure any recommendations made are acted upon will hopefully lead to the necessary improvements at the Trust....Watch this space!

Yours sincerely,

D. Speers

Commission for Healthcare Audit and Inspection (Healthcare Commission)

This is the mail delivery agent at messagelabs.com.
I was not able to deliver your message to the following addresses.

<[Healthcare Commission request email]>:
Connected to 194.159.238.251 but greeting failed.
Remote host said: 421 4.3.2 Service not available, closing transmission channel
Despite repeated attempts, this message could not be delivered.

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Return-Path: <[FOI #9801 email]>
X-VirusChecked: Checked
X-Env-Sender: [FOI #9801 email]
X-Msg-Ref: server-7.tower-186.messagelabs.com!1238763477!17872848!1
X-StarScan-Version: 6.0.0; banners=-,-,healthcarecommission.org.uk
X-Originating-IP: [82.111.230.212]
X-SpamReason: No, hits=3.1 required=7.0 tests=BODY_RANDOMQ,
BODY_RANDOM_LONG,DEAR_SOMETHING
Received: (qmail 22808 invoked from network); 3 Apr 2009 12:57:57 -0000
Received: from sandwich.ukcod.org.uk (HELO sandwich.ukcod.org.uk) (82.111.230.212)
by server-7.tower-186.messagelabs.com with AES256-SHA encrypted SMTP; 3 Apr 2009 12:57:57 -0000
Received: from foi by sandwich.ukcod.org.uk with local (Exim 4.63)
(envelope-from <[FOI #9801 email]>)
id 1Lpiy5-0007f9-62
for [Healthcare Commission request email]; Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:57:57 +0100
From: "D. Speers" <[FOI #9801 email]>
To: FOI requests at Healthcare Commission <[Healthcare Commission request email]>
Subject: Re: Freedom of Information request - Second Stage Complaints Handling costs
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Message-Id: <[email address]>
Date: Fri, 03 Apr 2009 13:57:57 +0100

Dear Sir or Madam, As HC have now swithed off the lights, I am just
updating this for public's info.The Healthcare Commission's (Ex)
Chief Executive Anna Walker has posted a letter to me and
apologised for failure to answer any letters I have sent to her
since October 2008. But I have had some information on the HC
Investigation into West London Mental Health Trust. Although the
'field work' for the Investigation is complte the report is not yet
finialised and now the report is being checked for factual
accuracy. I am assured by Anna Walker that she has had a
committment from Cynthia Bowers CEO at Care Quality Commission that
CQC will publish the report once it is finalised. All the HC
Investigation team are moving to CQC so "there will be continuity
and no loss of "corportae memory" on this'....and monitoring and
follow up action to ensure any recommendations made are acted upon
will hopefully lead to the necessary improvements at the
Trust....Watch this space!

Yours sincerely,

D. Speers

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

[name removed],

Dear Ms Speers,

Thank you for your request for information, dated 8th April 2009, for the
costs of second stage complaints handling at the Healthcare Commission. As
you may be aware, the Healthcare Commission was dissolved on 31st March
2009 to become the Care Quality Commission from 1st April 2009.

We are currently processing your request in line with the Freedom of
Information Act 2000 and will endeavour to respond to you within the
statutory deadline of twenty working days, which is 9th May 2009. However,
should we experience any delay in dealing with your request, we will write
to you again.

Yours sincerely,

Information Governance Officer
Care Quality Commission
Finsbury Tower
103-105 Bunhill Row
London
EC1Y 8TG

Helpline: 03000 616161

The information contained in this message is intended for the addressee
only. If you have received this message in error you must not read use or
disclose the e-mail contents, you should notify us immediately (by
clicking "Reply") and delete this e-mail. The unauthorised use,
disclosure, copying or alteration of this message is strictly forbidden.

Any views expressed in this message are those of the individual sender,
except where the sender specifically states them to be the views of the
Care Quality Commission.

Please check for viruses before accessing attachments. Although we
endeavour to keep files clean we can take no responsibility for any damage
caused by contagion.

The contents of this email and any attachments are confidential to the intended recipient. They may not be disclosed to or used by or copied in any way by anyone other than the intended recipient. If this email is received in error, please notify us immediately by clicking "Reply" and delete the email. Please note that neither the Care Quality Commission nor the sender
accepts any responsibility for viruses and it is your responsibility to scan or otherwise check this email and any attachments.

Any views expressed in this message are those of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically states them to be the views of the Care Quality Commission.

Dear [name removed],

Thank you for your recent update and I look forward to a timely response or a clear reason why you may not be able to provide the information I have requested.
Please note I am also waiting to hear when the HC Investigation Report into patient safety at West Londion Mental Health Trust will be published and made publicly available too.

I appreciate your time.
Thank you

Yours sincerely,

D. Speers

[name removed],

3 Atodiad

Dear Ms Speers,

Please find attached a letter and enclosures in response to your request for information.

Yours sincerely,

[name removed]
Information Governance Officer
Care Quality Commission
Finsbury Tower
103-105 Bunhill Row
London
EC1Y 8TG

Direct dial: (020) 7448 4533
Extn.: 3733
[email address]

The information contained in this message is intended for the addressee only. If you have received this message in error you must not read use or disclose the e-mail contents, you should notify us immediately (by clicking "Reply") and delete this e-mail. The unauthorised use, disclosure, copying or alteration of this message is strictly forbidden.

Any views expressed in this message are those of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically states them to be the views of the Care Quality Commission.

Please check for viruses before accessing attachments. Although we endeavour to keep files clean we can take no responsibility for any damage caused by contagion.

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear [name removed],
Many thanks for the latest attachments of HC Annual Reports but with respect I have asked for complaints handling specifics and I reiterate from my email of 27th March:
Please may I have information on the NHS Second Stage complaints handling costs incurred by the Healthcare Commission since the inception of its remit to the present day. Also can these costs include a breakdown of each Department's costs? ie: *Investigation
costs *Cost of Monitoring recommendations, *Costs of assessing Ratings. I have asked too when the Publication date of the HC Investigation Report into WLMHT is due? Whilst the first two PDFs contained text the final 07/08 didn't and the information I required awas not available.
I now request an internal review to gain access to these specific costs please .

Yours faithfully,

D. Speers

[name removed],

1 Atodiad

Dear Ms Speers,

Thank you for your e-mail.

Having referred to my earlier e-mail to you of 6th May, I see that I neglected to attach my covering letter alongside the attachments I sent you. Please accept my apologies for this oversight.

I have attached this letter now, which I hope offers a full response to your request for information.

Should you still require an internal review following receipt of this letter, please do not hesitate to contact this department.

Yours sincerely,

[name removed]
Information Governance Officer
Care Quality Commission
Finsbury Tower
103-105 Bunhill Row
London
EC1Y 8TG

Direct dial: (020) 7448 4533
Extn.: 3733
[email address]

The information contained in this message is intended for the addressee only. If you have received this message in error you must not read use or disclose the e-mail contents, you should notify us immediately (by clicking "Reply") and delete this e-mail. The unauthorised use, disclosure, copying or alteration of this message is strictly forbidden.

Any views expressed in this message are those of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically states them to be the views of the Care Quality Commission.

Please check for viruses before accessing attachments. Although we endeavour to keep files clean we can take no responsibility for any damage caused by contagion.

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear [name removed],

Many thanks for your prompt response and omitting to add the letter is just a result of life happening around the plans we make...I fully understand.
Thank you too for your reference to where I may find the info in the annual Reports, I appreciate your help. I am however, concerned to read that the annual report for 2008/09 has not yet been published and please advise: when will the 2008/09 annual report be available?
However, I am still seeking an independent Review as I was informed by the Healthcare Commission that a monitoring team was in situ and their brief was to monitor recommendations made in any upheld complaints. My complaint was upheld and I am seeking an answer as to the costs incurred by monitoring recommendations (or not as was the case!) I am concerned to read too that "a date has not yet been finialised for the publication of the HC Injvestigation Report into Patient safety at WLMHT.
Please advise: the HC Investigation Report intopatient safety at WLMHT has been completed according to Anna Walker the ex-CEO of the Healthcare Commission. The Care Quality Commission CEO Cynthia Bower, gave Ms Walker an assurance that they would publish the full Investigation Report just as soon as it was ready. I believe it is ready and under Internal Review I seek an answer please as to what the publication delay is? This is a public report and must be made available just as soon as possible.

Thank you again, I appreciate your time but more information please.
Yours sincerely,

D. Speers

[name removed],

Dear Ms Speers,

Thank you for your e-mail. I have forwarded your e-mail on to one of our managers here and he will be responding to your internal review request and other queries as soon as possible.

Best wishes,

[name removed]
Information Governance Officer
Care Quality Commission
Finsbury Tower
103-105 Bunhill Row
London
EC1Y 8TG

Direct dial: (020) 7448 4533
Extn.: 3733
[email address]

The information contained in this message is intended for the addressee only. If you have received this message in error you must not read use or disclose the e-mail contents, you should notify us immediately (by clicking "Reply") and delete this e-mail. The unauthorised use, disclosure, copying or alteration of this message is strictly forbidden.

Any views expressed in this message are those of the individual sender, except where the sender specifically states them to be the views of the Care Quality Commission.

Please check for viruses before accessing attachments. Although we endeavour to keep files clean we can take no responsibility for any damage caused by contagion.

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear [name removed],

Many thanks, I look forward to hearing from one of your managers shortly.

Kind Regards
Yours sincerely,

D. Speers

Daybank, Alex,

1 Atodiad

Dear Ms Speers

Please see the attached letter regarding the internal review of your
recent request.

Kind regards

Alex Daybank
Information Governance Advisor
& Access Team Manager
Care Quality Commission
103-105 Bunhill Row
London
EC1Y 8TG

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir