Educational Freedom

Dear Camden Borough Council,

1) In the calendar year 2020, how many times did an Ofsted Inspection include the Elective Home Education Department?
2) For any of these inspections, did you submit any evidence to Ofsted that originated from local home educators?
3) IF the response to (1) OR (2) is "None", please can you tell me when was the MOST RECENT time that evidence FROM home educators was submitted to Ofsted, only as far back as 2010.

Yours faithfully,
Liz Jenkins
Educational Freedom

FOI, Camden Borough Council

We have received your email - thank you.

 

If your email is a Freedom of Information request we will log it and you
will receive a system acknowledgement with reference number within 3 days.
Please quote this case reference in all relevant correspondence.

You can also make a Freedom of Information request by using our [1]online
form. It's easier and you will receive an immediate acknowledgement.

If you wish to make an information request on a transport scheme, please
take a look at the following links before making your request as the
information you are seeking may be available there.

[2]https://www.camden.gov.uk/making-travel-...

[3]https://safetravelcamden.commonplace.is/ 

[4]https://www.camden.gov.uk/transport-stra...

 

If your email is not a FOI request we will be in touch to tell you how we
will deal with it. If it's easy to deal with your email may be dealt with
more informally as BAU (business as usual) and we may point you towards
information which is already published on our Open Data Portal
[5]https://opendata.camden.gov.uk/browse.

 

We do not reply to marketing emails and you should take us off your
circulation list.

This e-mail may contain information which is confidential, legally
privileged and/or copyright protected. This e-mail is intended for the
addressee only. If you receive this in error, please contact the sender
and delete the material from your computer. See our new Privacy Notice
[6]here which tells you how we store and process the data we hold about
you and residents.

References

Visible links
1. https://www.camden.gov.uk/formal-enquiry
2. https://www.camden.gov.uk/making-travel-...
3. https://safetravelcamden.commonplace.is/
4. https://www.camden.gov.uk/transport-stra...
5. https://opendata.camden.gov.uk/browse
6. http://www.camden.gov.uk/privacystatement

Camden Council, Camden Borough Council

Dear Liz Jenkins

Your case reference is CAM1739

Thank you for your enquiry. It is being looked at, we will be in touch
with you soon.

Yours sincerely

Camden Council

Camden Council, Camden Borough Council

Dear Requester,

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT 2000 and ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION REGULATIONS
2004 – request for information. Ref: CAM1739

Thank you for your request dated 15 Jun 2021. We are dealing with it under
the Freedom of Information Act 2000 and the Environmental Information
Regulations 2004.

You will receive a response by 14 Jul 2021 which is 20 working days (from
the day after the request is received) as defined by the Act and
Regulations.

Please check your spam folder in case our response may arrive there.

If we need to ask you to clarify your request we will contact you. If we
do ask for clarification and you don’t provide it your request will lapse,
so please read carefully any correspondence we send you about your
request.

We will provide information electronically where possible. If you need an
alternative format e.g. large print etc. please let me know.

There may be a fee payable for this information. We will let you know if
this is the case and explain how to pay it and what your options are.

If you have any queries or concerns, please contact me at
[email address]. Please do not reply to this email as it is no-reply.

We do not give our consent for any names and contact details provided to
be sent marketing material. Any such use will be reported to the ICO as a
breach of General Data Protection Regulation and the Privacy and
Electronic Communication Regulations.

Further information is also available from the Information Commissioner’s
Office at [1]www.ico.org.uk, telephone 0303 123 1113, Email:
[2][email address].

Yours sincerely,

Tanya Bryant

Information Rights Officer

References

Visible links
1. http://www.ico.org.uk/
2. mailto:[email address]

Camden Council, Camden Borough Council

Dear Requester

Ref: CAM1739

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT 2000 - INFORMATION REQUEST

Thank you for your recent request received on 15 Jun 2021.

We need to ask you to clarify your request so we can deal with it.

With regards to question 2 can you please clarify what you mean by
evidence? 

 

 

1) In the calendar year 2020, how many times did an Ofsted Inspection
include the Elective Home Education Department?

2) For any of these inspections, did you submit any evidence to Ofsted
that originated from local home educators?

3) IF the response to (1) OR (2) is "None", please can you tell me when
was the MOST RECENT time that evidence FROM home educators was submitted
to Ofsted, only as far back as 2010.

Please can you provide the clarification within 3 weeks of today - so by
the 28 Jul 2021.

Please do not respond to this email as this is a no-reply address.

Please click on the link below and enter your clarification. The link is
one use only.
[1]https://www.camden.gov.uk/web/guest?p_p_...

Once you have clarified your request, we will be able to process it.

However if you do not provide the clarification by the date requested your
request will lapse and we will close the case.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely

Tanya Bryant

Information Rights Officer

References

Visible links
1. https://www.camden.gov.uk/web/guest?p_p_...

Dear Camden Borough Council,

By questions 2 and 3, I am asking if any home educating parents have given evidence into the ofsted inspection of your LA (much like a school parent can have input into a school inspection)?

Yours faithfully,

Educational Freedom

Camden Council, Camden Borough Council

Dear Educational Freedom

Your case reference is CAM1948

Thank you for your enquiry. It is being looked at, we will be in touch
with you soon.

Yours sincerely

Camden Council

Camden Council, Camden Borough Council

Dear Requester,

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT 2000 and ENVIRONMENTAL INFORMATION REGULATIONS
2004 – request for information. Ref: CAM1948

Thank you for your request dated 26 Jul 2021. We are dealing with it under
the Freedom of Information Act 2000 and the Environmental Information
Regulations 2004.

You will receive a response by 24 Aug 2021 which is 20 working days (from
the day after the request is received) as defined by the Act and
Regulations.

Please check your spam folder in case our response may arrive there.

If we need to ask you to clarify your request we will contact you. If we
do ask for clarification and you don’t provide it your request will lapse,
so please read carefully any correspondence we send you about your
request.

We will provide information electronically where possible. If you need an
alternative format e.g. large print etc. please let me know.

There may be a fee payable for this information. We will let you know if
this is the case and explain how to pay it and what your options are.

If you have any queries or concerns, please contact me at
[email address]. Please do not reply to this email as it is no-reply.

We do not give our consent for any names and contact details provided to
be sent marketing material. Any such use will be reported to the ICO as a
breach of General Data Protection Regulation and the Privacy and
Electronic Communication Regulations.

Further information is also available from the Information Commissioner’s
Office at [1]www.ico.org.uk, telephone 0303 123 1113, Email:
[2][email address].

Yours sincerely,

Tanya Bryant

Information Rights Officer

References

Visible links
1. http://www.ico.org.uk/
2. mailto:[email address]

Camden Council, Camden Borough Council

1 Atodiad

London Borough of Camden
Information and Records Management
Judd Street
London.
WC1H 9JE
e-mail: [Camden Borough Council request email]

Dear Requester

Thank you for your recent request.  Your response is attached.

We publish our responses on our Open Data Portal, you will be able to see
your response and others back to August 2017 [1]here, although there is a
small lag before publication.

Thank you for your interest in Camden council

Yours sincerely,

Tanya Bryant
Information Rights Officer

References

Visible links
1. https://opendata.camden.gov.uk/Your-Coun...

Educational Freedom

Dear Camden Borough Council,

The wrong information has been attached to this FOI.
Here, I am asking about whether any home educating parents have had any input into Ofsted inspections of your LA.

Yours faithfully,

Educational Freedom

FOI, Camden Borough Council

Dear Sir or Madam.

 

Thank you for your email. In order for us to assist you it would help us
enormously if you could quote the relevant FOI reference number that your
query is in regard to. Also the name of the person who made the request
would also be helpful. Once we receive this information we will be able
investigate your query accurately.

 

Kind regards,

 

Kieran Heneghan  
Information Rights Officer

London Borough of Camden

Telephone:    020 7974 4022
Web:              [1]camden.gov.uk

10
5 Pancras Square
London N1C 4AG

 

From: Educational Freedom <[FOI #765273 email]>
Sent: 23 August 2021 16:44
To: FOI <[Camden Borough Council request email]>
Subject: Re: Freedom of Information request - Ofsted Inspections of EHE
Department

 

[EXTERNAL EMAIL] Beware – This email originated outside Camden Council
and may be malicious Please take extra care with any links, attachments,
requests to take action or for you to verify your password etc. Please
note there have been reports of emails purporting to be about Covid 19
being used as cover for scams so extra vigilance is required.

Dear Camden Borough Council,

The wrong information has been attached to this FOI.

Here, I am asking about whether any home educating parents have had any
input into Ofsted inspections of your LA.

Yours faithfully,

Educational Freedom

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Educational Freedom

Dear FOI,

The reference is Ref: CAM1739 and it was Tanya Bryant, Information Rights Officer who initially replied.

Yours sincerely,
Liz Jenkins
Educational Freedom

FOI, Camden Borough Council

Dear Ms Jenkins.

 

Thank you for providing the reference number. I can now see from this that
it was yourself that made the original request – this detail was missing
from your enquiry below.

I have passed your email on to Tanya to respond. Please note that she
returns from leave on Monday.

 

Kind regards,

 

Kieran Heneghan  
Information Rights Officer

London Borough of Camden

Telephone:    020 7974 4022
Web:              [1]camden.gov.uk

10
5 Pancras Square
London N1C 4AG

 

From: Educational Freedom <[FOI #765273 email]>
Sent: 02 September 2021 11:04
To: FOI <[Camden Borough Council request email]>
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information request - Ofsted Inspections of EHE
Department

 

[EXTERNAL EMAIL] Beware – This email originated outside Camden Council
and may be malicious Please take extra care with any links, attachments,
requests to take action or for you to verify your password etc. Please
note there have been reports of emails purporting to be about Covid 19
being used as cover for scams so extra vigilance is required.

Dear FOI,

The reference is Ref: CAM1739 and it was Tanya Bryant, Information Rights
Officer who initially replied.

Yours sincerely,

Liz Jenkins

Educational Freedom

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Tanya Bryant, Camden Borough Council

4 Atodiad

Dear Ms Jenkins,

 

I apologise for the delay in responding to your email, I noticed that you
had submitted two FOI request one being CAM1772 and the other CAM1739.

 

A response for CAM1772 was sent on the 13/7/21

 

Regarding CAM1739 an email requesting clarification was sent to you on
7/7/21 as we have not heard anything back from you within the 3 weeks
timescale from sending the clarification email this request has now
lapsed.

 

If you would like to resubmit this request we will be happy to look at
this again for you.

 

Kind Regards

--
Tanya Bryant
Information Rights Officer

Telephone: 0207 974 2850

    

The majority of Council staff are continuing to work at home through
remote, secure access to our systems. Where possible please communicate
with us by telephone or email.

 

From: Educational Freedom <[1][FOI #765273 email]>
Sent: 02 September 2021 11:04
To: FOI <[2][Camden Borough Council request email]>
Subject: RE: Freedom of Information request - Ofsted Inspections of EHE
Department

 

[EXTERNAL EMAIL] Beware – This email originated outside Camden Council
and may be malicious Please take extra care with any links, attachments,
requests to take action or for you to verify your password etc. Please
note there have been reports of emails purporting to be about Covid 19
being used as cover for scams so extra vigilance is required.

Dear FOI,

The reference is Ref: CAM1739 and it was Tanya Bryant, Information Rights
Officer who initially replied.

Yours sincerely,

Liz Jenkins

Educational Freedom

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Educational Freedom

Dear Tanya Bryant,

I did send a reply on the 26/7/21 which is within the 3 week time-line required.
I have copied the clarification below, and would like to have a response asap.

"By questions 2 and 3, I am asking if any home educating parents have given evidence into the ofsted inspection of your LA (much like a school parent can have input into a school inspection)?"

Yours sincerely,
Liz Jenkins
Educational Freedom

Tanya Bryant, Camden Borough Council

5 Atodiad

Dear Ms Jenkins,

 

I have checked our database and believe there has been some confusion.
With regards to CAM1739 an email was sent to you asking for clarification
which was not received and this request was then lapsed. I have found
another request CAM1948 which contains the information you are seeking.
This was replied to on the 11/8/21 I have attached this response above.
This looks to me that both requests were combined together CAM1739 and
CAM1772.

 

Please contact me if you require anything further.

 

Kind Regards

 

--
Tanya Bryant
Information Rights Officer

Telephone: 0207 974 2850

    

The majority of Council staff are continuing to work at home through
remote, secure access to our systems. Where possible please communicate
with us by telephone or email.

From: Educational Freedom <[FOI #765273 email]>
Sent: 29 September 2021 14:45
To: Tanya Bryant <[email address]>
Subject: RE: FOI request - Ofsted Inspections of EHE Department CAM1739

 

[EXTERNAL EMAIL] Beware – This email originated outside Camden Council and
may be malicious Please take extra care with any links, attachments,
requests to take action or for you to verify your password etc. Please
note there have been reports of emails purporting to be about Covid 19
being used as cover for scams so extra vigilance is required.

Dear Tanya Bryant,

I did send a reply on the 26/7/21 which is within the 3 week time-line
required.

I have copied the clarification below, and would like to have a response
asap.

"By questions 2 and 3, I am asking if any home educating parents have
given evidence into the ofsted inspection of your LA (much like a school
parent can have input into a school inspection)?"

Yours sincerely,

Liz Jenkins

Educational Freedom

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Educational Freedom

Dear Tanya Bryant,

Thank you for perservering with this Tanya; there indeed has been some confusion.
This is my timeline of what has happened:

15/6 FOI request sent
"1) In the calendar year 2020, how many times did an Ofsted Inspection include the Elective Home Education Department?
2) For any of these inspections, did you submit any evidence to Ofsted that originated from local home educators?
3) IF the response to (1) OR (2) is "None", please can you tell me when was the MOST RECENT time that evidence FROM home educators was submitted to Ofsted, only as far back as 2010."

15/6 Automated response ref: CAM1739

7/7 - Request for clarification with deadline 28/7
"With regards to question 2 can you please clarify what you mean by
evidence? "

26/7 I clarified
"By questions 2 and 3, I am asking if any home educating parents have given evidence into the ofsted inspection of your LA (much like a school parent can have input into a school inspection)?"

26/7 reference was changed to 1948
11/8 response given to 1948 which is identical to the other FOI 1772
23/8 I point out this is the wrong information - I actually want to know about evidence given to Ofsted.
A few back-and-forths regarding the information I'm looking for.
29/9 response to 1948 has been resent; but is not what I am looking for.

I hope that clarifies where we are, and the information I am looking for.

Yours sincerely,
Liz Jenkins
Educational Freedom

Tanya Bryant, Camden Borough Council

4 Atodiad

Dear Ms Jenkins,

 

I can confirm that there was no OFSTEAD inspection during the period
2020/21 , therefore there is no information held by us for the purpose of
answering this FOI request.  We are not aware of parents contributing
towards OFSTEAD reports however I would suggest that you speak with
OFSTEAD directly to find out how parents / home educators can contribute
towards an OFSTEAD inspection.

 

Kind Regards  

Tanya Bryant
Information Rights Officer

Telephone: 0207 974 2850

    

The majority of Council staff are continuing to work at home through
remote, secure access to our systems. Where possible please communicate
with us by telephone or email.

From: Educational Freedom <[FOI #765273 email]>
Sent: 30 September 2021 16:12
To: Tanya Bryant <[email address]>
Subject: RE: FOI request - Ofsted Inspections of EHE Department CAM1739

 

[EXTERNAL EMAIL] Beware – This email originated outside Camden Council and
may be malicious Please take extra care with any links, attachments,
requests to take action or for you to verify your password etc. Please
note there have been reports of emails purporting to be about Covid 19
being used as cover for scams so extra vigilance is required.

Dear Tanya Bryant,

Thank you for perservering with this Tanya; there indeed has been some
confusion.

This is my timeline of what has happened:

15/6 FOI request sent

"1) In the calendar year 2020, how many times did an Ofsted Inspection
include the Elective Home Education Department?

2) For any of these inspections, did you submit any evidence to Ofsted
that originated from local home educators?

3) IF the response to (1) OR (2) is "None", please can you tell me when
was the MOST RECENT time that evidence FROM home educators was submitted
to Ofsted, only as far back as 2010."

15/6 Automated response ref: CAM1739

7/7 - Request for clarification with deadline 28/7

"With regards to question 2 can you please clarify what you mean by

evidence? "

26/7 I clarified

"By questions 2 and 3, I am asking if any home educating parents have
given evidence into the ofsted inspection of your LA (much like a school
parent can have input into a school inspection)?"

26/7 reference was changed to 1948

11/8 response given to 1948 which is identical to the other FOI 1772

23/8 I point out this is the wrong information - I actually want to know
about evidence given to Ofsted.

A few back-and-forths regarding the information I'm looking for.

29/9 response to 1948 has been resent; but is not what I am looking for.

I hope that clarifies where we are, and the information I am looking for.

Yours sincerely,

Liz Jenkins

Educational Freedom

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir