Number of Complaints against Old AGE Psychiatry Department, Mental Health Services for old People, Ethrow Building in last 7 years

Roedd y cais yn llwyddiannus.

Charles Carrington

Dear Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust,

Could you please tell me the number of Complaints against Old AGE Psychiatry Department, Mental Health Services for old People, Ethrow Building in last 5 years and 10 years?

Thank you,

Yours faithfully,

Charles Carrington

PENNINECARE, Foi (PENNINE CARE NHS FOUNDATION TRUST), Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust

Good morning Charles

Thank you for your emails.

I need a bit of clarification however.

So I've received two emails from you;

First - Please provide how many general complaints have been lodged regarding your Older Persons Psychiatry services whilst Dr Nayar has been Head of that department?
Thank you"

And

Second - " Could you please tell me the number of Complaints against Old AGE Psychiatry Department, Mental Health Services for old People, Ethrow Building in last 5 years and 10 years?"

Are you seeking all of the above, or is the second request refining the first?

Also, at the moment, you are only requesting single numbers i.e. the response will be X were made in the last 5 years and X were made in the last 10 years. Are you seeking any further breakdown?

Finally, can you clarify the 5/10 year time periods? Are you seeking, say, the last 5 / 10 calendar years e.g. in 2010 to 2019? Or something else?

Your requests will be kept on hold until your clarification is received.

Kind regards

Sarah Browne
Senior Information Governance & Risk Officer
Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust
225 Old Street
Ashton-under-Lyne
OL6 7SR

Telephone: 0161 716 3146
Email: [email address]
Website: www.penninecare.nhs.uk

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Charles Carrington

Dear PENNINECARE, Foi (PENNINE CARE NHS FOUNDATION TRUST),

Sarah Browne
Senior Information Governance & Risk Officer,
Good Day Sarah,

My first request mentioning the name of Dr Nayar was refused, therefore I was forced to rephrase my question as in my second attempt to ascertain the information I required.

With regard to my second request, referred to above, the time period (7 & 10 years) starts from 01.10.19 and works backwards:
1. Past 7 calendar years, 01.10.19 to 01.10.12 and,
2. Past 10 calendar years, 01.10.19 to 01.10.09.

It would be appreciated if you could give the number per relevant month/year and the aggregate per each 7 & 10 year periods.

Lastly, please accept my sincere apologies for not making my request clear in the first place.

Yours sincerely,

Charles Carrington

PENNINECARE, Foi (PENNINE CARE NHS FOUNDATION TRUST), Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust

Good morning Charles

Ok, thank you. We will process your request as the following wording...

"Could you please tell me the number of Complaints against Old AGE Psychiatry Department, Mental Health Services for old People, Ethrow Building for each following time period:

01/10/09 - 30/09/10
01/10/10 - 30/09/11
01/10/11 - 30/09/12
01/10/12 - 30/09/13
01/10/13 - 30/09/14
01/10/14 - 30/09/15
01/10/15 - 30/09/16
01/10/16 - 30/09/17
01/10/17 - 30/09/18
01/10/18 - 30/09/19"

You'll receive an acknowledgement shortly...

Kind regards

Sarah Browne
Senior Information Governance & Risk Officer
Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust
225 Old Street
Ashton-under-Lyne
OL6 7SR

Telephone: 0161 716 3146

Email:t[Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust request email]
Website: www.penninecare.nhs.uk

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

PENNINECARE, Foi (PENNINE CARE NHS FOUNDATION TRUST), Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust

Good morning Charles

FOI ref: 2019/1770

Thank you for your request for information clarified 21st October 2019

We will consider your request under the Freedom of Information Act 2000. You should receive a response within 20 working days - in this case, by 18th November 2019. Please be aware, the information you have requested may not be disclosed to you if it is exempt.

We will inform you if:
• we are unable to achieve the 20 working day deadline. We aim to give you a revised due date as soon as possible.
• we are unable to give you the information as responding to your request exceeds the ‘appropriate limit’. This would apply if it would take us longer than 18 hours to retrieve, collate and provide the information you request.
• your request (in full or in part) needs be transferred to another public authority to obtain the information you have requested

For information regarding how we will handle your personal data as part of our FOI process, please see the following address – https://www.penninecare.nhs.uk/foi. If you require a printed copy, please let us know.

