Complaints regarding tube noise

Owen Sheppard made this Rhyddid Gwybodaeth request to Transport for London

This request has been closed to new correspondence from the public body. Contact us if you think it ought be re-opened.

Roedd y cais yn llwyddiannus.

Dear Transport for London,

I would like to find out the number of times TfL has received complaints from residents who have said they are able to hear noise caused by the movement of London Underground trains from inside their homes.

For each calendar year between 2015 and 2019, can you tell me the total number of such complaints that have been received?

When responding to this request, can TfL please ensure the following:
- For each individual complaint, please give the tube line the complaint relates to
- For each individual complaint, please tell me which postcode area the complainant lives in (for example: SE1 or SW1V)
- When calculating the total number of complaints, can you please include all complaints received by customer services via email, post and phone call.

Yours faithfully,

Owen Sheppard

FOI, Transport for London

Dear Mr Sheppard

TfL Ref: 1691-1920

Thank you for your request received by Transport for London (TfL) on 2 September 2019. Please accept my apologies for the delay in acknowledging your correspondence.

Your request will be processed in accordance with the requirements of the Freedom of Information Act and our information access policy.

A response will be sent to you by 30 September 2019. We publish a substantial range of information on our website on subjects including operational performance, contracts, expenditure, journey data, governance and our financial performance. This includes data which is frequently asked for in FOI requests or other public queries. Please check http://www.tfl.gov.uk/corporate/transpar... to see if this helps you.

We will publish anonymised versions of requests and responses on the www.tfl.gov.uk website. We will not publish your name and we will send a copy of the response to you before it is published on our website.

In the meantime, if you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely

Jasmine Howard
FOI Case Officer
Information Governance
Transport For London

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

FOI, Transport for London

1 Atodiad

Dear Mr Sheppard

 

TfL Ref: 1691-1920

 

Thank you for your request received by us on 2 September 2019 asking for
information about noise complaints from residents relating to London
Underground services.

 

Your request has been considered in accordance with the requirements of
the Environmental Information Regulations and our information access
policy. I can confirm that we hold some of the information you require.
You asked for:

 

The number of times TfL has received complaints from residents who have
said they are able to hear noise caused by the movement of London
Underground trains from inside their homes.

 

For each calendar year between 2015 and 2019, can you tell me the total
number of such complaints that have been received?

 

When responding to this request, can TfL please ensure the following:

- For each individual complaint, please give the tube line the complaint
relates to

- For each individual complaint, please tell me which postcode area the
complainant lives in (for example: SE1 or SW1V)

- When calculating the total number of complaints, can you please include
all complaints received by customer services via email, post and phone
call.

 

The London Underground supports around five million customer journeys per
day, and over 1.3bn journeys a year. We continuously take noise readings
and review the track condition to assess what works can be done to reduce
noise. There are various engineering initiatives which we are
trialling/aim to trial in an attempt to reduce noise. We are currently
installing softer pads throughout our resilient track fastening sites to
reduce airborne noise. Our loudest sites have already been completed and
we are currently measuring the reduction in noise. Additionally, we are
also trialling other rail damping technology and an installation has been
carried out on the Jubilee line earlier this year. We aim to have reduced
the airborne noise in tunnels by the end of 2019.

 

The following numbers of complaints received per London Underground line
represents the data we have been able to retrieve from our reporting
system since 2017; a change of database was implemented at this time and
we no longer hold this information prior to 2017. The Hammersmith & City
and Circle line services are grouped together for reporting services due
to both lines sharing much of the same rail track infrastructure.

 

2017

 

Bakerloo: 3

Central: 37

District: 20

Hammersmith & City and Circle: 14

Jubilee: 38

Metropolitan: 5

Northern: 71

Piccadilly: 17

Victoria: 65

 

2018

 

Bakerloo: 2

Central: 32

District: 25

Hammersmith & City and Circle: 11

Jubilee: 25

Metropolitan: 3

Northern 119

Piccadilly: 5

Victoria: 76

 

2019 to date

 

Bakerloo: 3

Central: 16

District: 13

Hammersmith & City and Circle 10

Jubilee: 20

Metropolitan: 3

Northern: 27

Piccadilly: 26

Victoria: 58

 

Please note that a significant proportion of residents submit complaints
on numerous occasions, therefore when looking at the number of complaints
received, some figures in one year will be about the same area of concern
that was raised in a previous year. Also some residents are affected by
multiple lines but will submit a single complaint encompassing them all.
Consequently, the complaints figures recorded will not be an exact
statistical representation.

 

We are applying Regulation 12(4)(b) in relation to providing details of
the postcode for each individual complaint as we believe that this part of
the request is ‘manifestly unreasonable’ and would impose unreasonable
costs on us by requiring an unreasonable diversion of resources to
retrieve and review each of the above complaints to extract this
information for the purposes of your request.

 

The use of this exception is subject to a public interest test, which
requires us to consider whether the public interest in applying the
exception outweighs the public interest in disclosure. We recognise that
the release of information would promote accountability and transparency
in public services and also help address your particular concerns about
this issue. However, the time it would take to provide this information
would divert a disproportionate amount of our resources from its core
functions and, taking into account the information already published, on
balance we consider that the public interest currently favours the use of
the exception.

 

We will consider this part of your request again, if you are able to
narrow its scope so that we can more easily locate, retrieve and extract
this particular information. If you have specific questions we will be
happy to consider those.

 

If this is not the information you are looking for, or if you are unable
to access it for any reason, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Please see the attached information sheet for details of your right to
appeal as well as information on copyright and what to do if you would
like to re-use any of the information we have disclosed.

 

Yours sincerely

 

 

Jasmine Howard

FOI Case Officer

Information Governance

Transport For London

 

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear FOI,

Thank you for your response.

I still wish to receive information with regards to where the complainants live.

I understand that asking for information more specific than postcode areas would probably contravene GDPR or data protection, with regards to the rights of each individual complainant. That's why I only asked for the postcode areas.

In order to avoid conflict with Regulation 12(4)(b), could I please ask you to provide the postcode areas associated with complaints received in 2018 only.

I should hope that this will sufficiently reduce the workload/burden you were concerned about.

Yours sincerely,

Owen Sheppard

FOI, Transport for London

Dear Mr Sheppard

TfL Ref: 1962-1920

Thank you for your request received by Transport for London (TfL) on 30 September 2019. I am sorry for not getting back to you sooner.

Your request will be processed in accordance with the requirements of the Freedom of Information Act and our information access policy.

A response will be sent to you by 28 October 2019. We publish a substantial range of information on our website on subjects including operational performance, contracts, expenditure, journey data, governance and our financial performance. This includes data which is frequently asked for in FOI requests or other public queries. Please check http://www.tfl.gov.uk/corporate/transpar... to see if this helps you.

We will publish anonymised versions of requests and responses on the www.tfl.gov.uk website. We will not publish your name and we will send a copy of the response to you before it is published on our website.

In the meantime, if you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely

Jasmine Howard
FOI Case Officer
Information Governance
Transport For London

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear FOI,

Thank you for your response on October 2.

When considering your next response to my request on September 30, could I please ask you to pay regard to Section 16 of the Freedom of Information Act.

With regards exemptions due to costs, The Information Commissioner's Office provides the following guidance under Section 16:

"Our guidance on requests where the cost of compliance with a request exceeds the appropriate limit explains what a public authority should consider in these circumstances and how it can provide advice and assistance to help an applicant narrow, reform or refocus their request, although there will be occasions where there are no obvious alternative formulations of the request."

Yours sincerely,

Owen Sheppard

FOI, Transport for London

1 Atodiad

Dear Mr Sheppard

 

TfL Ref: 1962-1920

 

Thank you for your request received by us on 30 September 2019 asking for
information about the number of complaints we have received from residents
regarding noise caused by the movement of London Underground trains,
listed per tube line and postcode area following your previous request for
information (reference:1691-1920).

