The English Heritage Trust

A public authority, also called English Heritage

English Heritage is a charity that manages the Government owned National Heritage Collection of over 400 historic buildings, monuments and sites; including Stonehenge, Dover Castle, Tintagel Castle and parts of Hadrian's Wall.

English Heritage was formed in 2015, when a government body (also known as "English Heritage") was split into two. The previous incarnation of "English Heritage" was a non-departmental public body that was created in 1983 and had various responsibilities for heritage protection and management. In 2015, the property/site management functions of this body were split off into a new charity the "English Heritage Trust", which continued to use the name "English Heritage". The various various statutory listing and protection functions remained with the non-departmental public body which retained its official name "The Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission for England" but re-branded itself as "Historic England".

The English Heritage Trust considers itself subject to the Freedom of Information Act and Environmental Information Regulations but it is not clear if the organisation is a public body formally subject to these laws.

28 requests

(page 2)

Trustee induction
Response by The English Heritage Trust to S Fairbridge on .


REF: 16/1389   Dear S Fairbridge,   Thank you for your email dated 18 December. In your email you have requested the following information in...
covenants of use for Hermon Chapel, SY11C1LF
Response by The English Heritage Trust to Steve Charmley on .

Awaiting classification.

Our Ref: 16/1395 Dear Mr Charmley, Re: Information Request: Hermon Chapel, Oswestry: Thank you for your email of the 3rd January 2017 in which yo...
REF: 16/1388   Dear Mr Charmley   Thank you for your information request dated 13 December. You have requested the following information in re...

Only requests made using WhatDoTheyKnow are shown. ?