Dear Gwent Police,

I am interested in information relating to injury awards pursuant to the Police (Injury Benefit) Regulations 2006 SI 2006/932.

1. How many individuals currently receive injury awards from your force?

2. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of police officers granted an injury award.

3. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the amount paid to all those in receipt of injury awards.

4. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews carried out of injury awards.

5. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews that resulted in the level of pension:

i. remaining unchanged;
ii. increasing; and
iii. reducing.

6. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2020 please provide the number of individuals contacted regarding a review who did not answer the questionnaire sent to them in connection with their review.

7. Please provide a copy of the questionnaire sent to those in receipt of injury awards regarding their review.

8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any.

Yours faithfully,

D Moore

FreedomOfInformation, Gwent Police

Rwy'n cydnabod bod y swyddfa hon wedi derbyn eich ymholiad.
Fel y nodwyd yn y Ddeddf Rhyddid Gwybodaeth ein nod fydd ymateb i'ch cais
o fewn 20 diwrnod gwaith. Fodd bynnag, mewn rhai achosion efallai na allwn
wneud hyn o fewn y terfyn amser. Os bydd hyn yn digwydd, cewch wybod pryd
rydych yn debygol o gael ymateb.
Efallai y bydd angen trosglwyddo rhai ceisiadau i Awdurdod arall er mwyn
ateb yr ymholiad. Unwaith eto, byddwn yn cysylltu â chi os bydd angen
gwneud hyn.
Os bydd gennych unrhyw gwestiynau ynglyn â'ch cais cysylltwch â ni.
///

I acknowledge receipt of your query received by this office.

As set out by the Freedom of Information Act it will be our aim to respond
to your request within 20 working days. In some cases, however, we may be
unable to achieve this deadline. If this occurs we will advise you of the
likely timescale within which the response will be provided.

Some requests may also require transference to another Authority in order
to answer the query. Again you will be contacted if this is required.

If you have any questions regarding your request please contact us.

 

Due to the unprecedented challenges Heddlu Gwent Police is facing during
the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic,  resources may be diverted away from
usual compliance or information rights work. This may mean that during
this extraordinary period, you may experience understandable delays when
making information rights requests during the pandemic. We will endeavour
to keep you informed during the course of your request.  Thank you for
your understanding.

 

 

Hawliau gwybodaeth a coronafeirws:

 

Oherwydd yr heriau digynsail mae Heddlu Gwent yn eu hwynebu yn ystod y
pandemig coronafeirws (COVID-19), mae’n bosibl y bydd adnoddau’n cael eu
dargyfeirio oddi wrth waith arferol yn y maes cydymffurfiaeth neu hawliau
gwybodaeth. Gall hyn olygu y byddwch yn profi oedi dealladwy yn ystod y
cyfnod eithriadol hwn pan fyddwch yn gwneud ceisiadau hawliau gwybodaeth.
Byddwn yn ymdrechu i roi’r newyddion diweddaraf i chi am eich cais. Diolch
am eich dealltwriaeth.

 

 

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

The NIAO published an informative report on injury pensions in March 2020:

https://www.niauditoffice.gov.uk/sites/n...

One backdated payment cost £429,000 in arrears alone.

Appendix 4 includes examples of the amounts payable to officers dependent on years of service and the extent of disablement.

BBC story:

'The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) is facing a bill of nearly £500m for officers hurt on duty.
The Audit Office has called the scheme for payments "not fit for purpose", and said substantial changes were needed to make things affordable.'

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-i...

Legal cases:

[2020] EWHC 2477 (Admin)

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

[2020] EWHC 345 (Admin)

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

Dear Gwent Police,

Clarification:

"8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any."

The word "officers" in the request refers to former officers granted injury awards, not officers currently working for you who were previously granted injury awards. In other words, I am interested in former officers granted injury awards who currently serve in any role e.g. staff.

Yours faithfully,

D. Moore

FreedomOfInformation, Gwent Police

Rwy'n cydnabod bod y swyddfa hon wedi derbyn eich ymholiad.
Fel y nodwyd yn y Ddeddf Rhyddid Gwybodaeth ein nod fydd ymateb i'ch cais
o fewn 20 diwrnod gwaith. Fodd bynnag, mewn rhai achosion efallai na allwn
wneud hyn o fewn y terfyn amser. Os bydd hyn yn digwydd, cewch wybod pryd
rydych yn debygol o gael ymateb.
Efallai y bydd angen trosglwyddo rhai ceisiadau i Awdurdod arall er mwyn
ateb yr ymholiad. Unwaith eto, byddwn yn cysylltu â chi os bydd angen
gwneud hyn.
Os bydd gennych unrhyw gwestiynau ynglyn â'ch cais cysylltwch â ni.
///

I acknowledge receipt of your query received by this office.

As set out by the Freedom of Information Act it will be our aim to respond
to your request within 20 working days. In some cases, however, we may be
unable to achieve this deadline. If this occurs we will advise you of the
likely timescale within which the response will be provided.

Some requests may also require transference to another Authority in order
to answer the query. Again you will be contacted if this is required.

If you have any questions regarding your request please contact us.

 

Due to the unprecedented challenges Heddlu Gwent Police is facing during
the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic,  resources may be diverted away from
usual compliance or information rights work. This may mean that during
this extraordinary period, you may experience understandable delays when
making information rights requests during the pandemic. We will endeavour
to keep you informed during the course of your request.  Thank you for
your understanding.

 

 

Hawliau gwybodaeth a coronafeirws:

 

Oherwydd yr heriau digynsail mae Heddlu Gwent yn eu hwynebu yn ystod y
pandemig coronafeirws (COVID-19), mae’n bosibl y bydd adnoddau’n cael eu
dargyfeirio oddi wrth waith arferol yn y maes cydymffurfiaeth neu hawliau
gwybodaeth. Gall hyn olygu y byddwch yn profi oedi dealladwy yn ystod y
cyfnod eithriadol hwn pan fyddwch yn gwneud ceisiadau hawliau gwybodaeth.
Byddwn yn ymdrechu i roi’r newyddion diweddaraf i chi am eich cais. Diolch
am eich dealltwriaeth.

 

 

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

FreedomOfInformation, Gwent Police

7 Atodiad

Dear D. Moore,

 

Apologies for the delay.  Please see attached the response to your recent
Freedom of Information request.

 

Cofion gorau | Kind regards

 

Rhyddid Gwybodaeth   Freedom of Information
   
[1]cid:image015.png@01D5DDC9.401A0630 Uned Datgelu | Disclosure Unit
 
Gwasanaethau Gwybodaeth | Information Services
Heddlu Gwent Police
 
Ffôn | Tel: (710) 4407 / 01633 642 540
E-bost | E-mail: [2][email address]
 
Pencadlys yr Heddlu | Police Headquarters | Croesyceiliog | Cwmbrân | NP44 2XJ
 
[3]cid:image016.jpg@01D5DDC9.401A0630 [4]cid:image017.jpg@01D5DDC9.401A0630[5]cid:image018.jpg@01D5DDC9.401A0630[6]cid:image019.jpg@01D5DDC9.401A0630[7]cid:image020.jpg@01D5DDC9.401A0630
     
  Rydym yn croesawu gohebiaeth yn Gymraeg ac yn Saesneg.

  Byddwn yn ymateb yn brydlon ac yn gydradd a byddwn yn ymateb yn eich iaith o ddewis.

 

We welcome correspondence in Welsh and English.

We will respond in a timely and equal way to both and will reply in your language of choice.

 

 

 

References

Visible links
2. mailto:[email address]
3. http://www.gwent.police.uk/
4. https://www.facebook.com/heddlugwent
5. https://www.facebook.com/gwentpolice
6. https://twitter.com/heddlugwent
7. https://twitter.com/gwentpolice

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

Staffordshire Police statement concerning Judgment [2020] EWHC 2477 (Admin).

Judgment:

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

Statement:

'Staffordshire Police notes the decision of the High Court this morning, 16 September 2020, to dismiss claims made against the force by 18 former police officers regarding review of their injury pension payments. 

The claims were complex and involved significant scrutiny of the force’s administration of injury pension reviews since 2017. The force’s approach to the Claimants’ cases has been upheld by the High Court as justified and lawful.

Staffordshire Police welcomes the clarity that this ruling brings, for how it and other police forces administer injury pension reviews, and for individuals who are subject to these reviews. The force recognises that this has been a difficult and challenging process for all involved. The Court’s decision noted the efforts made by the Chief Constable’s staff, who sought to reassure pensioners and answer questions and arguments about the review process as it progressed.

Staffordshire Police repeats what the Chief Constable said at the outset of the review process:

“I am very mindful of the expectation outlined in Regulations that injury pensions are reassessed. I have a duty to ensure that the use of public money is justified and necessary and this needs to be balanced with the recognition that these benefits were awarded following injury in the course of duty to the public. I am clear that Staffordshire Police will meet its legal commitments to honour injury benefit payments at a level to which each pensioner is entitled.”

The Chief Constable recognises the service and sacrifice made by officers who are permanently disabled by an injury on duty and welcomes the clarity provided by the High Court that the force’s administration of injury pension reviews since 2017 is justified and lawful.'

https://www.staffordshire.police.uk/news...

Gwent Police currently have 1,030 front line officers. See page 37 of BRIEFING PAPER Number SN-00634, 14 October 2020:

https://researchbriefings.files.parliame...

PSNI which has 6,967 officers has 2,997 former officers who receive injury awards:

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/r...

https://www.psni.police.uk/inside-psni/S...