 

Your request has been considered in accordance with the requirements of
the Environmental Information Regulations and our information access
policy. I can confirm that we hold the information you require.

 

Please see the following list providing the first part of the postcode for
each residential London Underground noise complaint we have received for
each line during 2018:

 

 

Bakerloo: 2 complaints

 

W2

W2

 

 

Central: 32 complaints

 

IG2

W2

W12

W11

WC1A

E11

E2

E2

E2

E2

E18

E2

E11

W1H

WC2H

IG10

E11

IG10

E1

IG8

E11

W12

IG2

E11

IG2

W2

E1

IG9

E3

E2

E2

 

 

District: 25 complaints

 

SW19

E1

SW7

SW18

SW5

SW19

SW7

SW6

SW19

SW19

SW5

SW6

SW5

SW7

SW5

W8

SW5

WC2R

WC2R

WC2R

WC2R

E1

SW19

SW3

W8

 

 

Hammersmith & City and Circle: 11 complaints

 

EC2Y

EC2Y

EC2Y

EC2Y

EC2Y

EC2Y

W8

EC2Y

W2

W2

W2

 

 

Jubilee: 25 complaints

 

W1J

NW3

W1J

W1G

W1J

W1C

W1G

W1G

W1G

W1J

W1J

W1G

W1G

W1G

NW3

HA9

NW9

W1J

W1G

W1J

W1J

W1K

W1G

NW6

W1U

 

 

Metropolitan: 3 complaints

 

UB8

HA1

UB10

 

 

Northern: 119 complaints

 

NW1

NW1

NW9

SE11

SW12

SW3

NW5

SW9

N19

SE11

SW19

NW1

N3

N3

N3

NW1

SE11

SE11

NW5

SE11

N3

SW12

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

NW11

N3

N3

N3

NW11

N3

N3

N3

N3

N2

N3

NW11

N3

N12

N6

N3

N3

SW19

N3

NW1

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N12

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

N3

SW8

N19

NW1

SE11

N2

SW19

N3

N3

SW19

SW19

SW19

SE11

SW19

NW1

NW1

SE11

NW1

SW17

N3

N3

SE1

SW19

N19

N3

NW5

SW19

SW9

N3

 

Piccadilly: 5 complaints

 

WC1H

SW7

W6

W6

SW7

 

Victoria: 76 complaints

 

W1T

SW1V

SW1V

E17

N15

W1T

SW8

SW8

SW8

E17

N1

W1T

W1T

W1T

SW9

SW8

N5

E17

E17

N5

N1

SW1V

E17

NW1

W1T

W1B

W1T

SW8

E17

W1T

N5

W1T

N1

W1T

W1T

SW8

N1

SW1V

W1W

W1T

SW8

W1T

E17

W1W

N1

N1

SW8

N4

E17

N5

N5

SW8

SW8

N15

N1

W1S

N1

SW8

N15

E17

N5

N15

N15

N1

N1

N1

W1T

W1T

N15

W1T

E17

N15

W1T

SW1V

N5

N15

 

As mentioned previously, the London Underground supports around five
million customer journeys per day, and over 1.3bn journeys a year. We
continuously take noise readings and review the track condition to assess
what works can be done to reduce noise. There are various engineering
initiatives which we are trialling/aim to trial in an attempt to reduce
noise. We are currently installing softer pads throughout our resilient
track fastening sites to reduce airborne noise. Our loudest sites have
already been completed and we are currently measuring the reduction in
noise. Additionally, we are also trialling other rail damping technology
and an installation has been carried out on the Jubilee line earlier this
year. We aim to have reduced the airborne noise in tunnels by the end of
2019.

 

If this is not the information you are looking for, or if you are unable
to access it for any reason, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

Please see the attached information sheet for details of your right to
appeal as well as information on copyright and what to do if you would
like to re-use any of the information we have disclosed.

 

Yours sincerely

 

 

Jasmine Howard

FOI Case Officer

Information Governance

Transport For London

 

 

dangos adrannau a ddyfynnir

Dear FOI,

Many thanks for providing this.

Owen Sheppard