If you have any questions about this request, please contact me quoting the reference number above.

Yours sincerely

Sarah Browne
Senior Information Governance & Risk Officer
Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust
225 Old Street
Ashton-under-Lyne
OL6 7SR

Telephone: 0161 716 3146

Email:t[Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust request email]

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

PENNINECARE, Foi (PENNINE CARE NHS FOUNDATION TRUST), Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust

Good afternoon Charles

FOI ref: 2019/1770

Further to your email below, I can now respond to your request clarified 21st October 2019.

Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust (the Trust) does not hold the information that you have requested in an easily retrievable format.

Information specifically regarding complaints relating to teams situated in the Etherow building is not centrally recorded for the time period requested. To provide that information, we would need to establish, for each year, what Older People's services were based in the Etherow building, and manually review all complaints relating to older people's services in Tameside Hospital (where Etherow building is situated) to establish if they related to a team in the Etherow building. This would take in excess of 18 hours.

Therefore, as per Section 12(1) of the Freedom of Information Act 2000, the cost of providing you with the information is above the amount to which we are legally required to respond i.e. the cost of locating and retrieving the information exceeds the ‘appropriate level’ as stated in the Freedom of Information (Fees and Appropriate Limit) Regulations 2004.

In accordance with the S.17 of the Freedom of Information Act, this correspondence is your Refusal Notice for that information.

In accordance with S.16, the duty to advise and assist, I can advise that we are able to provide statistics regarding complaints recorded against Older People's Services that were situated in Tameside Hospital for the requested time period. As a gesture of goodwill we have provided this information. Please see below:

01/10/09 - 30/09/10 - 1
01/10/10 - 30/09/11 - 4
01/10/11 - 30/09/12 - 5
01/10/12 - 30/09/13 - 1
01/10/13 - 30/09/14 - 3
01/10/14 - 30/09/15 - 3
01/10/15 - 30/09/16 - 4
01/10/16 - 30/09/17 - 2
01/10/17 - 30/09/18 - 4
01/10/18 - 30/09/19 - 1

Complaint Rights

Your attention is drawn to the details below, which outline your right of complaint.

For information regarding how we will handle your personal data as part of our FOI process, please see the following address – https://www.penninecare.nhs.uk/foi. If you require a printed copy, please let us know.

Should you have any further queries concerning this matter, please email, write or contact the team on telephone number 0161 716 3147 quoting the reference number above.

Yours sincerely

Sarah Browne
Senior Information Governance & Risk Officer

Website: www.penninecare.nhs.uk
Telephone: 0161 716 3146

Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust
225 Old Street
Ashton-under-Lyne
OL6 7SR

************************************************************************************************
SATISFACTION SURVEY

To help us monitor and improve our services, please complete our anonymous satisfaction survey that can be found at the following address –
https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/PCFTFOI...

COMPLAINT RIGHTS

Are you unhappy with how your request has been handled or do you think the decision is incorrect?

You have the right to request the Trust review their decision. However, please be advised, as per the Freedom of Information Code of Practice (2018), the Trust is not obliged to undertake a formal internal review on any complaints received 40 working days after the date of response. If a request for internal review is received after 40 working days, the Trust may not accept your request for formal review, but will take steps to assist you.

Prior to lodging a formal complaint you are welcome and encouraged to discuss the decision with the case officer that dealt with your request.

Ask to have the decision looked at again –

The quickest and easiest way to have the decision looked at again is to telephone the case officer.

That person will be able to discuss the decision, explain any issues and assist with any problems.

Complaint

If you are dissatisfied with the handling procedures or the decision of Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust made under the Freedom of Information Act 2000 regarding access to information, you can lodge a complaint with Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust to have the decision reviewed.

Complaints should be made in writing and addressed:
The Head of Information Governance
Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust
225 Old Street
Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 7SR

If email is prefered, complaints may be sent to [Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust request email].

The Information Commissioner

After lodging a complaint with Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust if you are still dissatisfied with the decision you can make an application to the Information Commissioner for a decision on whether the request for information has been dealt with in accordance with the requirements of the Act.

For information on how to make an application to the Information Commissioner please visit their website at www.ico.org.uk . Alternatively, phone or write to:

Information Commissioner's Office
Wycliffe House
Water Lane
Wilmslow
Cheshire
SK9 5AF
Phone: 01625 545 700

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir