Dear Gloucestershire Constabulary,

I am interested in information relating to injury awards pursuant to the Police (Injury Benefit) Regulations 2006 SI 2006/932.

1. How many individuals currently receive injury awards from your force?

2. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of police officers granted an injury award.

3. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the amount paid to all those in receipt of injury awards.

4. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews carried out of injury awards.

5. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews that resulted in the level of pension:

i. remaining unchanged;
ii. increasing; and
iii. reducing.

6. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2020 please provide the number of individuals contacted regarding a review who did not answer the questionnaire sent to them in connection with their review.

7. Please provide a copy of the questionnaire sent to those in receipt of injury awards regarding their review.

8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any.

Yours faithfully,

D Moore

FOI, Gloucestershire Constabulary

Thank you for contacting Gloucestershire Constabulary’s Freedom of
Information Team.

If you have submitted a request for information, please accept this as
your acknowledgment. We may be in contact to discuss your request.

We aim to respond to your request within the statutory time frame of 20
working days. However, owing to the unprecedented demand being placed on
the Constabulary at this time due to the Covid-19 pandemic, it may not be
possible to respond within 20 working days. If this happens, we will keep
you informed.

If you have sent a query to the team concerning an outstanding request for
information, we will be in contact with you as soon as we can.

 

Thank you

 

 

 

******This is an automated response. Please do not reply directly to this
e-mail. Send any further information or requests to
[email address]

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

The NIAO published an informative report on injury pensions in March 2020:

https://www.niauditoffice.gov.uk/sites/n...

One backdated payment cost £429,000 in arrears alone.

Appendix 4 includes examples of the amounts payable to officers dependent on years of service and the extent of disablement.

BBC story:

'The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) is facing a bill of nearly £500m for officers hurt on duty.
The Audit Office has called the scheme for payments "not fit for purpose", and said substantial changes were needed to make things affordable.'

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-i...

Legal cases:

[2020] EWHC 2477 (Admin)

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

[2020] EWHC 345 (Admin)

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

FOI, Gloucestershire Constabulary

1 Atodiad

Dear D Moore,

 

Please find attached your response.

 

Yours sincerely,

Miss N Cramb

Disclosure Officer

Information Disclosure / Governance & Compliance

Gloucestershire Constabulary

1 Waterwells Drive | Quedgeley | Gloucester | GL2 2AN

Phone - 01452 754304 | Force Control Room – 101

[1]www.gloucestershire.police.uk | [2]Twitter page | [3]Facebook page

 

 

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

References

Visible links
1. http://www.gloucestershire.police.uk/
2. https://twitter.com/Glos_Police
3. https://www.facebook.com/gloucestershire...

Dear FOI,

Thank you for the information you provided.

I have a query concerning my third request, which could have been clearer; and a query concerning my eighth request, which also could have been clearer:

"3. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the amount paid to all those in receipt of injury awards."

It is the total sum paid to everyone in receipt of injury awards for each year that I want, not just the total amount in gratuity awards paid to those awarded injury benefits in each of the three specified years.

"8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any."

The word "officers" in the request refers to former officers granted injury awards, not officers currently working for you who were previously granted injury awards. In other words, I am interested in former officers granted injury awards who currently serve in roles other than that of officer e.g. staff.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,

D. Moore

FOI, Gloucestershire Constabulary

Thank you for contacting Gloucestershire Constabulary’s Freedom of
Information Team.

If you have submitted a request for information, please accept this as
your acknowledgment. We may be in contact to discuss your request.

We aim to respond to your request within the statutory time frame of 20
working days. However, owing to the unprecedented demand being placed on
the Constabulary at this time due to the Covid-19 pandemic, it may not be
possible to respond within 20 working days. If this happens, we will keep
you informed.

If you have sent a query to the team concerning an outstanding request for
information, we will be in contact with you as soon as we can.

 

Thank you

 

 

 

******This is an automated response. Please do not reply directly to this
e-mail. Send any further information or requests to
[email address]

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

FOI, Gloucestershire Constabulary

1 Atodiad

Dear D Moore,

 

Please find attached your response.

 

Yours sincerely,

Miss N Cramb

Disclosure Officer

Information Disclosure / Governance & Compliance

Gloucestershire Constabulary

1 Waterwells Drive | Quedgeley | Gloucester | GL2 2AN

Phone - 01452 754304 | Force Control Room – 101

[1]www.gloucestershire.police.uk | [2]Twitter page | [3]Facebook page

 

 

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

References

Visible links
1. http://www.gloucestershire.police.uk/
2. https://twitter.com/Glos_Police
3. https://www.facebook.com/gloucestershire...

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

This response raises the important issue of gratuity payments that I did not seek information on from police forces. I may make relevant enquires at a future date.

92 officers currently receive injury awards from Gloucestershire Constabulary.

The force currently has 1,007 frontline officers (March 2020).

See page 37 of BRIEFING PAPER Number SN-00634, 14 October 2020 for police numbers for all forces in England and Wales:

https://researchbriefings.files.parliame...

Staffordshire Police statement concerning Judgment [2020] EWHC 2477 (Admin).

Judgment:

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

Statement:

'Staffordshire Police notes the decision of the High Court this morning, 16 September 2020, to dismiss claims made against the force by 18 former police officers regarding review of their injury pension payments. 

The claims were complex and involved significant scrutiny of the force’s administration of injury pension reviews since 2017. The force’s approach to the Claimants’ cases has been upheld by the High Court as justified and lawful.

Staffordshire Police welcomes the clarity that this ruling brings, for how it and other police forces administer injury pension reviews, and for individuals who are subject to these reviews. The force recognises that this has been a difficult and challenging process for all involved. The Court’s decision noted the efforts made by the Chief Constable’s staff, who sought to reassure pensioners and answer questions and arguments about the review process as it progressed.

Staffordshire Police repeats what the Chief Constable said at the outset of the review process:

“I am very mindful of the expectation outlined in Regulations that injury pensions are reassessed. I have a duty to ensure that the use of public money is justified and necessary and this needs to be balanced with the recognition that these benefits were awarded following injury in the course of duty to the public. I am clear that Staffordshire Police will meet its legal commitments to honour injury benefit payments at a level to which each pensioner is entitled.”

The Chief Constable recognises the service and sacrifice made by officers who are permanently disabled by an injury on duty and welcomes the clarity provided by the High Court that the force’s administration of injury pension reviews since 2017 is justified and lawful.'

https://www.staffordshire.police.uk/news...

PSNI which has 6,967 officers has 2,997 former officers who receive injury awards:

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/r...

https://www.psni.police.uk/inside-psni/S...