Dear Cleveland Police,

I am interested in information relating to injury awards pursuant to the Police (Injury Benefit) Regulations 2006 SI 2006/932.

1. How many individuals currently receive injury awards from your force?

2. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of police officers granted an injury award.

3. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the amount paid to all those in receipt of injury awards.

4. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews carried out of injury awards.

5. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews that resulted in the level of pension:

i. remaining unchanged;
ii. increasing; and
iii. reducing.

6. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2020 please provide the number of individuals contacted regarding a review who did not answer the questionnaire sent to them in connection with their review.

7. Please provide a copy of the questionnaire sent to those in receipt of injury awards regarding their review.

8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any.

Yours faithfully,

D Moore

Freedom of Information, Cleveland Police

This mailbox is for Freedom of Information requests only and all other
mail will be deleted unactioned.

 

For Legal please forward your e-mail to
[1][email address] and for Subject Access please
check the Subject Access section of the Cleveland Police website under the
heading of ‘Advice and Information’ or forward your e-mail to
[2][email address] for all other
enquiries please contact Cleveland Police via 101.

 

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[email address]
2. mailto:[email address]

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

Related requests:

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/i...

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/p...

The NIAO published an informative report on injury pensions in March 2020:

https://www.niauditoffice.gov.uk/sites/n...

One backdated payment cost £429,000 in arrears alone.

Appendix 4 includes examples of the amounts payable to officers dependent on years of service and the extent of disablement.

BBC story:

'The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) is facing a bill of nearly £500m for officers hurt on duty.
The Audit Office has called the scheme for payments "not fit for purpose", and said substantial changes were needed to make things affordable.'

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-i...

Legal cases:

[2020] EWHC 2477 (Admin)

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

[2020] EWHC 345 (Admin)

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

Freedom of Information, Cleveland Police

Dear D Moore,

Enquiry Ref: 12237/2020

I acknowledge receipt of your request for information dated 17th September 2020 and received by this office on 18th September 2020.

Could you please provide us with a forename in line with the requirement of Section 8 of the Freedom of Information Act which states:
• Section 8(1)(a) requires that a request for information must be made in writing. This can either be in hard copy or electronically; • Section 8(1)(b) requires that a request for information must state the name of the applicant and an address for correspondence. Applicants must provide their real name and not use a pseudonym.

As set out by the Freedom of Information Act it will be our aim to respond to your request within 20 working days that is by 16th October 2020. In some cases, however, we may be unable to achieve this deadline and would hope to contact you should this be the case.

Please note: Although every effort will be made to ensure a response is provided within statutory deadlines, due to current circumstances delays may be unavoidable. We apologise for any inconvenience and will endeavour to process your request as quickly as is practicable.

Please note the ‘working day’ is defined as any day other than a Saturday, a Sunday, or a day which is a bank holiday in any part of the United Kingdom. The first reckonable day is the first working day after receipt.

If you have any questions regarding your request please contact this office.

Yours sincerely,

Ms E McGuigan
Freedom of Information Decision Maker
Directorate of Standards and Ethics
Cleveland Community Safety Hub | 1 Cliffland Way | Hemlington | TS8 9GL
E-mail: [email address]

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

       
Public Service | Transparency | Impartiality | Integrity

“Delivering outstanding policing for our communities”

Please do not use social media or email to report crime as we do not monitor these accounts 24/7. Dial 999 in an emergency or visit the contact us section of our website for all reporting options.

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear Freedom of Information,

Enquiry Ref: 12237/2020

I refer to your reply dated 24/9/20. You wrote:

“Could you please provide us with a forename in line with the requirement of Section 8 of the Freedom of Information Act which states:

• Section 8(1)(a) requires that a request for information must be made in writing. This can either be in hard copy or electronically; • Section 8(1)(b) requires that a request for information must state the name of the applicant and an address for correspondence. Applicants must provide their real name and not use a pseudonym.”

Here is Section 8 FOIA in its entirety:

“8. Request for information.

(1)In this Act any reference to a “request for information” is a reference to such a request which—

(a) is in writing,

(b )states the name of the applicant and an address for correspondence, and

(c) describes the information requested.

(2) For the purposes of subsection (1)(a), a request is to be treated as made in writing where the text of the request—

(a) is transmitted by electronic means,

(b) is received in legible form, and

(c) is capable of being used for subsequent reference.”

And here is the Commissioner's guidance:

“25. Any variation of the requester’s title or first name combined with their surname (e.g. Mr Smith or John Smith) will be sufficient to meet this requirement. However, a first name or surname provided in isolation,or a set of initials,will not.

Example

A requester named Robert Jones could call themselves Rob Jones’, ‘Bobby Jones’, ‘R Jones’, ‘Bob Jones’ or ‘Mr Jones’. However, they could not just use ‘Robert’, ‘Bob’, ‘Bobby’ or ‘R.J’.

26. A combination of the requester’s middle names and surname will also be acceptable as this is simply another way of expressing their real name.”

https://ico.org.uk/media/for-organisatio...

As Section 8 FOIA and the example 'R Jones' in the Commissioner's guidance make clear, my use of 'D Moore' does not invalidate my request.

I have no wish to provide my first name.

Should you fail to process my request on the ground that I have not provided my first name I shall have no option but to contact the ICO concerning your failure to adhere to the law.

Yours sincerely,

D. Moore

Dear Freedom of Information,

Clarification:

"8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any."

The word "officers" refers to former officers granted injury awards, not officers currently working for you who were previously granted injury awards. In other words, I am interested in former officers granted injury awards who currently serve in any role e.g. staff.

Yours sincerely,

D. Moore

Cleveland Police

2 Atodiad

This is the mail system at host mailgw1.cleveland.police.cjx.gov.uk.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The mail system

<[Cleveland Police request email]>: unable to look up host
cas2010.cleveland.police.cjx.gov.uk: hostname nor servname provided, or not
known

Dear Cleveland Police,

Clarification:

"8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any."

The word "officers" refers to former officers granted injury awards, not officers currently working for you who were previously granted injury awards. In other words, I am interested in former officers granted injury awards who currently serve in any role e.g. staff.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/r...

Yours faithfully,

D. Moore

Cleveland Police

2 Atodiad

  • Attachment

    attachment.delivery status

    0K Download

  • Attachment

    Internal review of Freedom of Information request Reviews of injury awards.txt

    1K Download View as HTML

This is the mail system at host mailgw1.cleveland.police.cjx.gov.uk.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The mail system

<[Cleveland Police request email]>: unable to look up host
cas2010.cleveland.police.cjx.gov.uk: hostname nor servname provided, or not
known

Freedom of Information, Cleveland Police

Dear D Moore,

Enquiry Ref: 12237/20

I write in relation to your FOI requests in which you ask:

I am interested in information relating to injury awards pursuant to the Police (Injury Benefit) Regulations 2006 SI 2006/932.

1. How many individuals currently receive injury awards from your force?

2. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of police officers granted an injury award.

3. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the amount paid to all those in receipt of injury awards.

4. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews carried out of injury awards.

5. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews that resulted in the level of pension:

i. remaining unchanged;
ii. increasing; and
iii. reducing.

6. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2020 please provide the number of individuals contacted regarding a review who did not answer the questionnaire sent to them in connection with their review.

7. Please provide a copy of the questionnaire sent to those in receipt of injury awards regarding their review.

8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any.

In our e-mail of 24th September we advised that a response would be due on 16th October. Please accept our apologies for not advising you of the delay sooner but due to the current situation we have been having some problems with obtaining information from certain departments. Please be assured we are chasing up for a response and hope to be able to provide you with our reply as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

Ms E McGuigan
Freedom of Information Decision Maker
Directorate of Standards and Ethics
Cleveland Community Safety Hub | 1 Cliffland Way | Hemlington | TS8 9GL
E-mail: [email address]

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

       
Public Service | Transparency | Impartiality | Integrity

“Delivering outstanding policing for our communities”

Please do not use social media or email to report crime as we do not monitor these accounts 24/7. Dial 999 in an emergency or visit the contact us section of our website for all reporting options.

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

Interesting request concerning section 8:

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/i...

DN IC-38256-D4D6:

https://ico.org.uk/media/action-weve-tak...

'23. Regarding the request in this case, the Commissioner acknowledges that, under the heading ‘Requests submitted by organisations’, her guidance on section 8 states:

“If the request is from a company, then the authority should accept either its full registered name or a name that exists as a legal entity (such as a trading name) as valid.

Where the request is from a sole trader, the authority should accept either the proprietor’s name or the company name.

Again, companies’ names should generally be accepted at face value, but in any case where the authority has reason to verify the authenticity of the company, it should check Companies House or the Charity Commission Register to clarify whether it is a genuine organisation”.'

Freedom of Information, Cleveland Police

Dear Mr/Ms Moore,

Enquiry Ref: 12237/2020

I write in connection with your request for information dated 17th September 2020 and received by this office on 18th September 2020. Please accept our sincere apologies for the delay in replying, your patience is appreciated. Below are the questions raised in your request and our response.

I am interested in information relating to injury awards pursuant to the Police (Injury Benefit) Regulations 2006 SI 2006/932.
1. How many individuals currently receive injury awards from your force?
a) 252
2. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of police officers granted an injury award.
a) Following enquiries we can advise you of the below;
2017/2018 – 6
2018/2019 – 4
2019/2020 – 8
NB These figures can increase as cases are finalised but as at 24/11/20

3. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the amount paid to all those in receipt of injury awards.
a) Following enquiries we can advise you of the below
2017/2018 – £2,117,597.76
2018/2019 – £2,165,478.29
2019/2020 – £2,423,749.02
4. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews carried out of injury awards.
a) The Force did not initiate any reviews during this three year period of your request however there has been one such review undertaken in 2019/20. This was made at the request of the individual
5. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/2020 please provide the number of reviews that resulted in the level of pension:
i. Remained unchanged
ii. Increased
iii. Reduced
a) The review that was undertaken in 19/20 led to an increase in injury award.
6. For each of the three years 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2020 please provide the number of individuals contacted regarding a review who did not answer the questionnaire sent to them in connection with their review.
a) The Force did not contact any individuals during this period.
7. Please provide a copy of the questionnaire sent to those in receipt of injury awards regarding their review.
a) N/A
8. Please provide the number of officers in receipt of an injury award (include those who were awarded injury benefit by another force) who currently work for your force, if any.
a) None as at the date of your request.

Please note any statistical data supplied in relation to Freedom of Information requests is a snapshot of data held at the time the request was received by the Freedom of Information office and is subject to constant change/updates.
The Cleveland Police response to your request is unique and it should be noted that Police Forces do not use generic systems or identical procedures to capture and record data therefore responses from Cleveland Police should not be used as a comparison with any other force response you receive.

If you are not satisfied with this response or any actions taken in dealing with your request you have the right to request an independent internal review of your case under our review procedure. The APP College of Policing guidance states that a request for internal review should be made within 20 working days of the date on this response or 40 working days if extenuating circumstances to account for the delay can be evidenced.

We have made every effort to ensure a response was provided within statutory deadlines, however due to current circumstances delays have been unavoidable. If your response was late we apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused. If we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact this office.

Yours sincerely,

Ms E McGuigan
Freedom of Information Decision Maker
Directorate of Standards and Ethics
Cleveland Community Safety Hub | 1 Cliffland Way | Hemlington | TS8 9GL
E-mail: [email address]

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | LinkedIn

       
Public Service | Transparency | Impartiality | Integrity

“Delivering outstanding policing for our communities”

Please do not use social media or email to report crime as we do not monitor these accounts 24/7. Dial 999 in an emergency or visit the contact us section of our website for all reporting options.

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Gadawodd D. Moore anodiad ()

Staffordshire Police statement concerning Judgment [2020] EWHC 2477 (Admin).

Judgment:

https://www.bailii.org/ew/cases/EWHC/Adm...

Statement:

'Staffordshire Police notes the decision of the High Court this morning, 16 September 2020, to dismiss claims made against the force by 18 former police officers regarding review of their injury pension payments. 

The claims were complex and involved significant scrutiny of the force’s administration of injury pension reviews since 2017. The force’s approach to the Claimants’ cases has been upheld by the High Court as justified and lawful.

Staffordshire Police welcomes the clarity that this ruling brings, for how it and other police forces administer injury pension reviews, and for individuals who are subject to these reviews. The force recognises that this has been a difficult and challenging process for all involved. The Court’s decision noted the efforts made by the Chief Constable’s staff, who sought to reassure pensioners and answer questions and arguments about the review process as it progressed.

Staffordshire Police repeats what the Chief Constable said at the outset of the review process:

“I am very mindful of the expectation outlined in Regulations that injury pensions are reassessed. I have a duty to ensure that the use of public money is justified and necessary and this needs to be balanced with the recognition that these benefits were awarded following injury in the course of duty to the public. I am clear that Staffordshire Police will meet its legal commitments to honour injury benefit payments at a level to which each pensioner is entitled.”

The Chief Constable recognises the service and sacrifice made by officers who are permanently disabled by an injury on duty and welcomes the clarity provided by the High Court that the force’s administration of injury pension reviews since 2017 is justified and lawful.'

https://www.staffordshire.police.uk/news...

BRIEFING PAPER Number SN-00634, 14 October 2020 to see police numbers for all forces in England and Wales:

https://researchbriefings.files.parliame...